Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but in dire need of renovation

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Rooms, noise
This hotel boasts a 5*L rating, so one would expect an amazing experience. Unfortunately that was not the case. The hotel location is indeed great and views are amazing, but the hotel itself is in dire need of renovation. We were lodged on the lower floor and a clear smell of damp could be smelled on the stairs. The room was small, furniture dated, walls had damp stains, the windows were old and broken on the edges. In addition the room was very noisy and one could hear everything happening in the room upstairs. Wedding parties during the day also made it impossible to have any rest in the afternoon. The room was fairly clean but not spotless. On the positive side the staff is very helpful and breakfast is good. The hotel needs serious renovations to deserve its rating and room rate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great staff but overpriced

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Great staff, location
Cons: The rooms are in need of serious upgrades, poor air conditioning, poor WIFI
Location: 5 minute walk to the main square, good location
Based on my experience I would not recommend this hotel. The pros are the hotel staff are great, I liked the restaurant and the hotel itself is in a good location, however the quality of the actual room was far below what I was expecting. I understand it's an old hotel but considering the amount of money being charged for the room I walked away feeling ripped off. We stayed in 4 other hotels along the Amalfi coast within the same price range and the quality of the room in this hotel was not even close to everywhere else. The value just isn't there to justify the pricing in my opinion. I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Very comfortable, very good food. Friendly and prompt service. Lovely building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lecce, IT

Felt like royalty

Posted May 9, 2016
We enjoyed 3 nights of a very delightful stay. Had a room with balcony and sea view, magnificent. Inside the hotel is like a palace. In every common area there is beautiful artwork and furnishings, like walking through a museum. Outside is a lovely garden where you can stroll or sit and enjoy the view. The staff was superb, friendly, gracious and attentive. Food was excellent. The center of Ravello is a five minute walk from the hotel entrance. A charming city with wonderful gardens, shops, and places to explore. If you are adventurous you can walk to Amalfi and surrounding cities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

shabby with an amazing view

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Maintenance has been neglected. Housekeeping needs improvement. Ants wandered in through misfitting window, found some in the bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an average place

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Had a room on the main floor. Saturday they had a wedding reception that seemed to be next door. Loud until late. Used a pillow over my head to muffle the noice. No warning and no apologies. Been on the road 40 years that was the worst noice ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC, USA

Old World Charm

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Staff were perfect and hotel charm was extremely pleasant
Cons: Better climate control in the rooms and improved wifi
Location: Close to the town square and excellent restaurants and shopping
We completely enjoyed this hotel. It's location is ideal in Ravello as it is close to the town square and great places to eat and shop. Though the hotel is a little dated in its fixtures and furniture, it has an old world charm that gives it an authenticity and hominess. The best feature of this hotel is its staff - from the concierge to the desk staff, waiters, bartenders, housekeeping staff and bellman - all were like family. The staff were beyond attentive, genuinely wanted our stay to be pleasant, always had a smile on their faces and would do anything to improve our stay and our enjoyment of the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lymm, UK

Fantastic hotel in Ravello with stunning views

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: For me - nothing!
Location: Centre of Ravello within 5 minutes of major attractions and restaurants. Suggest visiting Duomo, Villa Rufolo, Church of San Giov and Villa Cimbrone.
Delightful historic hotel in the heart of Ravello - 5 minutes walk from the main square and Duomo. Booked a junior suite - lovely room with excellent facilities opening onto a patio garden. Stunning views from patio and restaurant. Large lounge with cosy bar and balcony overlooking coastline. Garage facilities for cars but access tricky and costs 25 Euro per day. Breakfast ample with good choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, meat and eggs. Had an excellent evening meal to celebrate daughter's birthday - great choice of food and wines. Free and high quality wifi. Access to some rooms could be difficult for guests with disability. Fantastic staff - friendly and very helpful. Would I return - definitely! If you can afford it book a junior suite - spacious with Jacuzzi bath.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Lovely hotel with beautiful view

Posted Sep 8, 2015
This is a beautiful historical property with a stunning view and a very nice restaurant. I think one could find a nicer property for the money with a similar view. The grounds are a little bare bones and there is no pool, although guests are able to use the nice pool next door. Be careful what standard room you get, ours was lovely but tiny with a small window. The staff were at our service and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from glasgow scotland

Loved the friendly luxury

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Everything but especially the way there appeared to be service to clean or change towels or turn down and leve little pastries every time we left
Cons: Very minor - I like a shaving / makeup mirror in that sumptuous bathroom.
Location: Very close to the square, cathedral and villa rufolo. a shortish walk to villa cimbrone And walk through to other little towns for the hikers.
Not at all stuffy. Junior suite was fab. The value compared to other five star hotels in ravello was very good. Restaurant well worth a visit even if not staying in the hotel.