Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
by David from San Diego
No GreetingPosted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel sent us a greeting email asking when we would arrive. I responded by telling them 1:30p. We arrived at 1:30 at the hotel after climbing 48 stairs in the heat. No mention of this on Hotels.com. No one at the hotel. Front door is locked. There is a buzzer. Someone responds through a speaker in French although we are in Italy. We tell them we are here. They forward our call which goes dead. Six times in a row this happens. We call Hotels.com. They call the hotel no answer. Finally at 2:10 a girl arrives. We say where have you been. She responds we are closed from noon to 2:00. Then why did you not email us back after we said we would be here at 1:30? She said it is clear on the web site that we are closed. I said we booked on Hotels.com and there was no mention and why ask when we will arrive and not mention you are closed when you knew we were coming at 1:30. No answer. Can I have some water? That will be 3 euro she responded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by annalisa, Hotel Management
dear guest, thank you for your comment. it is very important and useful for us to improve our work. I am sorry you waited 5 minutes for check in . the hotel is not closed at that time. early check in is not guaranteed (and could have an extra cost that you did not pay).but I explained you the reason. another guest arrived by car and roads were very busy and he needed my help. when you called I answered and I came back in 5 minutes for your chek-in. about water you asked me if it was possible to buy some. I told you that in the room there was a minibar (that has a cost) but I offered you free water hoping to have you as our guest again best regards
Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
central locationPosted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: everything was very good.
very good b&b. breakfast is very good, service is excellent.
by Bruce from Kelowna
Traveling on a motorcyclePosted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
We are traveling on a motorcycle and we were able to get close to the hotel to unload. The parking the hotel has. 15 euro a night was 1K away. Next time would park in the parking under the mountain south of the city. Same price for a Moto and shorter walk to the hotel.
by Tim from Reno, Nevada
GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
AnnaLisa was wonderful and helped us in any way necessary!!! Loved the outdoor terrace. Spacious room. Excellent location!!! Please be aware that you have to climb several stairs to reach this property. No big deal after the first few times. Would highly recommend!!!
by A verified traveler
Okay StayPosted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was nice and helpful. The hotel is located in town but the only thing that I didn't really like was all the steps up to the actual hotel entrance. The hotel itself is hidden behind some other buildings but it was a decent place to stay for the amount of money we paid since hotels are pretty spendy in this area.
by Brian from Toronto, Canada
Word of cautionPosted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Can't recommend this spot. Part of a 2 week Italy trip, this was the worst hotel we booked by far. Amalfi is beautiful and offers better accommodation for the same money. We know because we booked a night elsewhere (Fontana) even though we had already paid here. Got a much nicer room for the same money, ocean view, great service, etc. Big word of caution, there are exactly 53 stairs to climb through a narrow outdoor staircase here. If you are carrying anything with you (like luggage) then you are in for a workout. When you manage to find the place at the top of the stairs, you will likely be locked out and need to buzz for reception. After a few minutes hopefully someone shows up unlockes the doors to the aromatic smell of some incense burning somewhere in the small lobby. Meager breakfast, no view, just generally not a place we would recommend. Did I mention 53 stairs? FYI, we stayed in great hotels in Rome, Tuscany, Venice, etc on this trip. This one was the only disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2015 by annalisa, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Brian, Thank you for your comment. it is very important and useful for us to improve our work. it is very strange you found so bad in fact you had all services you booked. All or rooms have all three star hotel comforts bathroom with two shower heads, hairdryer, free toileters, air conditioning, wi-fi, modern flat screen tv and fridge. Actually you booked a single room with an additional bed. I would have been happy to give you a superior room with a better view at the same price of the single room (that you booked) but unfortunately they were all booked. That was a high season week-end and Amalfi is very busy in these periods and I don’ t thing you staid in another hotel even through you have paid here because you staid here all the days you booked. There are some staris to reach the hotel (staris are everywhere in Amalfi) and I would be happy to reserve a luggage transportation service if you asked me answering to my email in which I asked you if you need it or other others service. For check in all you need to do is to ring the door phone. No incense never burned in nowhere. hoping to have you our guests again to give you our best room. Best regards Annalisa.
by Iain from London
Nice hotelPosted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is very centrally located but also just far enough away from the busy section of town that it is relaxing. Though there was a concert in the square the night were where there which was very loud in our room and didn't stop until around 1am. Not a fault with hotel as the concert was clearly a special event but might be worth checking if any such concerts are going on if you are planning an early night. The room was spacious and clean with a great shower as well. The reception staff were always available either at the desk or via phone and really helpful organising to have our car collected for parking when we arrived and dropped off when we were ready to leave. We didn't get to try the breakfast as we were out too early for it but the staff were really nice a prepared some food the we could take with us which they left in our room for us.
by antonio from weston florida
italia 2015Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was good,not so many steps to get there. our room was comfortable and the ac was excellent. Breakfast was poor Probably would not stay here again
by Marie Josee from Montreal, Canada
Great location & spacious roomsPosted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect location since it is a few minutes walk from the Main Street but in a quieter location. Room was spacious and very clean. We were so positively surprised that we booked a second night! Breakfast is quite good and complete. Would really recommend the place!