Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hanpshire england

pleasant hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Nice hotel close to seafront. Busy area. Nice restaurant next door with amazing food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

just what we wanted.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: beach just in front of hotel. no road to cross. ideal for families.
lovely hotel and lovely breakfast. friendly, helpful staff, always with a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A wonderful hotel!

Posted Aug 1, 2015
We have had the perfect holiday in Maiori on the Amalfi Coast and you will see from my reviews we could not have had a better time. This was all the while knowing we had a fantastic hotel to come back to each day. The room was spacious and cleaned daily to a high standard. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well! The complimentary breakfast was great with a wide variety of items to choose from. Most importantly the staff were friendly welcoming and attentive, they really made our stay a pleasure. Thank you Sole Splendid, we will absolutely be back!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from y

Hotel sole splended

Posted Jun 27, 2015
What a nice hotel slightly dated but clean and the staff could not be more helpfull the cooked part of the breakfast could do with being refilled more often but there was plenty of selection available I can recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great location

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: The balcony was really good, could sit in the sun or shade, and watch the world go by.
Cons: As above. Bathrooms need refurbishment. Access to drinks during the day. (My husband is not well and so we did not venture out very much).
Location: Great place to be if you cannot walk uphill easily, most of the Amalfi coast is hilly. Plenty of restaurants and public transport to get around.
I wish I had the money to buy this hotel. Good location but does need refurbishment. The bathrooms: Shower cubicle too small, if you drop anything you can't pick up without opening the door. The taps were awkward to regulate the shower temperature, and the towel rack was above the loo so could fall into the loo. Should have been over the bidet. No shelves for wash bags or hooks for clothes. Needs somewhere for guests to relax other than their balcony - no bar or lounge and nowhere for sun loungers to be in the sun. Also needs tea/coffee making facilities in room as there is nowhere to purchase drinks in the hotel after breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

great hotel near beach

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel made us feel very comfortable, the staff was very helpful when trying to decide what to do or where to go
Location: Close to beach and shopping
We had a great stay at this hotel. It was close to the beach, the town for shopping and walking distances from minori, ravello and other towns
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Hotel OK, facilities rubbish

Posted Apr 26, 2015
TV - didn't work. Fridge - didn't work. Ceiling fan did work which was great because the Air-conditioning - didn't work. OK so its not a 5* property but its meant to be 4*, maybe the star rating is varied in different countries? On arrival in Italy if you fly into Naples don't let the area get you down, Naples city is falling apart and if you wonder around after dark the probability is you will get mugged as per all the notices around the main train station. Save yourself any chance of this and get a taxi from the airport to your destination. The hotel building itself is fine, the ant numbers were ridiculous and completely covered the whole room on arrival, when informing the reception it took a good few hours to be sorted out and even then they sprayed the room which killed the ants but failed to sweep away the remains of hundreds of small bodies. The issue seems to be the build of the property which is very much the same in all the buildings within the area, in short nothing fits exactly so gaps in everything are where the ants nest. Breakfast is included in the price of the stay, if it wasn't you simply wouldn't consider eating there, nothing was replaced and what was there in the hot section was dry as if it had sat for hours. We had friends staying in other hotels within Maiori (Panorama), yes it was a minimal amount more but defiantly worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room Over Looking Water

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Right on the water
We had a balcony room which overlooked the street and the Sea. We loved the fact that we could just walk across the street and rent a beach chair and umbrella. Great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr. DC from London, UK

Retro Amalfi Coast holiday at the Sole Splendid

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: The large balcony, beachfront access, and the Vietri tiles.
Cons: It needs an update and the staff are generally nice but apathetic.
Location: The location is good for the beach, close walking distance to the center of Maiori, easy bus connections to Amalfi or Ravello etc.
The Sole Splendid is a good solid old fashioned hotel for exploring the Amalfi Coast or for a beach holiday. It is situated at the quiet end of the promenade of Maiori, which is one of the most family oriented and traditional towns along the coast. It is also one of the more affordable towns and is a good budget option. All of the rooms have beautiful private balconies that overlook the Sole Splendid beach and the waves. Everything in the town is within a 10 minute walk from the hotel and there are decent transport links and restaurants nearby. I will note that we have travelled extensively in Italy for many years and are familiar with typical service and what to expect for an Italian breakfast (anything more than coffee and a hard roll with jam is considered generous) so our expectations were not high. The hotel is a typical 3 star in a 1960's building. It is family run and has not been updated but the rooms were clean and large, bathroom was large, balcony and view was perfect, beach was nice, and the room had air conditioning, a fan, and a mini fridge. The staff were friendly if spoken to directly in Italian, but otherwise kept to themselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Excelente hotel de frente ao mar.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Tudo perfeito, recomendo muito. Fácil de encontrar. Estacionamento, internet e café da manhã.