Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathy A. from Youngstown Ohio

Getting around at Villa Rosa residence

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very pretty Little resort however you had to have a car and it was a very steep drive in and out you could walk down to the town of Atrauni but it was a long walk with nothing but steps down and even could hardly walk up we had to take the bus up to Revello and then take a cab back down to our Resort And the cab cost €20 it was very inconvenient if you Did not take your car everywhere The unit itself was very very difficult to find in the first place it only has a black wrought iron gate and unless you have a very good GPS you would have a very hard time finding it But it was a very pretty place and it had a great view
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KARINE from Grenoble

Grosses voitures fuyez!

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Apartements à déconseiller à ceux qui ont une grosse voiture. Chemin d'accès très stressant et très très étroits avec des virages presque à angle droit. Escaliers menant à la mer épuisants au retour; notre fille de 8 ans pourtant sportive a fait un malaise en les remontant à 19h ( effort + chaleur). Belle terrasse , jolies chambres propres, pas de télé, jolie piscine. Le Monsieur qui s'occuppe du départ et de l'accueil est très gentil. Pas de contact avec les propriétaire. Nous ne retournerons pas à cet endroit à cause de sa situation géographique ( au milieu d'un alternat sur une route dangereuse + chemin d'accès)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected, read closer

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
It's a beautiful site, but with the heat wave and all the steps reuired to get down into Atrani, it was not the most convenient. This is a self-catering residence, but some simple food stuffs could have been provided, at least until one gets orientated in the area. You can get some produce from the fruit & vegetable shop in Atrani and he will drive it up to Villa Rossa. Sundays the shops are closed, but there is a store in Amalfi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fantastisk sted

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Det er et fantastisk sted med en fantastisk beliggenhed. Eneste minus var at parkeringsforhold var meget vanskelige og at strømmen gik hvis man brugte ovn eller elkoger. Men alt i alt et sted vi gerne vil vende tilbage til.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted May 21, 2015
Magnifique emplacement. Beau séjour. Très inspirant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Frequent climbing of very steep steps!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The view
The hotel/apartment is not really in Ravello at all. The setting is quite pretty and the terrace was nice and picturesque however it is significantly closer to Atrani than Ravello. It is worth noting that taxi’s will not drive down into the complex due to the severity of the slopes and as a result anyone staying will be doing strenuous and frequent climbing of very steep steps. Overall the area is beautiful but this apartment would be more suited to self catering holiday with occasional visits to other towns surrounding Amalfi than to those wishing to eat out or visit the local beaches
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Could be better from England

Could be improved. Driveway not for the faint hear

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
We had the 3 bed apartment with large terrace. There was loads of room and internally it was very clean but everything could be so much better if it was maintained more thoroughly.The terrace furniture was very shabby and the showers terrible. One is a tiny corner cubicle with a dribble of water and the other over-bath shower has no curtain and a broken shower head so water went everywhere. A dishwasher would be great here.There are stairs everywhere ( 60 to the pool and another 20+ to the laundry room). The drive has c.5 hair pin bends - very scary! The views are amazing and the gorge it looks over interesting. HOWEVER the Spar (best/largest supermarket around in this area) is at least 25 mins up very steep and at times unpleasant walk including 5-10 mins on the road. Atrani is down/up, c.300 stairs. The terrace and pool only get sun (in August) between 11am and 4.30pm. The manager speaks no English and will hound you for a 200 euro deposit. This could so easily be a 9 out of 10 but sadly at the moment it's a 5-6.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

Nice, calm place to stay

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Silence, the voice of the small river
Location: As mentioned - walks to Atrani, Amalfi, Ravello, Pontone - really nice small towns and nice views during the walks.
We spent there 7 days (6 nights), our apartment (no. 5) had big terrace, where we had sun from about 11 am till 5pm. You could lie on the sunbed all day. The house was small but very cosy, clean. we did walks to Atrani (down) or Ravello (up). Overall - great place, we might go there once again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire,UK

Self catering apartments with stunning views

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The views , the swimming pool and the fact that the staff left you alone to enjoy your stay.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Amalfi is about 20 minute walk, very busy town with lots of shops and restaurants.
Villa Rosa is made up of 9 self catering apartments built into the side of the mountain. We were in apartment 5 which had stunning views down to the small town of Atrani and the sea. The apartment was basic but spotlessly clean. We were met on arrival by the villa's agents (Paola) she was very friendly and very helpful as Mr Nicola the head gardener and the on site contact didn't speak a word of English. If you struggle walking this is not the holiday venue for you. There are approximately 300 steps of all shapes and sizes from the apartment to Atrani, walking down takes about 10 minutes, however the walk back is much longer and more difficult. There are buses from Atrani which I'm told will stop outside Villa Rosa. Tickets must be bought from the Tobacconist in Atrani, you cannot pay on the bus. We choose to walk and by the end of the week our legs were accustomed to the walk. If you are a light sleeper then I would advise ear plugs, the church bells ring on the hour and then every 15 minutes throughout the day and night. There are also a few local cockerels that start crowing about 4am and go on for a few hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by matured couple from Hong Kong

not easy to get in and out

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
You have to be a good driver if you stays in Villa Rosa. The roads leading to the villa is hilly, winding and busy. We stayed in Apartment 5 with a huge terrace. The room is OK and comfortable and the view is spectacular. No washing-up liquid is provided in the kitchen and the set up of the bath room is not user friendly, e.g. no shower curtain, no hooks, no place to put your towels, etc. There is only one location on the terrace where the Wi-Fi reception is OK.