Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing views steps from the beach

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Views. Proximity to the beach. The friendly owner.
The hotel, in true Positano fashion, is 117 stairs up from the beach. The owner could not be nicer and more friendly. Other reviews mention all the stairs but that is the nature of Positano. If you take a cab to the hotel you will have to go down many steps (with your luggage) to reach it but the views and hospitality to me were well worth it. The owner did arrange for an employer to carry our bags across the beach to the path leading to the main dock upon our departure. This place does not have a front desk or concierge desk but the owner checked us in when we called her at the door and upgraded our room due to several cancellations she had just received due to weather. She, the owner, had great restaurant suggestions and was very helpful and friendly each morning when she came by the room with wonderful in room breakfast each day. So we had breakfast and coffee on our private balcony each morning overlooking the ocean...exactly what I wanted on my trip to Positano. It was not right in the heart of town with restaurant and night noise. Weather permitting, you can leave your balcony doors open and fall asleep to the sound of the waves on the beach.
5 out of 5
by Andhra from Sydney

A really great place to stay.

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
A great place to stay.. I spent a week designing here and it was compete bliss! Beforehand however I read a review that made a negative comment about the stairs and it almost put me off. This is Positano so if you don't like stairs then best you stay by the main road. If you like a place that makes you feel at home and you like waking up to look at the ocean from you window then this is a great place to stay. The location of this place is incredible, the short walk every morning to the beach makes up for the stairs you have to climb once on the day you leave. The truth is you can access this place from the main beach of Positano so you don't even have to use the stairs and it's 15 euro to have your bags collected. It's not 5 star, but it's not trying to be. It's a residence that feels more like your Aunt's house, where you're given plenty of space and treated like family. In the past 12 month I've spent over 100 nights in hotels and this place really stood out for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Maryse, Hotel Management
Sometimes some guests make you feel bliss!!! Sophisticated educated delightful! I am glad we did that trip together on the boat you hired with some other guests of La Dolce Vita. Sweet memories. Sure we are in Positano and Positano means ..stairs and i am a small structure, so we have to be like family! Thanks for you most positive energy and my best wishes for your design creations! All my best, Maryse
5 out of 5
by Chad from Boulder, CO

Wonderful Stay

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
What a wonderful stay! This B&B is located near the Fornillo beach which was fantastic and only a short walk to town. Just be prepared for stairs. The room was spacious and we were lucky enough to have a terrace. The views are breathtaking. The owners are lovely and very helpful! I would call ahead to let them know when you are arriving. The breakfast was also wonderful. We can’t wait to go back!
4 out of 5
by Chris from Canada

Great place!

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Dolce Vita. It was a clean and comfortable room in a more secluded spot in Positano. Our hosts were great, the breakfast was delicious!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We loved this hotel!

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Yes, there was a lot of stairs to climb down to get there, but it's Positano. It's exprected. The owners were very nice and accomidating, allowing us to check in late because our plane was arriving late. The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated. They came in each day to clean while we were relaxing on the beach that was 100 steps away. We loved Dolce Vita and would definately stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels
This is a simple hotel but it's good for the price the room was very large and had a cute little balcony with a beautiful view over the beach -if you stay at this hotel make sure you take the boat in, otherwise you will have to climb down a million steps. The location is a short, gorgeous, 5 minute winding walk through cliffs to town - much better to stay in this quiet part than with the area loaded with tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ash

Amazing hotel in beautiful location

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Yes there are stairs to reach the hotel but its well worth it once you arrival to the view. Maryse was so welcoming and have us a beer for our efforts!! She even upgraded our room which was lovely to a bigger suite with a balcony. Breakfast was enjoyable on the terrace and it was a short 1 min walk to the beach or 5 mins round to the main town of positano. Very enjoyable and relaxing stay!! Thanks maryse
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Views

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels
Amazing beach front water views from the balcony! And getting to the actual beach was only a 2 minute walk which was convenient. Only issue was actually getting to the hotel from the main road and walking down over 5 hundred steps with 2 big luggages was not convenient, but this is expected in positano due to its location. Cleanliness of the room was abit disappointing. Quality of service was not great, our stay would of been amazing if the service was there.Organisation of a porter is difficult and ensure you organise your own transfers to the airport etc as it was difficult to try and organise through the hotel. Overall if you want amazing views then you can sacrifice the quality of service for the beautiful beach front views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Maryse, Hotel Management
I am sorry to be unable to understand who you are and how come you felt bad. Usually if i have the mail of my guests, i make sure they understand that heavy luggages require a PORTER, that i can organize in advance. I can ask your taxi to stop you at the porter office in the center of the village for instance. Porters take 15 euro a luggage. If the guests will carry heavy luggage, i usually recommed that they use the water-taxi fo Guido on the main beach. But, sure, i need to be in contact with the guests ahead of time to be able to help! My apologies.... Maryse
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay....

Posted Aug 13, 2013
We were a family of 3, and visited La Dolce Vita in late July. I had read about this place on TripAdvisor and although it met our needs and we enjoyed ourselves, we felt the couple who run/own the place were standoffish. The breakfast was silly and the lady who made our coffee (the owner) seemed to be inconvenienced by our request for a coffee. When we'd ask for help (example... how to get a water taxi), we were basically ignored. The place is very basic but quite clean, and that's all we were looking for. If that's all you need, this isn't the worst place because it's fairly close to the beach (by Positano standards!). The walk into town isn't too bad, so there's that. I'm not sure I'd recommend this place to a friend though. Spend a couple more $$s and be in town... that's my recommendation. The attitude of the owners took away from the quaintness that perhaps this place could offer.