Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

8 Days on the Amalfi Coast

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Great place to stay in Amalfi. Super convenient access to everything. Hotel Staff were amazing. 2 Drawbacks were. Beds were very firm and if you get a balcony next to smokers it intrudes on you because balconies are attached and it comes into your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel is just 5 minutes walk from city centre

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location and view. The guy at the reception was really helpful. He helped us in making all our bookings.
Cons: Bed was not very comfortable. But it was good. I booked superior room and paid high price according to that price mattress wasn't comfortable enough.
Location: Perfect location and awesome view. My room was superior with huge balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Amalfi with a view

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location and terrace
Cons: Hotel has a bar but not restaurant for quick bite. It will be nice to have a place for a small bite.
Hotel Aurora is a great place to stay in Amalfi. It has amazing ocean views and if you get a room with a terrace it is magnificent. Location is good as you have beach view, access and just a few minutes from town. Hotel staff is all about customer satisfaction. Room was comfortable for two and and bathroom was a nice size too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reykjavik Iceland

nice, location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
no luxury but nice hotel and good location, very helpful and friendly staff. We only staid one night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Perfect location for Amalfi Coast

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We had a lovely stay at the Aurora. Highly recommend enjoying the breakfast buffet on the terrace with stunning views of the port. Room was clean with a daily refresh and staff were very friendly and helpful. Tip: parking during high season an issue with shortage of availability- contact the hotel in advance to confirm your place. We had no choice but to go with a private parking contractor (all arranged by hotel) who fetches and returns the car for you. The car is parked at an unknown location >2km away. Other than that we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by daniela, Hotel Management
I was thrilled that we met your expectations on your first visit to The Aurora Hotel. I was very pleased that you got to try our 'al fresco' breakfast and that you enjoyed the facilities of the room we allocated you. I have passed on your feedback to my team and we all hope that you will come back and stay again soon. My best wishes. Daniela
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Location was great, right on the water. Hotel is a bit dated, with small rooms & terrible water pressure for the shower. Having said that, location location location...can't beat that!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by daniela, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you did not enjoy our hotel. The Aurora is described as a traditional Hotel in Amalfi, our classical Italian style is a popular choice with many international visitors, who appreciate ceramic tiles décor, ancien furniture and intimacy of our building. The water pressure in the old villages of Italy never breaks your head during a shower like in other Countries. That's the way we are and we can't be sorry for that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location but no view

Posted Jul 28, 2016
This little apartment is affiliated with the aurora hotel but when you actually need to have any sort of service from staff, they are no where to be found.!hey will say it's very busy at the hotel today. So basically if you need clean towels to shower you will have to wait 48 hours or get 2 washed at a time in the smallest washing machine ever, then wait 9 hours for them to dry in an ancient drier! If you want your apartment cleaned, she comes at night when you actually want privacy. So 9 days and no cleaning! Ever! And the best is, 10 days after we return home, an email claiming the cleaning lady found dirty dishes in the sink... A 50 euro charge! And another false claim that the cleaning lady said we damaged the shower head, a 40 euro charge! 10 days after we checked out they send us this false money grab email! Don't book the Autora! Service is poor and they are dishonest!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by daniela, Hotel Management
You book an apartment in self catering in our annext located 600 metres from the main building. Air conditioning, the use of laundry and tumble drier, welcome pack, bath clothes changed in the middle week are including in the rate. Of course if clients leave a mess in the sink they will pay an extra cleaning.Lukily that happens rarely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Limited facilities, great staff and decent access

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel is close to the city center, the beach and has good connectivity to ferries and buses. Staff is excellent. However, the private coast line is very small and has pebbles. Breakfast is below average and hotel needs improved facilities all around. Still on split ACs, delipitated rooms, and not even a basic kitchen. Hotel rating system in Italy is a farce and needs to be carefully looked at the Tourism Ministry
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Clean hotel, shame a bit dated, location is very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by daniela, Hotel Management
We certainly are dated, the owner family run hotels since 1822. We are very proud to share our history and tradition with travellers came all over the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Wonderful find in Almalfi, will be back !

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Everything ! But if you like plastic, cold, shiny corporate hotels then this is not the one for you. It is personal, friendly, authentic italian !
Cons: VERY difficult to come up with anything to fault ! But being really picky, I'd say bring your own travel hairdryer (if hair is important to you).
Location: The hotel is situated in the best position ever with stunning views of Almalfi ! Close to the town with easy access to local transport.
The Hotel Aurora was a great find. The BEST location possible in Almalfi ! right on the sea front with fantastic views of the marina and town. Really quiet and peaceful, but within a couple of min's walk to the busy main centre. Spotless rooms and very helpful and friendly staff. The location made it so easy to hop on buses or boats to all the other wonderful places to visit in the area such as Positano and Ravello. There were so many lovely restaurants serving beautiful fresh pasta or fish. The hotel made recommendations and offered discounts in many of the local restaurants. The Aurora offers breakfast, which was popular with other guests. We are not really breakfast people so never used it, but the smell every morning was delicious. Prior to our arrival we contacted Andrea at the hotel to arrange a private taxi transfer. The service offered was seamless, our driver was excellent and waiting for us on arrival and departure to Naples Airport.