Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great view and location.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: View from the room. Location of the hotel. Service. Modern but warm ambience. Breakfast. Clean.
Cons: I wish there was a little more variety of fresh fruit at breakfast but this is a very small thing - overall no improvements required.
Great check-in - upgraded us to a superior room at no extra cost and welcomed us with a couple glasses of bubbly - which were both a welcome surprise. The location is about a 15 min walk to the historical centre but keep in mind coming back is all uphill or loads of stairs. To deal with this - they offer free shuttles to/from the historical centre on the half hour. The breakfast was very good and enough variety for our 3 night stay. The service was impeccable at every instance. We did dinner at the hotel restaurant (tasting menu) which was pricey but tasty. It was too chilly to indulge in the rooftop pool but the space was lovely with comfy lounge chairs. I suspect the space may be a bit too small on a sunny & hot day when more guests would be inclined to use it. The "fancy" drinks were pricey but like the restaurant - a treat. The hotel is in 2 separate buildings located very close to each other but this didn't pose an issue for us. The room overall was a decent size - enough room to move around, set up the luggage, etc. Overall the spaces were quite clean. We had an issue with our shower/tub (water leak) and they were quick to tidy it up. Overall we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel and would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel with great staff.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Everything, especially the staff.
Cons: nothing
Location: Walk to beach and dining/shopping.
This was a clean, beautiful hotel. The rooms were lovely and the staff was outstanding. Welcome Prosecco delivered to our room on check-in. Great breakfast buffet. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. Hospitality is in their blood. It is a little further up the hill from the beach, but not unwalkable with steps leading directly to hotel and provides a sweeping view. I would defiantly stay at this hotel again and recommend to my friends. The only negatives are a very small bathroom and we had an ant issue but the hotel was very responsive to resolve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Classy Hotel with Breathtaking Views

Posted Apr 18, 2016
For the second leg of our honeymoon, we visited Positano and stayed at the Hotel Villa Franca. Situated high above on Viale Pasitea, we were treated to breathtaking views of the Tyrrhenian Sea, and we couldn't have selected a more beautiful hotel to spend our time. As we arrived shortly before the busy season, we had the opportunity to get to know the staff well and spend quiet afternoons beside the rooftop pool. Although we didn't dine at the Li Galli Restaurant, we did enjoy many specialty cocktails at the Gallis Bar. Andre, their resident mixologist, makes the most delicious drinks, and while they're a bit pricey, they're certainly worth a taste!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful boutique hotel in Positano

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: The breathtaking views from their restaurant, I also liked that every room has a small terrace where you can sit and relax.
Cons: The floors of our hotel room always seemed a little dirty, also I wish they offered more shuttles throughout the day.
Location: There are a few restaurants nearby, but other than that there is not much going on near the hotel. You would have to walk down to town's center.
Hotel Villa Franca is a small boutique hotel in Positano. It is in a good location in that it is right next to the stairs which lead to the beach and center of town. However, on that note for those people who have trouble climbing stairs or walking it would not be ideal because it is not in the center of town. The views from the restaurant are divine, and the staff is very polite and accommodating. The hotel has a nice chic boutique type vibe but it is on the small side as I presume most hotels in Positano are. The rooms are quite small, but I think that other hotels would probably be similar. I recommend paying extra for a room with a view, because it's spectacular waking up to that every morning. We only had a partial view and I did regret not having a better view. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to visitors. It's clean, chic, and the restaurant/bar are very good. It is on the pricey side though and booking any day trips through the hotel can run your tab up, but we always felt safe and in good hands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel!

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Very helpful and friendly staff. Great view from the rooms. Very nice, clean and well maintained hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Best view in Positano

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Dreamy pool on top of this cozy, friendly 5 star hotel. We stayed at top hotels in Capri, Sorrento, and Naples - this one was our favorite! Will definitely recommend to our traveler friends...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with fantastic views

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Hotel was fantastic - friendly/helpful staff - clean rooms with very nice decore (a little small but it's Positano) - views were incredible from our room, the restaurant and the rooftop pool/bar - I would highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

Nice hotel located at the top of Positano.

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Views, helpful and friendly staff.
Nice Hotel, great location overlooking Positano with breathtaking views - but this is not a 5 star hotel. Had to play with the TV connections in order for it to work - after housekeeping looked at it. Very poor internet facility - sporadic and slow. Bathroom tub extremely narrow - and I'm not large by any means. Timing of shuttle service to and from downtown Positano really needs to be revised: there is service until 11:30 and then nothing until 5:30pm - which means you end up walking up the 2 mile hill back to the hotel after either lunch or shopping. Crazily, the evening shuttle from downtown back to the hotel started at 10:00pm - once again, requiring you to trudge your way back after your 7:30pm dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 star Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Fantastic!
Location: Location is perfect, top of the hill! Shuttle to beach and shops!
This is truly an amazing property with nothing left to be desired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, OH

Great location and view of the beach.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
The location and view is great! Rooms appeared to be recently renovated and overall the hotel was clean. Breakfast included and shuttle up and down the hills were both very nice benefits for staying at this hotel! If we ever make it back to positano we will definitely stay here again!