Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Sheer class.....

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Entrance signs on main road.
Beautiful hotel. Quirky and ornate. It can appear overly fussy for British tastes in the photographs but the decor works. Very Italian and very classy. Excellent staff who could not be more helpful or friendly. Very clean.The grounds ramble on terraces to either side and we were still finding new areas after four days. The only observation ( not a complaint) is that it is difficult to find the entrance from the road. Needs better signage. We woke up one morning to have a woman playing a harp below our balcony! Apart from the final flight of stairs which could be difficult for the infirm you cannot fault this hotel. Loved it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A great boutique hotel with lots of character

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Our 2nd stay in this fab little hotel. Friendly staff and a great selection at breakfast (including bubbly). Wonderful views from this hillside location, but be warned there a plenty of steps to be climbed to reach reception from the funicular lift. All part of the character which we love.
4 out of 5
by Dan from Auckland, New Zealand

On a high in Amalfi

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 5 days at this hotel, the people were very good and helpful. The hotel is high up on a cliff on the Amalfi Coast and relies on a funicular lift and quite a few stairs for access. The staff were very helpful with this, so was not really a problem. It has a very good restaurant, the food and wine menu again was very good and the views went for ever. I definitely would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Wirral

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Staff and services were absolutely outstanding
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay on a honeymoon

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
Second time in this hotel; superb, as expected. Probably the best sea view in the neighborhood, and a wonderful balcony to relax or have a drink and watch sunset. Perfect for honeymoon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2016
The only way to reach the hotel is via a minimum of 77 steps! Thoroughly recommended but only for the fit and able.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detmold

Aussergewöhnliches Hotel in romantischer Hanglage

Posted May 15, 2016
Liegt in exotischem Garten oberhalb von Maiori mit sensationellem Weitblick und vielen Refugien, exzellenter Service, ruhig und wirklich außergewöhnlich !7 Terassen, toller Pool
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A room with a spectacular view!

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: The 80 steps up to the hotel must be made a little clearer as an element of fitness is needed to climb them.
Location: Beautiful views, lovely restaurants, affordable shops, and historical tourist attractions a drive away.
A beautiful hotel with stunning views, this was our first visit to the Amalfi coast and we will be returning. The receptionists were a delight, friendly, helpful, happy and efficient. Our room was lovely with two opening doors onto a huge balcony with sunbeds, table and occasional chairs. Housekeeping were exceptional, clean, crisp cotton sheets changed every day and the most sumptuous range of white fluffy towels, again replenished very day and evening when our bedding was turned down. The chocolate was a lovely treat. We spent many hours by the infinity pool and sun loungers and towels and waitress service. The pool was breath-takingly cold but so refreshing when the sun was beating down.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Luxury accommodation at the top of a cliff!!

Posted May 4, 2016
The accommodation and views were fantastic! Staff were great, breakfast fantastic. Very reasonably priced also for what you get. The only negative is the 40 plus steps you have to climb up (even after using the panoramic lift!!). Not for those who are unfit or have mobility issues! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

My parents stay at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I bought a package deal from Expedia (who I would never use again) for my parents to visit the Amalfi coast, Maori and other places within a short distance. The hotel they stayed at, mentioned above, was absolutely brilliant! They thoroughly enjoyed their stay, the staff and locals were friendly, the rooms were clean and no job was too much hassle for the staff. The only thing I would say is that Expedia advertise this hotel as having a panoramic lift OR 80 stairs. This infact is untrue, there is a lift part way and then there are 80-odd steps to climb. This caused issues with my mother as she has back pain issues. Just something to keep in mind if booking for someone with any mobility issues.