Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

Excuse-filled, powdered breakfast, dog & pony show

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Great views. Though Positano is great from any angle. Honestly, Positano from the main town center looking up is a more dramatic view.
Cons: Staff does not speak good english, minimize issues instead of fixing them. Breakfast subpar/packaged.
Location: Far from main action in Positano, a long walk down and streous on way up so make sure you are fit. Lastly, I would not recommend.
We stayed here for several nights. This hotel is literally at the top of Positano by the main highway, so it's quite a trek down. We enjoyed the exercise, but it does make things inconvenient if you want to quickly run to your room for something. They supposedly have a shuttle but it seemed like a hassle as it only had a few pick up times. Most Positano hotels are rustic; I'd say this one is that way as well, though they've tried to make it modern looking outside. They own a sister property right on the waterfront which looks amazing. We paid an upgraded rate to get a jacuzzi terrace, thinking the bigger terrace offered better views. Honestly, the regular superior view room is just as good. The jacuzzi was not clean (staff said it was due to wind) and it did not maintain temperature ; one day it did not heat up past 33 degrees C, so that was disappointing (blame it on a "cold" 65 degree night). Staff tried to sweep these issues under the rug rather than trying to please us, which is what most hotels would do (one staff put his hand and pretended it was too hot: "Ahh Ow", i.e. a dog & pony show). They did not provide any discount or refund for lack of functional jacuzzi which is the whole reason we got that room. They tried to push a private expensive tour of Pompei (I suggest renting a car like we did). Also, breakfast is horrendous. Powdered eggs, packaged croissant, crackers, powdered orange drink. Capuccino seemed fresh, but that's it. Sheets uncomfortable, not cozy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Cons: The bed is quite hard and uncomfortable, so a foam or down mattress topper or a new mattress would be wonderful.
The view was amazing!! We loved looking out to the view, but the patio wall was too high to see over while seated at the table. Maybe a tall bistro type table and barstool chairs would be more appropriate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great hotel, not so great staff.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The view from our room.
Cons: The front desk staff.
Location: Great place up on the hill with a great view.
This was a lovely place to stay, beautiful room, beautiful view of the water, and a great location. But the woman who booked the room for us forgot that the hotel was closing for the season for renovations and she told us we had to leave a day early - this was at 7:00 at night and check out was the next morning at 11:00. And she refused to pay for our transfer to another hotel - which she charged us 50 Euro for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago IL

Beautiful

Posted Sep 24, 2016
I can't say enough good things about Palazzo Marzoli. We were welcomed upon arrival and were extremely happy with the service. All staff were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was served daily on our deck and was substantial. The rooms were beautiful and the location for us was perfect. It's at the upper part of Positano but an easy walk to the beach. Also close to laundry and local markets. After a cramped bus ride from Sorrento we enlisted the hotel's shuttle which was very worth it. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Love the View

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Love this hotel so much - location, its view, staff, free shuttle and the nicely decorated room. I missed it so much!
4 out of 5
by babak

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Do not stay here. Staff are incredibly rude and will do anything to rip you off. Also located at the top of the hill so be prepared to walk lots of steps
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Very nice hotel. Located on SS163.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Clean, nice room. Comfortable bathroom. Terrace looking to the sea. Location not near the beach or Positano's center, you will need to use the bus, shuttle or car. Breakfast is minimal, nice touch that served in the room. A nice hotel at a reasonable price close to Positano. Very nice stuff, really trying to give you best service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OREGON

Lots of extra charges and tough to get to

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Rooms were spacious
Cons: Customer service and being upfront about add on costs PRIOR to staying there
We were not told in advance that the hotel is at one of the highest points in Positano and really a pain to get to. Once there, we were told that despite having reserved a room for two nights, we were going to have to transfer to another room for the second night, and a worse room at that. There was a jacuzzi on the deck of our room, but we were informed that in order to use it, there would be an extra charge. They have room service for their "included breakfast" however, there is a 20 Euro "delivery charge" for your breakfast and you pay extra for any meat with breakfast. Worst of all, just as we were leaving, we were asked if we had used anything from the mini-bar that morning. I told her my son had a Sprite and a bag of chips. She then charged me 18 Euro for those two items! Yes, about $25 for a can of pop and chips! Unbelievable. There are a LOT better places in Positano for the same price and a lot better service. Mark Portland, Oregon