Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

We slept on a pullout couch bc bed was hard

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Amalfi is beautiful. This hotel does have a free shuttle to and from the bottom of the mountain into the center of the town.
The hotel is in a beautiful location. we arrived at 9:00pm an were tired from our trip wanting to get a good night sleep. The room was shabby with walls that needed painting and bedspread which was beyond its lifespan looking worn out. The room was clean but we found it impossible to sleep on the bed bc it was as hard as a board. we asked for a change of room and were told by the night clerk that all the mattresses were recently changed and this is a common complaint received at the front desk and there was nothing they could do except offer a couple of thin blankets. We decided to try the pullout couch in our room and it was not comfortable but a tad bit better than the bed. Staff assured me the next morning that they would "work on it"as we planned a 2 night stay. This proved untrue as the evening staff had no idea we had an issue. No attention to comfort or customer service. I travel quite a bit in Europe 2-3x per year and never had this experience. It was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with fantastic view of Amalfi

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location and views. Quiet at night away from the main center of Amalfi but only a 10 minute shuttle ride into Amalfi.
Cons: Shower stall was very tight.
Location: walk through the little town of Amalfi filled with restaurants and shops. There were tours departing from there to other locations on the Amalfi coast
Hotel was very nice, high up on the coastal mountainside with fantastic views of Amalfi and the area. The meals were very good (we had the breakfast plan only, but ate lunch and supper there once). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Shuttle bus was very convenient to go into town and back (however the air conditioning in the larger shuttle bus was not working properly at the time and it was sometimes hot in the bus). Nice pool and mutli-level grounds. We had a two level room which was very spacious, with a walkout patio off the lower level. Shower stall was a bit too small. Other than that it was a good hotel, with a very charming atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views but not so good food

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Lovely spot, nice guests and staff. A little too far out of the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from basingstoke

Great hotel up on the hill

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Fantastic location up on the hill just outside centre of Amalfi. The hotel has a regular free shuttle bus to the private beach and centre. Staff here were great nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Scandalous staff behavior

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: At the end glad we did not stay at this place
Cons: Reading the 40 "terrible" ratings on TripAdviser, it tells it all.
My fiancee and I booked an October weekend at the Excelsior Grand Hotel Amalfi through Expedia travel service, with a non-refundable fare. 10 days before, my fiancees father suffered a heart attack, and it became unclear if we will be able to travel. I contacted the hotel to inquire if the hotel, in case we will not be able to attend the weekend, would be able to offer a voucher or similar, allowing us to postpone the trip. I was advised to write an email explaining the situation. Until now, I was not contacted back with a response. Despite the health situation of my fiancees father fortunately improved, with the stressful past days she fell ill, and a day before the departure to Italy I had to contact the hotel again to explain that we will have to cancel our trip all together. The telephone conversation (in Italian) with lady at the reception was the most appalling I had so far with a hotel staff (although being a frequent business traveler since 20 years): Me: “Would it be possible to attend the weekend at a later time? Maybe by issuing a voucher?” Receptionist: “No, we do not offer such a service.” Me: “Can you tell me a name of a manager I can speak tomorrow?” Receptionist: “No, just call the reception” Me: “Can you tell me your name for reference?” Receptionist: “My name doesn’t matter. You now called for the third time, but this is your problem, we cannot help you. I think you should not come back at all to our hotel”. WOW!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good views but...

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Reasonable price for the area
Cons: Food - nothing is fresh, general low quality
Location: About 4km away from the town Amalfi, there is a courtesy bus but becomes a chore to catch every time you want to go antwhere
Pros - good views, helpful staff Cons - terrible food, needs modernisation, a bit far away from anything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Excellent choice of hotel in Amalfi.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Fabulous location, well priced, great fron desk staff.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: see comments above
We had a marvelous time on our week long trip and stayed at the Excelsior the enire time. The view was breathtaking from our lovely balcony. The daily shuttle to the private beach and city center of Amalfi was perfect. The mediterranean is so different each day sometimes calm sometimes big surf. The elevator down to the beach was very James Bond! You had the sense of adventure. Also if you have those OP beach shoes, wear them. They are perfect for the beach which is large smooth pebbles. There is a big difference having them and not having them if you are a baby like me. The Europeans don't wear them of course since they are used to it. There is a romantic sense of discovery everywhere and the view is hypnotic. We did everything! We went on a small boat ride to Capri arranged by Annie, the concierge at the hotel. It was out of this world to swim in the grotto and have your own boat to take you wherever you want. We had a cooking lesson too at the Carcara Restaurant which was another highlight arraned by Annie too. She was marvlous to us. We went to Ravello which was an easy city bus ride from the town center of Amalfi. Everything was very easy to figure out with her help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

Incredible Views

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The views, the pool was out of this world and the balcony view was unbelievable.
Cons: The workout room was substandard.
Location: The location was not as close to the ocean as I believed; however, they offered great shuttle service and a private beach.
The views from the hotel were fabulous. We were greeted with a warm welcome and the room was great with an excellent sea view from a large balcony. It was very comfortable. The pool was excellent, set in rock and a great view. The shuttle service ran regularly to make sure that the guests had plenty of options to go and come from Amalfie and the private beach. We loved it and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel fantastic views

Posted Jun 4, 2014
excellent hotel , best hotel breakfast choices ever had . evening alacarte rather plain . views of amalfi amazing . pool very good sadly shade after 4,30 pm .excellent van to amalfi,too far toowalk ,advise dont bring own car . amalfi rroads in area terrible todrive onnarrow twisty andarge coaches the other way.excellent showers. hotel rules some seem rather petty. for hygiene reasons visitors asked not to bring own food into hotel so you only buy theirs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

NOT SO GRAND EXCELSIOR!!

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Great View Staff were helpful Free Parking Free bus service down to Amalfi
Cons: Condition of exterior & interior of building Quality of breakfast Dry rooms out Jug etc to make hot drinks in room
Location: Great view Good walks
Didn't expect the Ritz but very disappointed with the general up keep of the hotel so much so we drove past the Excelsior looking for the Grand further up the Hill. ( It only has a sign with Excelsior on top of the Hotel ) Our stay was early May and we unfortunately didn't time the sunny weather we were hoping for so didn't use the pool. Disappointed the cave bar wasn't open due to maintenance. We were put down in the garden house which meant we had a plenty of space but the room was very damp so had that stale smell and the hotel staff couldn't get the heat pump going. We were not impressed with the quality of the breakfast with its processed produce and after what we had experienced at the other hotels we had stayed at in Italy we chose to skip breakfast after the 1st morning. If this Hotel rates its self a 4 star establishment I think they have to have a good hard look at their over all product because we would rate them a 2 star from the experience of our stay.