Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Amazing hotel and views

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel and staff are fantastic. We initially had an issue with our check in, but the staff quickly engaged and upgraded our stay. Manger Antonio and Gaetano were fabulous. The staff at the hotel is first rate across the aboard, and were incredibly helpful during our stay. They had great suggestions for day trips, dinner reservations and more. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are impressive with well groomed gardens and terraces. The views of Amalfi from this historical convent (now hotel) are post card perfect and the infinity pool is amazing. A special place for a vacation and we look forward to staying there again on our next visit. It was hard to leave this special place. Thank you NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury at its best

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Walk to the pool, dinning area, old monk grounds and temple.
We spent two night of our honeymoon at Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi. The location is somewhat weird. You enter at the entrance of a very busy street tunnel. Once you take the lift to the reception area it all makes sense and wow is this a cool venue to stay at. We did not dine at the restaurant for dinner but the breakfast is one of the best spreads I have ever seen. The pool area is small and quiet. The suite had a low bed which we are not fans of but it was very comfortable. I was hoping for a terrace but the large panoramic window was nice enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Customer service.
Location: Great location. Nearby, Furore beach, Positano, and few grottos.
Hotel restaurant, consider by them restaurant, because was breakfast for all the guest in the morning, and transform restaurant at night, with about 20 tables more or less on the patio, I stop one night after a dinner on the village, and I said, let me stop with my wife, to my hotel on the patio with nice view to the sea and the village, to have a cappuccino and a soft drink, or dessert, and maybe more. After we got seat it at the table by a stuff member, same guy ask us to move to the bar tables witch were several tables down on the same patio, because we don't serve dinner, all patio its transform in restaurant and bar called, we just few people on the tables, maybe 5 tables with people, in few minutes he came back with a reservation list, and I saw not many people booked for this restaurant, anyway. After I said I stay in this hotel and I don't serve and dinner, he finally served us, but the service was bad, not come to pour the drinks into the glasses anymore, not expect for me, but for my wife, they have a lady at the table. Service very disappointed for a 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

amazing and full of history

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is an amazing hotel built into the cliff in an old covent. It's an unimaginatively beautiful setting. The service staff in the dining area was very awesome. The shuttle to town (not a far walk at all, but not on a street I'd want to walk for safety reasons) was not so reliable. Our room also smelled like dead fish, and none of the rest of the hotel smelled that way, so I had to think we got something gross left in the room that wasn't found. Despite this, I would stay again. It was lovely. One of our favorite things was the infinity pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with magnificent views

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here in 91 and 99 when it was a very special place but very very faded. It's lovely to see that such a very lovely place has been restored to its former glory so that it can be enjoyed for many years to come.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springhill NS

Worth the Trip !!

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Perfect location. Best views of the Amalfi coast. Rooms were are well appointed. Very attentive staff. Any request was immediately looked after. Infinity pool great place to relax and take in the views. Close proximity to downtown Amalfi.
Cons: I cannot find one thing to complain about, The grounds are exceptional with Lemon, Lime, Clementine , Olive trees all well manicured and full of fruit. Service was excellent as was the food.
Location: Located only 10 minute walk from ferry terminal and all restaurants and shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent hotel!

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Beautiful views everywhere you go! Incredibly friendly staff! Very accommodating! Excellent food! Would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stunning!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Fab location for the views. Found it easy to visit Capri, Ravello, Sorrento & Pompeii
Just returned from celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary at this beautiful hotel in Amalfi. The hotel is stunning with lots of lovely areas to wander to and sit to take in the amazing view. The staff were extremely professional, attentive and friendly. It is only a few minutes walk down to the town but it is a bit harder walking back as it is up hill/steps! However the hotel has an excellent shuttle service is you do not fancy the walk. The restaurant is quiet as others have said probably because of the unusual theme however, we ate there twice and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Best hotel in Amalfi.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The views, staff and location.
Cons: The lobby furniture needs serious reupholstering.
Location: Perfect location - quick walk to main piazza and has a shuttle if needed.
This is a great hotel from staff to location to views. It also has probably the best restaurant on the coast, better than Eolo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel with stunning views

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Fantastic hotel , the views are amazing. Our room 711 was a junior suite. Terrace&ocean view Could not have asked for a more amazing room & view The hotel staff took care of every want. The van shuttle was a great touch down the hill to The Amalfi square. The morning breakfast buffet was very tasty