Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but in dire need of renovation

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Rooms, noise
This hotel boasts a 5*L rating, so one would expect an amazing experience. Unfortunately that was not the case. The hotel location is indeed great and views are amazing, but the hotel itself is in dire need of renovation. We were lodged on the lower floor and a clear smell of damp could be smelled on the stairs. The room was small, furniture dated, walls had damp stains, the windows were old and broken on the edges. In addition the room was very noisy and one could hear everything happening in the room upstairs. Wedding parties during the day also made it impossible to have any rest in the afternoon. The room was fairly clean but not spotless. On the positive side the staff is very helpful and breakfast is good. The hotel needs serious renovations to deserve its rating and room rate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great staff but overpriced

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Great staff, location
Cons: The rooms are in need of serious upgrades, poor air conditioning, poor WIFI
Location: 5 minute walk to the main square, good location
Based on my experience I would not recommend this hotel. The pros are the hotel staff are great, I liked the restaurant and the hotel itself is in a good location, however the quality of the actual room was far below what I was expecting. I understand it's an old hotel but considering the amount of money being charged for the room I walked away feeling ripped off. We stayed in 4 other hotels along the Amalfi coast within the same price range and the quality of the room in this hotel was not even close to everywhere else. The value just isn't there to justify the pricing in my opinion. I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Very comfortable, very good food. Friendly and prompt service. Lovely building.
4 out of 5
by Melissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Renato from Ponta Grossa

Excelente serviço, localização e atendimento.

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente hotel, serviço de quarto impecável. 5 estrelas mesmo. Única coisa que tenho que dizer é que paguei o mesmo que outros casais de amigos que estavam juntos no hotel e deram um quarto extremamente ruim, muito baixo o teto, o banheiro pequeno só com ducha e banheira, o que dificultava pois o teto era muito baixo, dependendo de onde estava na banheira batia a cabeça. Pedi para trocar de quarto, mas não tinha nenhum disponível do mesmo valor. Não me deram o upgrade, tive que pagar a diferença, porém valeu a pena pois o quarto era no prédio novo e o quarto era moderno e novo, muito espaçoso. Se for reservar, caso não queira uma vista tão bonita do mar, reserve no prédio novo.
4 out of 5
by Steven from Minneapolis

Faded Glory

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
This is a famous and historic hotel living to an extent on past glory. The building is wonderful, originally a 12th monastery. The setting and view are spectacular. The public spaces are lovely and the service was personal, and friendly. But the rooms (we saw both a suite and stayed in a Deluxe room) seem to need a lot of work. The bathroom was simply unacceptable at a 5-star property with cracked tiling and filthy grout. I'd guess the property needs an infusion of a couple million euros to bring it to the standard it promises, and should deliver.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lecce, IT

Felt like royalty

Posted May 9, 2016
We enjoyed 3 nights of a very delightful stay. Had a room with balcony and sea view, magnificent. Inside the hotel is like a palace. In every common area there is beautiful artwork and furnishings, like walking through a museum. Outside is a lovely garden where you can stroll or sit and enjoy the view. The staff was superb, friendly, gracious and attentive. Food was excellent. The center of Ravello is a five minute walk from the hotel entrance. A charming city with wonderful gardens, shops, and places to explore. If you are adventurous you can walk to Amalfi and surrounding cities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

shabby with an amazing view

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Maintenance has been neglected. Housekeeping needs improvement. Ants wandered in through misfitting window, found some in the bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telese Terme

Week-end da Sogno

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Week-end perfetto era novembre ma sembrava Agosto Hotel magnifico e Panorama mozzafiato, consigliatissimo per passare ore romanticissime
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an average place

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Had a room on the main floor. Saturday they had a wedding reception that seemed to be next door. Loud until late. Used a pillow over my head to muffle the noice. No warning and no apologies. Been on the road 40 years that was the worst noice ever.