Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent staff, service and views!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: It truly was perfect.
Location: Close to the public beach, and great restaurants. Water taxis can pick you up at the base of stairs.
Our family greatly enjoyed our stay here, and we hope to return again one day! The staff went above and beyond - at everything! The room was perfect, the views outstanding, and our children could not get enough swimming in at the bottom of the steps, which kept us parents in shape from after all the food and wine! Being able to swim in the grotto and the bottom of the steps was a real treat. Location was a bit of walk from the center of town, but perfect for public beach access and wonderful restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Francesca Booking Office, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Lisa, thank you for your great review. It's a pleasure to know your appreciated our service, the room, the staff adn the view; our guests love our Grotto where you can swim inside. Also the shuttle service the local restaurant offer to our guest is very good to make their stay very special and comfortable. We hope to welcome you again as our guests Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay but unexpected parking fee

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Cons: If there is a fee, it must be shown on the website.
As stated by other reviewers, the place is very clean and good to stay. It was great to stay at a cliff over nights. The staff was very friendly. But there was unexpected hidden parking fee. When I booked the hotel, the website said parking was included and that was one of the main reasons of choosing this hotel, but when I actually arrived at there, the staff said parking fee of 15 euro per night was required. Because I was busy parking my car, my wife who did not know about the parking fee, said okay to the staff. So we had to pay for it. Despite overall satisfaction about the hotel, the hidden fee ruined the good impression of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Anna Reception, Hotel Management
Kind guest, thank you for your review and for the compliments about the staff, the beauty of the hotel and the clining. We're sorry that because of this reason (parking fee extra) you has a bad impression of the hotel, but this information was not "hidden". On the wesite of expedia (you've booked online) is well-explained that the parking has an extra cost. Anyway at your arrival the staff informed you about this extra cost and you can chose also to not park in our parking. We have an half-covered parking with insurance. Also we have video-surveillance all the time and it's very safe. We have the closing of the automatic gate in the night. So you've made a good decision choosing our hotel because in Praiano it's not easy to find parking with insurance and so safe us ours. In Amalfi coast there is this problem of parking: it's not easy to find parking in the town. So for this reason we suggest our guest to park inside the hotel. I remind you that also in the e-mail we send to our guests to comfirm the reservation there are all the services we offer and there there is written that if the guest come by car there is an extra coast for the parking space. It's strange that just for this reason all you impression was ruined. We work every day just to satisfy our guests and help them making our best. Hoping you can understand and we can host you next time, Our best regards Hotel Villa Mariapia Staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Had a wonderful experience at Villa Maria Pia. The staff were extremely nice which made the stay that much better. Hotel is a bit far from some restaurants but the staff arranged for shuttles to and from restaurants which was great and restaurants in the area were delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Francesca Booking Office, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Kristen, thank you for your great review. We are very glad you enjoied your stay with us, it's a pleasure to satisfy our guests providing lots of service like shuttles for restaurants, excursions; your satisfaction is our best prize. We hope to welcome you next time as our guests to have another wonderful stay with us. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

seaview room 10/10

Posted May 17, 2017
Amazing and clean room with an amazing view. Had a really good time there. Highly rec. this hotel!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Francesca, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review; it's a pleasure to receive this congratulations because it means that we have done a good work to satisfy you; our view and cleaning are our strenghts. We hope to receive you again as our guest. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Beautiful alternative to a standard hotel.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Very cozy, clean, and has a beautiful view.
Cons: The only thing I would recommend is to put some sort of sliders on the chairs in the rooms. Very loud when room above us moved their chair across tile
Location: Lots of restaurants, beach is nice, little shops. We loved that you can take boat tours direct from hotel dock to Capri, Positano, or Amalfi.
We stayed here for 12 nights in October. Wonderful visit. It's outside of the tourist overloaded spots in Positano & Amalfi, but close enough to easily visit both of these amazing spots. It's a family owned operation, but its not a small bed & breakfast type. It's a beautiful hotel built into the rockside above the sea with professional & attentive staff. The weather was beautiful in mid to late October. We went swimming in the ocean at the bottom of the stairs from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing View - Amazing Staff

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Due to unexpected travel delays we arrived at 10pm. The staff could not have been friendlier ! We were graciously met at reception, and their awesome kitchen staff went out of their way to accommodate 4 very hungry guests following a long day of travel. Unfortunately we were only booked to stay 1 night and didn't have much time to really enjoy everything this lovely hotel had to offer before check-out. We did enjoy a wonderful breakfast with a magnificent view before continuing our journey. I will definitely return for a longer stay in the future.
Cons: My stay was perfect. I can't think of a single thing that would have improved my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful location, great staff

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: All excellent -- location, rooms, staff, public spaces.
Cons: The swimming pool was closed, even though it was still warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful view

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Great 3 star hotel peaceful and quiet. Could not ask for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible sea view

Posted Sep 19, 2016
This family run hotel is amazing! Nice staff, clean rooms, they even had champagne and heart shaped donuts for us since it was our honeymoon!! Great restaurant suggestions, and within walking distance to the beach! It isn't close to anything so cab or boat rides is how you get elsewhere. It's nice and quite which is what we were looking for!!