Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great hotel in the center of town

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Wonderful little hotel on the piazza in the center of Amalfia. We had a lovely room overlooking the piazza. The staff was very accommating and the breakfast was the best of our stay in Italy. The hotel is very convenient to restaurants, shopping and the local buses. We would stay here again if we return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central hotel in Amalfi

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Perfect location, really nice room, very welcoming staff and great view
Cons: The toilet seat in our bathroom was broken
Location: Amalfi was stunning. We wish we were there longer to enjoy more of the walks and views
Really pleasantly surprised with very welcoming staff. We had a really nice double room that was spotless with a great view of the Cathedral directly opposite. Amalfi was stunning as expected but we were also very lucky with the opera that took place on the steps of the Cathedral to celebrate the 1st September and the beginning of the new fiscal and judicial year during the Byzantine era. There was plenty for breakfast that way ate on the terrace overlooking the Cathedral and busy Piazza. The only negative was the broken toilet seat that had a crack right through it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Amalfi Central

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location. Room was very comfortable.
Cons: Staff attitude.
Location: Easy access to everything buses, town, and restaurants,
Great location. Very comfortable room. Breakfast staff not so friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel smack bang in the centre

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Had a great stay here. Loved the location. Hotel is in an old house with stairs. Beautifully tiled hallways. Breakfast on top floor with verandah, great choice of foods. Staff is lovely, especially the young man originally from Bangladesh. (Sorry I forgot your name :() would definitely stay there again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kiama

Best ever view from hotel window

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Great English from Bangladeshi staff member. Tremendous view from room. Right in the heart of Amalfi. Close to public transport (bus & ferry).
Cons: Put in a lift (joke), otherwise all fine.
Location: Tremendous location. See above.
The hotel is right in the heart of the old town, but is a little difficult to find, because it is on top of another hotel, which in turn is on top of a row of shops. Our bedroom window faced onto the square, with a brilliant view across to the duomo. It is 2 flights of stairs up to the front door of the hotel, and another two up to our room, so take your stair climbing legs and light luggage. Breakfast is one floor up again, with a similarly great view across the square. A short walk takes you to the bus station, from which you have access to all the surrounding towns, rural walks and major sights. Amalfi itself is worth a good look.
5 out of 5
by Leonard

Friendly, efficient, comfortable hotel.

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service from very friendly and efficient owners and staff. Nice comfortable room directly overlooking Amalfi Cathedral. Nice but bijou balcony for people watching from. Only one pillow each when we are used to having two, but this was soon remedied. The usual continental style breakfast was served on the room terrace; great views of the square if you got the right table - not a problem when we were there. Only downside is an Amalfi problem, not a Hotel Centrale one. The cathedral bells ring every 15 minutes throughout the day and seem to start pretty early when you're trying to have a holiday lie-in. The major one though are the noisy people who decide to shout and sing as they make their way past the hotel at any, and I do mean ANY time of the night. What with that and the refuse collection noise apparently in the middle of the night can make for a broken night's sleep. Take some earplugs, it may help. Overall, had a wonderful trip and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Angel

Extraordinary view of cathedral,

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Good price-quality relationship. Magnificent view, centrally located. Excellent breakfast and service. Only a bit noisy due to its location and with too many stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted May 6, 2017
Nice hotel, clean washroom. Good breakfast in the morning. Location is really good- right across from the amalfi carhedral and minutes from the beach/shore. However, it was very loud early in the mornings.
5 out of 5
by kiame

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Centrally located but rather difficult to find! the whole town is amazingly non handicap friendly, and it would be almost impossible to use this hotel with a wheel chair. For us and our active teens, the hotel's warmth and simplicity was a boon. Rooms are small but all newly renovated. Breakfast was a luxurious treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newtown, PA

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Staff was excellent and so helpful in our day tripping. Location was great too.
Cons: Can't be helped but the noise in the square was a little much. The concrete truck the one night was not so good but again can't be helped!
Location: Amalfi Coast - enough said. The roads were so twisty over the mountains and around the coastline. Would definitely bus the next time!
- great location - a little dated but quaint and clean - staff was excellent and very helpful - great breakfast overlooking the square and a sliver of the water - lots of steps so pack light!