Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Honeymooning in italy

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The hotel had direct access to the beach which can take you to the town by boat. Amazing views, also staff were very nice and helpful.
Cons: The furniture seemed to be slightly old but bathrooms were newly made and bed was comfortable nonetheless.
Location: Slightly outside of the city center but we enjoyed that more because of the stunning views you get of the city. nice and quiet easy to get to the town
This was the fourth out of six locations on our honeymoon. We had booked a Deluxe double with a terrace and at arrival they upgraded us to a Junior Suite. The Suite had an amazing balcony but there was no view from inside the room making it slightly depressing. After staying in the suite for one night we requested the staff to change us to a room which had a view from the bed. They showed us two rooms and we moved into a deluxe room with a terrace which was slightly smaller but we loved because of the stunning view which we could see directly from our bed. It is an excellent hotel with very old school charm to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING EXPERIENCE

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Overall, our stay was fabulous!!! By far the best hotel/resort I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. I would go back in a heartbeat and would love to go back on a honeymoon. In fact, this hotel exceeded our expectations by miles. The pictures you see online simply do not give this place justice. The resort was beautifully laid out and decorated and was very clean. The staff were extremely helpful and professional. The attention to detail was apparent, they really take care of the clients. The restaurant overlooking the city was the best meal we had during our entire trip. The fish of the day cooked in a salt crust and was outstanding - def a must. If I could suggest anything to the hotel, it would be to have some sand put in the rocky beach. Not sure if this is possible, but it would make swimming in the sea way more possible and pleasurable. Also, add an ATM machine in the lobby. Can't wait to go back and get a different room!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Amazing hotel and spectacular views!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Amazing hotel! We had a great room with a large balcony and it was spectacular. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel and dinner one night which was delicious! Spent the day at the Beach Club which was really nice. Great lounge chairs, floats for the ocean and amazing food at the restaurant. Highly recommend this hotel! We will be back....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

I would love to come back in summer time.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: VIEWS, BEACH CLUB, close to the port of portofino.
Cons: Facilities probably should be renewed. Bathroom should be ore comfortable.
Location: EXCELLENT. 3' Water taxi from the beach club and you are at the Portofino PORT
I would love to come again. I have never been in a Hotel with this spectacular view. It was exactly what I was speccing from this hotel since the very moment I booked it. Probably facilities are not luxurious but the views and the staff and the facilities are really nice. I will come again for sure. The beach club it is from a movie, water, service of Mauro at the Beach club is outstanding. Again Do not Expect to be in a Hilton quality hotel. This one is more family owned bit SPECTACULAR the VIEWS!!!! You can actually call a water taxi for a 3 minutes ride to the Port of Portofino.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Fantastic location/views but rough staff

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Staff
The hotel itself is a bit outdated but overlooks the amazing Amalfi Coast. We enjoyed out honeymoon but we were disturbed when we found my wife's swimsuit placed in the bidet by the housekeeper. After calling the front desk, I was actually blamed for the accident and told that "if we found it there, it was because we put it there." We never received an apology but finally got the front desk to dry clean the soiled garment. This really marred our experience at Le Agavi. It's located in a beautiful place but a dilapidated facility with disappointing staff. It's no five star. Think 3-star with a view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not 5 Star, but.....

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Location. Views. Staff.
Cons: See above!
Location: Location a bit "out of the way", but fine. The hotel provides regular shuttles to the town centre and back. Positano is Paradise!
Probably the BEST "Not 5 Star" we've ever had the pleasure of staying in! Room furniture, beds, linen, shower, etc. more 3 star in the greater scheme of things, but otherwise... FABULOUS! Best views in Positano. Can't recommend it highly enough! If you are a high maintenance traveller, maybe this is not for you, but we loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful time in Positano!

Posted Oct 4, 2015
This hotel has the perfect view and access to Positano. From its shuttle to downtown and lift to the beach - dock it is a great property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location but poor service

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Hotel Le Agavi is undoubtedly spectacularly located, perched on top of a cliff overlooking Positano. Whilst it advertises that it is a five star hotel, it is more of a four star hotel with older 70s style furniture and fittings. Prices of food and beverages at Le Agavi are astronomically expensive (a glass of milk is EU $6 (AU $11) and a chicken salad is EU$25 (AU$50). Unfortunately, the staff members are mostly aloof and unhelpful - we walked to reception to order a bottle of prosecco and were told by a staff member to go back to our room and call room service! Despite the negatives, we would stay here again mostly because of the breathtaking view from the hotel and the very convenient regular shuttle bus provided by the hotel to and from central Positano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2015
We only stayed for one night but the bell hop (lugi) was extremely helpful, friendly and answered all of my boyfriend's questions. He gave us great advice on things to do and he was the best part of the hotel according to my boyfriend :) To be honest being American I was expecting a little bit more of a modern room and softer bed but honestly it was a great room (spacious and provided anything and everything we needed, plus more) with good staff. We enjoyed the private beach, terrace breakfast/happy hour and view. The only thing we didn't particularly like was that it's at the top of Positano and although they offer a shuttle we would have liked to stay a little closer down in the town since we were only there for a short time. However you couldn't beat our view!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views

Posted Sep 21, 2015
For the price of this hotel I would recommend any where else. The views are worth a million dollars but for what they charge I would have expected better service, better decor and a better bed. Out of the five hotels we stayed at over two weeks this was the most expensive and the least impressive. I would expect what we got from a 3.5 star hotel at half the price. Sadly it was a major disappointment.