Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cute. Family run. Perfect place w great view

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We arrived a bit earlier than check in time and the son was so nice. He was super helpful in giving us train/bus schedule. Got us to our room right away. The place is older but quite original. With amazing view. 5mins from the bus stop. There's a local bus there (on the bar side) cost €1.20 that takes you up to Nocelle and you can hike up to Path of gods (sentiero degli dei). You can buy both bus ticket at tabachi in same corner. Breakfast was very home made. Cereal, cappuccinos were amazing, fruits, cake, ham and cheese, juice. It was like being served by granma. It was perfect. This felt like a true bed and breakfast. Entire family will treat you with smiles. (Stayed on Feb 2017)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Not bad experience with cold weather

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Close to the bus station, not bad view, and kind staff.
Cons: As I said above, the heater system should be improved.
Location: Not that far from the beach, generally good location
First, I really recommend to go to Positano in summer, not in winter. This hotel is not good to stay in winter, but I am sure in summer, this hotel would be great. No hot water(my neighbors might use all..?), cold restroom, and inefficient heater were problematic. However, in general, the staff of this villa was really kind and the breakfast also was pretty good.
4 out of 5
by Amy from Australia

Great little villa with a lovely host

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Villa Palumbo is at the top of the valley of Positano (the main town is at the bottom). The location is great for a couple of reasons, being that the bus stops very close to the villa and you don't have to travel far with your bags, and the views over the valley are fabulous. The downside is that there are a lot of steps down to town (and back up again!) - but at least you work off that gelato! The villa itself is nice and clean with a lovely terrace for those views. Antonio the manager is wonderful and kind, and we had a lovely stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Aus

Friendly staff and good location

Posted Jan 14, 2016
We stayed for one night in January when most places are not open but we still had an excellent stay. The staff were so friendly and we enjoyed breakfast in our room. I would love to go back in the warmer months and would happily stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to transport

Posted Jun 19, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at villa Palumbo. While it is some distance from central Positano, it is close to bus station at top of hill and very convenient. The hosts were great. There are a number of steps to negotiate if your room is on the lower level, but you should expect this in Positano.
5 out of 5
by Wally from Alaska

Great little B & B!!!

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels
Antonio & family operates a great little B & B that focuses on personalized service. Brought my wife and I breakfast every morning and we enjoyed starting the day on the balcony overlooking Positano. My Italian is really bad and I tried to ask Antonio what was the best way to get our heavy bags up to Sitabus. He said no problem...5 minutes. I thought he was going to have someone drop by. Instead, he lifted both of 50 pound bags and carried them 130 yards up a steep road to the station. He would not stop, kept saying, no problem! Would not accept a tip and again thanked us for staying with them. We never have met such a dedicated guy and one that offered such personalized service. Great place!!!! And it is only going to get better with their renovations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hospitality in a great location.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: It was quiet and in a good location.
Location: From the Villa we were able to easily walk down to restaurants and the beach area. We caught the ferry to Amalfi from the port and returned on the bus
Villa Palumbo is located only a few hundred metres down the road from the bus stop. It doesn't overlook the sea but has a great view from your personal balcony over the valley. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and the balcony a beautiful place to enjoy a simple but adequate breakfast. The walk down to the town and back up is not strenuous but if you want to take the internal bus there is a stop close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Great location on top of mountain side, 5 min walk downhill from bus stop on Sita line. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room opened up to an incredible view of the town. Very clean and nice. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed comfort

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels
Nice time!!! Very nice hosts! Parking in close facility was 18 Euro.
3 out of 5
by EE from Toronto

Nice balcony overlooking Positano

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels
This is a small hotel, an easy walk down the hill from where the SITA bus arrives on the main road. A bit confusing how to find it...the stairs are a shortcut. We had to ask but a woman walked us there. Rooms overlook the town in the valley and mountain, so no sea view. Staff don't speak much english but were friendly enough and seemed to be very honest people. The room and the bathroom are small and very basic, the shower curtain definitely needed replacing. Relative to value we had in Sorrento and even Capri it was a bit expensive for what you get, maybe the Positano effect. Breakfast was served on the balcony which was nice. No common areas. It is about a 15-20 minute walk down the stairs to the beach/main store area. No restaurants in immediate area, but we explored a few 100 meters away and found some good ones. We were much happier in the other surrounding towns on the Amalfi Penninsula.