Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Paradise

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Spent just two days in Amalfi but wish I had spent more. The Hotel Luna Convento was gorgeous. The staff very accommodating and kind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Horsham

Great views and location

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Lovely sea view from balcony and from the breakfast area. Good location.
Cons: I know that this building was an old monastery but the rooms are very dated and in need of a revamp.
Location: Just a few minutes walk to Almalfi, where there are lots of places to eat. In the other direction you will find the small hamlet of Atrani
Good location, set between Almalfi and Atrani, only a few minutes walk to each. Hotel was very clean and comfortable, however the rooms are very dated. Nice inner courtyard to sit and relax in. Pool area not suitable for the very young or older guests who may find the steep steps down to the pool (across the road) a bit challenging.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Takapuna New Zealand

Close easy walk to town and restaurants

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The antiquity and charm of this beautiful hotel. The views straight over the water are outstanding.
Cons: Nothing needs improvement.
Location: Transport, restaurants, township
Courteous, helpful staff who make certain your stay is an enjoyable experience. On a previous visit we enjoyed a balcony off our room. Expecting the same this time we were disappointed that a balcony was not included. We would be more careful to ask for a balcony the next time we stay in Amalfi so we can relax in our own comfort. Breakfasts are excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Worth the view alone

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Location. View. Cleanliness.
Cons: Price is high. Shower leaked.
Location: Very close to the beach. Located on a busy bend in the road without a sidewalk but close to town without being on top of the loud busy town centre.
We had a great time. Great location. Beautiful room with a private balcony and canopy over looking the water. The room was small but functional with beautiful tiling. The hotel is close to town however you must walk on the road for about 3 minutes as there is no sidewalk all the way up. The door is on a bend in the road, which if you know the Amalfi coast is a bit hectic but as long as you used the mirror and looked both ways it was fine. We never ended up using the pool because the beach was so accessible but it looked absolutely stunning. My only complaint was that our shower leaked and with a small bathroom, everything quickly got messy. We tried to get the front desk to make dinner reservations but you really have to be forward about it, they wanted to book at their own resturant. Breakfast was a nice spread of hot and cold items with delicious cappuccinos. It really was a lovely place but I would say its a bit overpriced but then again, the view is what you are paying for and its hard to put a price on that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Beautiful hotel. Perfect location

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: See above comments regarding tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms. Not a huge issue but Luna Convento should consider this.
Location: The location is perfect and is no more than a 5 minute walk into Amalfi. Plenty to do in Amalfi with the shops, the restaurants and the harbour.
3 couples making first visit to Amalfi. Totally lived up to our expectations and actually exceeded them. The Luna Convento is steeped in history and tradition and is perfectly situated overlooking the southern end of the Bay of Naples. The hotel is classic in design and excellently maintained. The staff are very good and very welcoming. Breakfast is excellent with good choices and it is worth the effort to secure a table on the terrace. Anyone planning to stay at The Luna Convento should make sure their room is a sea view with balcony. This will be self explanatory on arrival and during your stay. The only suggestion we would make is that hotel considers tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. We are sure they have reasons not to do this but the option to enjoy a tea or coffee on your room balcony and enjoy the stunning vista before heading out to explore the Amalfi coast would make a beautiful experience just perfect. Hoods, Tempanys and Rists from Scotland
4 out of 5
by Steven from Bethesda MD

Staying in an historic convent is an experience

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is charming and very historic. The in house restaurant was outstanding, both in terms of quality of food and service. While the location of the hotel is great, potential guests need to know that to walk to the center of Amalfi requires walking along a busy road with no shoulders for part of the way. The only area for improvement is the lack of helpfulness of the front desk staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Schönes Hotel. Alle Zimmer mit Meerblick. Amalfi ein guter Standort bei Ausflügen an der Küste und nicht so voll wie zB Positano. Gute Busverbindung zB nach Ravello. Aber: kein Parkplatz in Hotelnähe, dh 20€ Parkhaus pro Tag kommen dazu, lebensgefährlicher Weg auf der kurvigen Straße in den Ort, wenig Aufenthaltsräume bei schlechtem Wetter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hotel historico, anticuado

Posted May 15, 2016
Nos ubicaron en una habitacion fuera de lo comun y fuera del hotel, en una torre bellisima con todo el mar alrededor, pero a la que habia que llegar abriendo dos rejas y subiendo dos tramos de escaleras. El equipamiento de la habitacion era antiguo, la caja de seguridad no funcionaba, los elementos de tocador eran de muy mala categoria, las almohadas duras. El empleado que no recibio muy poco amable (las otras personas que hubo en la recepcion fueron correctas y muy amable y eficaz el que hizo nuestro check out). El hotel debe haber sido formidable en el siglo XIX, pero no llego todavia a ser un hotel comodo del siglo XXI.
5 out of 5
by Jason from Washington, D.C.

Beautiful Hotel

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I loved our stay at Luna Convento. Our room was very comfortable and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Our view was remarkable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poland, Ohio

Beautiful setting overlooking crystal clear ocean

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The view overlooking the ocean, the beautiful pool overlooking the ocean across the road, and the lovely cloister sitting area
Cons: twin beds could be like american ones( wider)
Location: Can visit Capri, or other Amalfi coast towns by ferry from Amalfi. Town is interesting and busy. Bus trip up hill to GORGEOUS Ravello.!!
Our room (42) was very unusual with a rock face on one wall, and short stairway up to our own private sitting area, overlooking the amazingly clear ocean. You could hear the waves crashing against the sea wall at night. The roadway, very busy ,was right under our window, but the view from the room was worth it. The buffet breakfast was amazing, with just about anything , anyone from anywhere in the world would like! Short, sometimes perilous walk down to town center on the winding roadway, but amalfi town was worth the walk.