Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Good location, Great Views

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Views. Large rooms. Friendly staff.
Cons: Generally, it was what we expected. A more modern feel would help with the experience but would sacrifice the quaintness which is part of the appeal.
Location: Easily within walking distance of all things Positano. Lots of shopping, photo opportunities, restaurants. Up the hill (4-5 mins) is general store.
It took us a few days to get the room that we booked, but when we did, our stay was spectacular. Due to some plumbing issues with our booked room, we stayed in an inner room with no windows (one sky light) for 2 of our 5 days - this was less than ideal. Once in the booked room (terrace with sea view), our appreciation for the hotel greatly increased. Located on the primary road in Positano, the hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the "center" of Positano and about 10 minutes to the beach. It is up the hill and I recommend using the Porters at the pier for transferring your luggage if arriving by ferry (look for small golf karts type vehicles when arriving or ask the ferry personal for assistance - the price we paid was €10 per bag). The breakfast buffet was sufficient with an assortment of pastries, salads, yogurt, fruit, and hard boiled eggs. While on the main road, we didn't find it to loud in the room - ours was set back slightly which may have helped with the noise (other rooms have terrace right off the road). The staff was helpful and their English speaking skills were sufficient for basic information. The hotel was always tidy and quaint (not modern, but kept well). For the budget, the hotel provided a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Bath, UK

Posted May 28, 2017
Unfortunately the room we booked was unavailable due to a plumbing difficulty but an alternative room was made available of a lower standard (we were initially booked into a deluxe room) and a suitable discount offered. Communication in regard to the problem was good and a difficult situation was managed as well as it could be in the circumstances.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted May 10, 2017
Good hotel, good location. Short (10mins) walk to the beach and up to the main square. Reasonable breakfast. Big rooms- but in need of an update. The cleaner left her sponge on the sink otherwise I would have given a higher rating. If you bring a car be prepared to pay Eur 22 per day. But it's really easy, it is picked up and dropped off right outside the hotel by the parking attendants - you just need to get the hotel to call them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A lovely bed and breakfast hotel in the centre of

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: As described above
Cons: Everything was good
Location: In the centre of Positano close to the beach, restaurants and shops.
We stayed here for 5 nights over Easter. The staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. Our room was large, beautifully appointed and spotlessly cleaned every day. A lovely large terrace with furniture was great for a quiet drink overlooking the church and sea. Breakfast was served in a very pleasant little breakfast area with a really good selection of fruits, ham, cheese, pastries and yoghurts. Although the hotel didnt have a pool or gardens, it more than made up for it by being central, small and quiet and extremely good value for money. I would have no hesitation from our experience of recommending this lovely hotel and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We just loved it

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Perfect walking location. Wonderful view . Staff awesome and helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Double charged for room

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
I prepaid for my stay through this site. At checkout, the receptionist at Hotel Royal Prisco insisted that they had not received payment and charged my card again. Now it won’t return my emails or calls, and Hotels.com also has not issued a refund. My best advice is to avoid Hotel Royal Prisco and to find a different hotel search site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Gorgeous views!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
It's a beautiful typical Positano building with marble stairs and decor. We were very happy with our last minute choice. They accommodate us in a ocean view room with a balcony that were breath taking even though our booking was for a less expensive room with no view. The staff is really nice and the breakfast is excellent but very Italian (not your American standard). I would stay there again and again. Just mind all the hills you can't escape then in Positano which I don't mind at all. once you get to the beach is total bliss.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Royal Prisco is a lovely place to stay in Positano. It is extremely well located, not too far up the hill so it was a relatively easy walk down and up. The service was attentive and Maria was especially helpful in giving us tips on getting around and making a few phone calls for us. The suite was large, with a huge bathroom, walk-in dressing room, separate bedroom with a queen size bed, and the other bedroom with a king bed included a sitting area; all furnishings were comfortable. Beautiful balcony overlooking the sea. Breakfast was wonderful - lots of variety and choice, with made to order cappuccino or espresso. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location in a beautiful city

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Location & cleanliness
Cons: Room was large but an extra stand for a luggage would be good. There was a card to not place luggage on chairs or desk etc. But nowhere to place it.
Location: We took a ferry to Capri and enjoyed a walking trail. We also had booked a tour to Sorrento, Ravello and a guided tour of Pompeii.
We were on the second floor so a difficult climb with heavy bags. There was no one to assist when we arrived. Hotel was very clean. Our room and bathroom was large but it was the smallest shower I have ever seen. It was difficult to have room to open the bifold door when you were inside the shower. Breakfast was basic.