Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire UK

Simple yet elegent with friendly helpful staff.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Cons: Beware, if you arive by car, it requires a drive through the zona pedonale, then parking in a nearby garage at 20 euros a day.
Well worth the walk uphill for the view and to escape the madding crowd in town. Don't be worried that the house is high above the road, there is a lift inside the terraced garden. This place is typically Italian. Simple but well appointed rooms, a lovely lounge and breezy terraces. The accomodation is very clean and well cared for with comfortable beds and a good breakfast. The staff are all jolly with a good sense of humour, friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vanouver BC

Posted Oct 23, 2015
It was a pleasant stay and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view on the scenic Amalfi Coast.

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Scenic views and friendly staff.
Cons: Better instructions about parking.
Location: Amalfi is a beautiful quaint town on the scenic Amalfi coast - lots of stores with Italian character, a historic Catholic church, and beach activities
Hotel is clean and located within the beautiful town of Amalfi. Perched high above the street, the views of the town and sea beyond on the outside breakfast porch were superb. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good. Room was equally clean if somewhat basic, but with great views of the area. Parking is a challenge even as the hotel has a good arrangement with a local parking garage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Amazing hospitality, beautiful room

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Hospitality started before we arrived, continued throughout our stay and even after we left. Five Star service with an "at home" feel. This was our first trip to Italy. Before we arrived, the staff gave us precise directions on the best way to get to the hotel from Rome. During our stay, they treated us as family and insured each day was a great experience. After we left, they found an item we left behind. Luca promptly came up with a solution to have it sent to our next hotel in Naples. As far as the room, it was beautiful and included our own private terrace. I recommend the room called Aquamarine (rooms are named, not numbered) Luca, Nello and Luigi, thank you for a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Amalfi treasure

Posted Jul 2, 2015
My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay, great location, staff and clean rooms. Right off the main road of Amalfi, but up the hill a bit and away from the noise of the main square. Views from some of the rooms and the main balcony are beautiful. Luigi and Luca were extremely friendly and helpful. They had good suggestions for local trattorias and other attractions. We needed to checkout early and they actually started the breakfast early just so we could have breakfast before leaving. The breakfast was one of the best we had while in Italy and we looked forward to coming back to the hotel at night for a last glass of wine on the balcony before retiring for the night. There are a lot of steps leading up to the hotel but they have a lift for those who want it. We used the steps as part of our exercise each day. Only downside is that if you drive into town parking is $20 a day, but at least they have a garage option. Overall this was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our trip to Italy and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great little hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2015
We just stayed 6 nights at the Villa Lara hotel. The location was amazing and the terrace had the best view. What makes this place stand out is the staff and the service they provide. I felt like I was staying in someone's home. They always had a smile on their face and no request was ever too big. I've never stayed in a hotel where they welcome you back each evening with a beautiful glass of wine and insist you enjoy the beautiful view on the terrace. I would stay here again and again. Made my trip to the Amalfi Coast.
5 out of 5
by Kelli from San Francisco

Loved everything about Villa Lara!!

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location, just at the back of town. The hotel is lovely - rooms were nice and clean (with AC!) and the view from the terrace is stunning. The guys who run the place are a real hoot and very helpful. Overall, excellent experience and I hope to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Perfect little B&B

Posted May 19, 2015
We had the most wonderful stay at the Villa Lara! Staff was extremely friendly, welcoming, and always wanting to help and make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. The room was very clean and kept clean throughout our stay. Easy walk down into the center of town but far enough away for a quiet night and peaceful times out on the balconys (with incredible views!!). Would absolutely come back to this Villa!!
4 out of 5
by Marianne from Cardiff

Friendliest staff ever

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
Was a challenge driving up the road through the town to find the hotel but the directions were perfect , car park attendants were very helpful and the staff in Villa Lara were so lovely we really enjoyed our stay there. We were given great tips on where to go and where to eat. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was plentiful and the views from the terrace were amazing.
5 out of 5
by Ellen from Holmdel, NJ

A hotel with stunning view and great service

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel has stunning view of the harbor and the city. It's situated above the cliff, but easily accessible by taking the lift to the hotel. The lift is in a stone cave, a little dark and damp. We preferred taking the lift than taking the steps to the hotel. It's so relaxing to be sitting in the balcony to enjoy the tranquility, and at the same time, observing the life of the local people. The room was clean and the shower was great. The staff was really friendly and attentive. I will recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely return to stay at this hotel.