Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel, all the staff are wonderful

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The staff, our room, views, very peaceful.
Cons: Tea making facility in rooms
Location: Amalfi was just minutes away with many option to travel around to surrounding areas from the port.
Our room had wonderful views out to sea and of the coast line, the room was spotless with everything we needed. There is private beach with bar and restaurant, also bar and restaurant in the main hotel serving good food. The staff where friendly and helpful at all times. We had a lovely holiday and would stay here again. The regular shuttle into Amalfi and pick up was great and the driver was so helpful and when the last shuttle was full the driver came back to just to pick us up.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Mb

Breathtakingly beautiful

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location, views, architecture
Location: great beach restaurants on both sides of the hotel that feature boats that will pick you up at the hotel. Charter a boat and cruise the shorline
Perched on a cliff overlooking the Mediterranean this hotel summarizes the Amalfi Coast. Massive rock outcroppings and immense cliffs. Incredible vistas and blue seas. Numerous terraces at varying levels - feels like you could spend the day just wandering through the property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Antonio Macchio and his staff operate a 5-star hotel on the Amalfi Coast. Everything is first-rate! A wonderful location and attention to detail is constant. You are treated like a guest deserves to be treated. It is a unique and beautiful place. There IS an elevator from the lobby to the beach!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Astoria,Queens, NYC

Beautiful hotel with a nice pool and its own beach

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Nice beautiful peaceful hotel it's a little away from the center of Amalfi but it's still a great hotel. The free breakfast was great and the restaurants on site provide great lunch and dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great private beach & views

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The great thing about this hotel is that it has a very nice private beach with free chairs for guests. The rooms are ok, but seem a little outdated. Still comfortable though. The hotel restaurant was terrible... Which was a shame bc they have an amazing terrace. The breakfast Was ok, but not great. they do offer a free shuffle into town, which is very helpful. I'm not at all saying avoid this hotel. It just depends on your priorities. For us, an easially accessible nice beach was our biggest and we were not disappointed. I think there are areas that could be improved though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Such a disappointment

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel is easy to find, parking is a little awkward. The views are utterly breathtaking. The hotel holds such a glorious position and it was a terrible shame that this is the only thing positive I can share about this experience. The check in experience was unwelcoming. When we were shown to our room we noted that the lobby areas, whilst clean and ornate, were very lack lustre and obviously not used at all. On arriving at our room the 1st point to note is the smell. Musty, like a dark cave. It suggests the rooms are little used. This was noticed by the staff member as she rushed to fling open the windows. The rooms themselves are very clean and neat. They are also extremely dated. Quaint, charming, authentic; all words my friend and I were using, what we really meant was 'old and tired'. The bathroom whilst again clean and quite large was hugely old fashioned and not as you'd expect; the shower which was over the bath, leaked out into the room. The hairdryer on the wall would not ever have dried your hair. There are no facilitties in the room to spruce up your travelling clothes. Iron, ironing board. Insufficient hangers in the musty wardrobe. Not available from reception either. Although they will send your clothes off to be ironed (24 hour turnaround) for a silly sum of money. Dead. Dying. Needs an injection of cash immediately and new staff. Absolutely not 5 star by current standards. Upshot - refund demanded and found a glorious 5 star hotel for less.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning views of the Amalfi Coast

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: The views and the artworks and the fact that it was so clean. Our room was in a turret and was really quiet - we never heard anything at night!
Cons: The food (breakfast was nice) and the coffee!
Location: Amalfi the town, cruise to Capri was fantastic and of course Pompei, which unfortunately we didn't have for.
I stayed at Il Saraceno with my son for a week. It was an amazing hotel with loads of interesting furniture and artworks as well as stunning views. It was very clean and the pool was great - we practically had it to ourselves. There was a shuttle bus into Amalfi, but you had to get there early to get on as it was high season and only took 8 passengers. Giovanni was very accomodating however and would always return for people. My only criticism would be the food at the hotel - it wasn't all that nice and was overpriced, plus a lot of the menu was not suitable for peanut allergy so my son couldn't eat much. However, we ate out and Bar Bruglio next door had amazing food and the view was just as good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Incredible hotel, no reason to leave!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Excellent hotel offering exceptional and non-intrusive service. Private beach and pool are lovely. Breakfast daily on the terrace, very clean rooms, beautiful decor and history. We will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Posizione e luogo incantevole

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Struttura saracena molto bella.. incantevole.. mare idem ... buon ristorante in spiaggia e bellissima piscina sulla scogliera...una incantevole chiesetta tipo cripta e sentieri sui giardini che digradano sul mare fanno il resto... da migliorare le camere con qualche rubinetto ko e segnale tv pessimo.. una piccola nota stonata se mi é permesso: capisco che l hotel e la zona è giusto che non siano a buon prezzo ma pagare una bottiglietta da mezzo litro d acqua anonima al bar della spiaggia senza servizio 4€ mi sembra essgerato.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely historic hotel, close to amalfi, probably t

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Amazing hotel, very quiet but close to amalfi via shuttle. We've been on a tour of the coast and not stayed anywhere close. Its private beach is great, staff are good, and restaurant is worth a try!