Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Close to everything

Posted Aug 19, 2015
The hotel is close to the beach, the port, shops, bus station and restaurants. The hotel is clean but very dated and hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay at the Fontana again, but it is a budget sort of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great location!

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Remove photos of a pool- since it really does not exist!
Location: Plenty of restaurants, beach and relaxation!!!
Hotel is located in the best part of the city...near bus stop and all the boats. It is a hike up the stairs with luggage with others commented on. Staff generally pretty nice- Luanna was great and personable and her 5 yr old son hangs around a lot- which was fine for us with a family. Photos of the hotel show a pool. The pool is located about 7km from the hotel and costs 10 euro to go to per person- which was a great disappointment for my kids. But the beach was nice near the hotel in Atrani ( 15 minute walk). Hotel could use simple updates- bedspreads that match/coordinate with the rest of the room. My wife thought our shower could use a good cleaning. Overall- I'd stay there again for the location- but expect a basic but nice hotel- nothing fancy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Perfect location on the Amalfi Coast.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: It was perhaps the best location of any hotel I have every stayed in. You go downstairs and you are in the middle of the square. Fabulous!
Cons: It would be a smart investment to refurbish the hotel and they could get higher prices and make their guests happier.
Location: Great location. Steps to the bus stop and boat service.
The hotel had not been updated in years and the beds were uncomfortable as in most of Europe. There were steep stairs to carry your luggage up to the main lobby, but after that there is an elevator.
5 out of 5
by Shirley

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay. The location can't be beat, close to everything. Staff was super friendly. They helped us with ferry and bus schedules. Breakfast was awesome, especially cappuccino!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel has the best location in Amalfi !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highlands

Great location, nice hotel.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Girls serving breakfast and covering reception very helpful and friendly. Great location for getting buses and just walking around Amalfi.
Cons: Didn't like how had to walk sideways into shower as door wouldn't open because the toilet was so close!
Location: Shops, restaurants, beach, bus stop all within 5 minutes walk, couldn't get a better location.
Hotel central for all services, buses, shops and restaurants. Ten day holiday passed in a flash. Very busy in the heart of Amalfi, very noisy overlooking the main square which some love as they want to "people watch" I would have preferred a room at other side of hotel and to watch the sea view! But enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Location

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Perfect location, and the staff was great. Highly recommend and will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Tina from Middletown

Loved it!!

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location! Exactly where u want to be in amalfi. My inky us sue was street noise and the church bells woke me up in the am.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location close to beach

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The location makes getting around the area easy. The staff are wonderful.
Cons: The breakfast was very disappointing. Very little choice and of poor quality.
The hotel's location is excellent. The front of the hotel is opposite the main bus stops and the beach and two minutes walk to the ferries from where there excursions to Capri etc. The main square is to the back of the hotel where there are a huge choice of restaurants, small craft shops and the Cathedral.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Can't beat the location

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The location. Family operated and super pleasant.
Cons: Rooms are a little tired but offers everything and you can't beat the location and price.
Location: The location is key. Right on the coast so super accessible to public transpertation. The ferry to Capri is minutes away.
The location can't be beat. This family operated hotel offers all the amenities of a larger hotel chain but in a cozy modest way. Breakfast included and delicious.