Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view and wonderful staff

Posted May 17, 2017
This hotel is a little far from the beach and town, but the view is unbelievable. When you get to Amalfi, take the bus towards Pogerola and get off at the Grand Hotel Excelsior, you will see a sign for Le Palme, take the stairs/lift down to the to hotel. I would recommended walking down the stairs to the beach at least once (it took about ten minutes), then taking the bus back up to the hotel. The bus schedule is fairly easy to follow, but it always helps to just double check when the bus leaves and where it is going. We stayed in a nice room with a view and really enjoyed our stay. All of the hotel staff was so nice and accommodating. During our stay, my friend fell ill and they drove us to the hospital, talked to all of the doctors for us (we don't speak any Italian) and waited a few hours for her to be released. I can't thank them enough for everything they did for us, including taking us to the pharmacy, waiting up until we got back to the hotel and giving us food, and making sure everything was OK in the morning. I highly recommend staying here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

DO NOT STAY HERE YOU WILL REGRET IT!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: There was nothing to like the whole experience was a disaster from the second we arrived and had to treck down a mountain.
Cons: This should not even be classified as a hotel it looks like a rundown home.
Location: Nothing to do nearby once again you have to walk down a mountain or pay a large fee for a cab.
There is not one positive thing I can say about my stay. For starters the hotel says " in amalfi", in order to get to the hotel you have to walk down 350 steps down a mountain. If that isn't bad enough if you want to walk to the city of amalfi you can either walk down 750 steps down a steep mountain and then walk two kms to the city which is severely dangerous ( I fell once and my luggage is destroyed), or walk back up the mountain 350 steps and pray a bus comes or pay 50 euro one way for a cab. The hotel staff is limited the person who worked there left at 7pm on a Thursday evening. The "hotel" looks like a run down home that has not been taken care of. Our room was outdated, barely had any lighting and the walls were so thin you could hear people talking thru the walls. The comfort of the room did not exist our bed was hard and there was barely any room to walk. You were pretty much stuck at the hotel unless you wanted to take the mountain walks which had time limits due to no lighting and once again DANGEROUS. We left the second we got there and didn't even check in. The management was not available and we were told to wait till the next day to speak to someone. Food was limited you could pick from a vending machine or a menu with 5 options that was also pricey. If you want to be in the amalfi coast do not stay here it is way to far from the actual city and it is dangerous and very pricy to try and get to amalfi. I would NEVER RECOMMEND or stay here if it was free.
4 out of 5
by Faye

Amazing stay at a beautiful place.

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Well we had an amazing stay! We selected the suite which was worth every penny (only £10 extra). Just have to mind your head! The lady was very helpful giving us directions to the hotel and which buses to use. The stairs were hard work as we decided to climb down them on the first day and i could barely move the next day! Very step and lots of them. We decided to use the bus after that! There are also stair lifts. But i don't regret staying there, the beauty and peace make this so worth while. It was such a beautiful spot my partner proposed to be out on the terrace (and i said yes!) I think this hotel was exceptional value for money. Only negative was i thought the shower was rather small and the mattress a bit hard (drink enough Italian wine and you wont notice the hard mattress :-) Thank you very much!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Very nice staff, far from Amalfi

Posted Aug 5, 2016
This hotel has a lovely woman working there, it has an awesome view of the ocean, and it has a nice pool. However, it's not in Amalfi but a neighbouring town, and you need to take a bus to get there. Then you go down 300 steps to the hotel. To get to Amalfi, you go down over 600 steps to the highway, then walk along a narrow strip beside the highway for 15 minutes.
5 out of 5
by Alison

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Views, But Lot of Steep Steps

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: views breakfast
Cons: Better coordination with getting let in to lift and property. Upgrade bed/mattress/bedspread
Location: city of Assisi is nearby; downtown - main square w/beautiful Church (Duomo)
Be sure you connect prior to arriving so you know what the current arrangements are on getting down the steps and into the property. We didn't have the best experience on that part so it took an hour before we got in. There are a LOT of steps (300+; steep). We only had backpacks but it was raining and even with the lift... So I'd say you'd need to be prepared for that many at that depth going up and down. Yes, the view IS amazing! So if you are into photography, this is quite nice. The general areas of the property are very nice. There is a pool as well. I would imagine in summer this would be great. We were there in Jan and our room felt cold, water took about 5 minutes to get hot and shower chamber is tight. Good towels. Hair dryer provided. Bed - headboard kind of falling off; mattress was ok. Sheets nice. Breakfast was great: "grilled" cheese, warm croissant and choc dough ball; yogurt and cereal, toast, jam, coffee...very plentiful. It's a drive all the way down the hill to get into Assisi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Le Palme

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Such a beautiful location to stay - the pool looking over the ocean was perfect and the staff were very friendly - a feast of breakfast was served every morning looking out to the water. Very relaxing. I would just leave lots of time on exit to get up the stairs as the lift is a bit temperamental.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Very nice hotel with wonderful staff. There are a lot of stairs to go down to hotel and to town and the beach.
4 out of 5
by Karen from norwich

peaceful beautiful place out of town

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very relaxing. Lovely staff who couldn't do enough for you. Stunning views worth the walk for the quiet location,pool and view. Easy to catch the bus a bit closer but 300 steps down from buss top or 700 steps up from town keep this very exclusive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

We thought the stairs would be ok

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The stunning view.
Cons: More signs on the way up from the road in Amalfi. Coming up the stairs gets very confusing.
We really thought the stairs would be really do-able but the haul to and from Le Palme everyday was rough on the knees. I think it would have been a great hotel if our plan was to stay there and lounge by the pool and then visit Amalfi in the afternoon and evening. Since we wanted to hike, we had to haul our way down everyday and it really made us change our plans. Also, there are no signs on the stairs back up to the hotel and it gets very confusing. We got stuck wandering around those steps one afternoon going up and down to find our way back. They will gladly shuttle you to and from the associated restaurant in Atrani for dinner and we ate there almost every night to avoid having to get back to the hotel by foot. Their food is excellent.