Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

View of beach and Mediterranean straight on. !

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Staff, Enzo, very nice. Hotel on main street but not effected by traffic noise. Inside one sees it was once a Villa but remodelled to contemporary comfort. Nice pedestrian walk way around corner with awesome Amalfi Cathedral with remains of Jesus 1st deciple, St. James. Parking is quite an experience 10 or so walk around a curve in a mountain but as there are 100s of tunnels in Italy, they have a pedestrian one to avoid a street with no sidewalks. Great stay & would do again and recommend to friends. Fantastic breakfast with patio looking at the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location in Amalfi by far!!!!

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Everything about this hotel was superb!!! We are a family of five with two rooms. The staff was very accommodating to all our needs. 5 star all the way!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Roma

Accogliente e grazioso in una cornice da favola.

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Lo stile sobrio e raffinato.
Cons: Certamente la reception, molto funzionale, ma meno confacente alla categoria e allo stile dell'hotel.
Location: Baricentrico sulla costiera e a due passi dal duomo di Amalfi.
Un gradevole soggiorno, purtroppo breve, a due passi dal mare e dal centro storico di Amalfi. Un'esperienza da ripetere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Helen from Columbus Ohio

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is right on beach. Many restaurants, shops in easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
I felt the staff here made every effort to make your stay the best possible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jean from Boston

Awesome hotel and location

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Location, Location, Location. When you are schleping bags over the Amalfi coast, you need a home base that meets your needs. Breakfast buffet was great. Rooms overlooking the Mediterranean where awesome. Convenience of being across the street from the bus and boats made traveling easy. Plus restaurants and shops were just aroung the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Elegante y formal

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Este hotel está muy bien situado y comunicado. Es muy elegante, incluso diría refinado, tiene una decoración muy clásica , da un aire al turismo de lujo de los años cincuenta, pero todo muy bien arreglado y actualizado. La decoración de la habitación era bonita, me recordaba los años cincuanta por el mobiliario,y adaptada a la zona (paredes blancas, suelo de baldosas floreadas...)y con un balcón con unas vistas estupendas a la plaza, la playa y parte del pueblo a ambos lados. Lo malo es que se podía oir algún ruido de los huespedes de la habitación de al lado, pero por suerte eran gente tranquila. El personal me pareció excesivamente sobrio, pero eso creo que va con la imagen del hotel y el público al que va destinado. El desayuno muy bien, y la terraza de la sala de desayunos de primera, lástima que no hizo buen tiempo para disfruarla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

On the seafront, right in the middle of things.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Old fashioned charm in an interesting building. Lovely staff who were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.
Cons: The room could do with a smarten up. Robes would have been nice as would balcony furniture.
Location: Great location, in the heart of things. Good for buses and boats to travel around. Tourist information office was helpful. Amazing cathedral.
We stayed at the Hotel Residence for a week for our honeymoon. It was very comfortable but if you're looking for high- end luxury, this isn't it; more quirky and a little old fashioned. Wonderful old building with some interesting things in it. Bathrobes in the room (21) would have been nice but cannot fault fresh linen daily and evening turn down service was a nice touch. The condition of the bathroom was a little lacking; grout around bath needs re-doing and the overflow flooded the bathroom when the bath was used. The bathroom door showed that this is an on-going problem. The Staff were all great and couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast on the terrace (weather permitting) was lovely; get there earlier rather than later for the hot food to be fresh but the choice was excellent. After an issue with our pre-booked transfer, the Hotel arranged for the return trip and this was faultless; wish I'd done it through the Hotel rather than Expedia in the first place! Being right on the seafront was noisy but the shutters and the balcony doors did offer good soundproofing. Bit of a shame there was no furniture to sit on the balcony as it was a great place to soak up the atmosphere and watch the world go by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathan

Awesome

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
The room was extremely clean, and was very well situated in Amalfi. I had an amazing sea view.