Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Praiano/Positano just great,

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Location is heavenly and the place is clean with a great breakfast on offer.
Cons: All good.
Location: You are on the Amalfi Coast need anyone say more.
The location has to be the best of the Amalfi Coast. A great place to stay. Buses to Positano and all the way to Sorrento very close by. A most delicious breakfast with a great variety is the cream on the cake. All in all a most enjoyable stay is on offer here. Premises are very clean and well appointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

false advertising

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
This was one of the worst travel experiences I've had in 20 years. when I was shown to my room it was NOTHING LIKE WHAT WAS ADVERTISED ONLINE. My room was a walk up, no balcony, the lights on stairs didn't work (not safe for a single female). I could not open windows as they faced the staff eating area. I accidentally locked myself out of room and they were able to "help me back in" using a screwdriver and pushing folding door in - again not safe for a single female. I then asked for another room and was abruptly told there were no other rooms available. end of discussion. rather than ruin dinner I had planned with friends I decided to make no more waves and decided to shower for dinner. THERE WAS NO HOT WATER....I suffered thru after 13 hours of travel. I then went to blow dry my hair and THE HAIR DRYER DIDN'T WORK EITHER. while I was supposed to be enjoying dinner I looked for another hotel nearby - luckily I was able to find one....the thought of staying by myself, away from main property, with no outdoor lights and a door that was clearly not secure scared me to death...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, amazing view, helpful staff

Posted Jul 20, 2015
This hotel was lovely. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was great. When we couldn't get a taxi for dinner one night one of the staff drove us in his car. So nice of them. The location is good. Ten minute walk to the beach, very close to both local and sita bus stops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit

great viewsbut rooms old and dinghy.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Views
Cons: rooms, breakfast
Location: Would staty in Positano next time
Rooms are old and outdated, small, great blaconies, if you luycky to get a room with a balcony, The dinner was great at the hotel restaurant, breakfast so so. The staff is helpful especially antonio and catalina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales, UK

Friendly, family run hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Private room ( Katherine ) with own courtyard , good restaurant , great location , wonderful views.
Cons: Shower wasn't instantly hot in the mornings.
Location: On main road between Amalfi and Positano. Bus stop ,Small shop near hotel to buy bus tickets and water, razors, wine etc. small beach and restaurants.
We had a wonderful 5 days at Locanda Costa Diva. Fantastic service from the friendly hardworking staff. We were pleasantly surprised to discover our room was on its own away from the main accommodation building and so had a private courtyard with lemon trees overhead and beautiful sea view! Good varied choice for breakfast , and sitting underneath lemon groves in the sunshine overlooking the sea was absolutely amazing ! We hadn't planned on eating at the hotel every night, but after a busy day walking miles or sightseeing it was great to return to the restaurant for our evening meal. There was always a table available and a warm welcome. We tried many dishes on the menu and enjoyed it all! House red wine was delicious served in jugs, which we could take back to our courtyard. The hotel was very quiet and relaxing during the day and at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Wonderful staff. Beautiful location & the restaurant was delicious. Highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Better than I though

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
First thing about this place...address that you get and enter in TomTom is different from actual address. We reached listed address which is about 5-7 km from actual hotel and high in mountains so we called hotel and old guy said in Italian take GPS and throw into sea !..Anyway after getting instructions from them we manage to reach hotel and first thing that you get is view...located on edge of the cliff with perfect sea view...Having breakfast with good coffee and lemons over your head is something that I will always remember. Another big plus is staff, very nice and friendly, I had big fun with la vecchio from restaurant ( old man in Italian) and I don't speak Italian and he doesn't speak English but we understand each other :) Only thing that might need improvement is connection to internet, signal is not really good but you can always sit in restaurant and connect without any problems. Also this place provide parking which is something important in this region. And because this is Amalfi coast...stairs, lots of them so get in shape, if you have mobility problem contact them first. Last thing, at night breakfast area is restaurant where we had dinner few times, nice decent meals so if you are tired of driving around or just lazy to go anywhere .... problem solved ...just remember if you are driving back this restaurant sometimes gets busy so you will need to leave keys with valet and he will park for you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Fabulous experience! Owner runs a great hotel!!!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Gorgeous views! Lovely hotel! Exquisite food! Great wedding venue. The owner was such a warm and wonderful guy. Picked me up off my feet and swing me around to tell me goodbye. We fell in love with all the people, from the guy who carried our luggage down all the stairs and back up to the special guy who made me cappuccinos with hearts in them every morning. Nice breakfast. Great restaurant for dinner. Convenient location on the "main drag" along the Amalfi coast. Do NOT miss Ravello!!! Oh, my!! My fav of all!! Of course, Positano is simply beautiful. Stop by the San Pietro Hotel to take pictures of this swanky cliff hanger hotel. A stunner! Pricey dinner but maybe drinks at the lobby bar would be advised!! Loved this place! Ask hotel about the private beach down the road. Nice day spent here! Would love to go back there again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely position with great views

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, terrace views and restaurant
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Located outside Praiano close to the little harbour and tiny beach where there are lots of restaurants and boat tours.
I booked the hotel because it states that all rooms have sea views. Though technically correct, I was very disappointed with mine because the only small window overlooked a shared terrace and path to another room and so had to be curtained when inside. This meant the room felt like a cell and certainly no sea view. The shared terrace had a beautiful view which softened the disappointment. There were weddings on 2 nights out of my 4 night stay which were very noisy, so if you are hoping for a quiet evening on your terrace, check first. Finally, I found some of the staff somewhat off hand and unhelpful. I think this is a family run concern and it felt as though some members did not really want to be there! On the plus side the location is fabulous, right on the cliff edge: the restaurant, located under an arbour of lemon trees is charming and the food good and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Locanda Costa Diva was in an excellent location, a quieter part of the coast, between Amalfi and Positono. The view from the restaurant was breathtaking! The food was also very good as well as a great variety. Our room was private with a jacuzzi, but not much of a view. If they cut the oleander down, it would have a fabulous view of the sea. Maybe they think people would rather have the privacy. Our bed was very hard. I could feel the springs. The internet was very spotty. That was a little frustrating since I was trying to make some reservations. The staff was excellent and very helpful. My husband and I had a great stay despite a few irritations.