Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice central location

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: We have no complaints about the hotel and really enjoyed our short stay there.
Cons: Wi-fi a bit hit and miss.
Location: Plenty of restaurants in the vicinity,close to public transport and ferries.
As many others will probably say,the steps leading up to the hotel are quite challenging,however don’t let this put you off,if you have any disabilities or mobility issues this place is not for you.Now regarding the place itself,both my wife and I really enjoyed our 3 day stay at the hotel,our room had a balcony with sea views,the beds were very comfortable and the morning breakfast on the roof terrace a bonus with a good selection of conitinental goodies.On the day of our checkout the girl on the reception asked us if we would like our bags carried down the stairs for a nominal cost of 5 Euros. You could also make arrangement to have your luggage carried up to your room on arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Removed from direct piazza, but a view of the ocean.
Cons: Nothing, be prepared to climb stairs. Not that bad if you are fit. If not- skip this hotel for this trip and shape up for next time.
Location: You will not be bored!
This is a hidden gem in a great coastal city. One block from the ferries to Capri and other coastal cities. In October it was warm and not crowded with tourists, except when the cruise ships were docked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Solihull, UK

Very small hotel (12 rooms) 100 steps from port.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Generally very well decorated. Superb views of Amalfi and the sea. Lovely staff.
Cons: Our bathroom had a whirlpool bath and multi-jet shower both of which were starting to fall apart!
Location: Perfect for exploring Amalfi and for bus and/or boat connections to the rest of the Amalfi Coast. I don't think there was any parking nearby.
Lovely, tiny hotel with very few facilities. Not for someone who wants 5 star facilities, but perfect for those who want more individuality. It's a long climb up from the port and you will have to carry your own bags!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but...

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Nice tiles on the floors!
Cons: Functional wifi in rooms, better security, a safe in the room.
Location: The location is very good. 77 steps to the reception area so prepare yourself if you are going to arrive with more than one piece of luggage.
The hotel was ok, at best. The location was fine because it was central, but while our room faced the ocean, over the main street, you could not see it because it was blocked by another building (It's not one of the photos we saw on websites. Just the luck of the draw). The terrace photo they show is one floor up. The issue was the noise. TRAFFIC. I had just stayed at another BnB 50 stairs below and it faced the Piazza dei Dogi and that was quiet. The other issue was the internet. First: none in the rooms. Second, only in common area which means the terrace, so forget having a private WhatsApp call without an audience. Third: it's not very strong wifi. This is 2017. When a hotel claims to offer free wifi, they should provide wifi in their rooms and it should work. The hand/shoulder 'What can you do' shrug is not compensation for misrepresentation of amenities offered. The rooms are ok. The most basic of amenities: soap and a pouch of shampoo/bodywash (which we all know isn't really shampoo). But it is clean. One final thing. There was no safe in our room and the room was accessed not through the hotel lobby, but directly from the outside. So we did not feel safe leaving any of our documents there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, average hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is in the best location of Amalfi. However, the rooms are very small and the decor is outdated
4 out of 5
by Jenaya

Great location!!!

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great hotel and an amazing experience staying in Amalfi. The hotel is in the best location in the heart of the city. Hotel room was clean and we had a nice view of the harbor from our bedroom and bathroom window. Only downside was that we could not get wifi signal in the room, but that is because we had the one room that was furthest from the main lobby. So we just brought our computer up to the main balcony and used the wifi signal from there, which wasn't a bad view :) This hotel is also close to our favorite restaurant in Amalfi, which is the first restaurant on the right side at the bottom of the steps that you take up to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Nice well-run small hotel. Good buffet breakfast - great views on the sea - multi-lingual staff. Not all rooms have a balcony. Should know - 77 step claim to the hotel. Can hire helpers at 5 euros a suitcase - worth it going upstairs. Great restaurants in town - beautiful cathedral. Buses can be packed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to go back.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful Amalfi. This hotel is right in the center. Room had exceptional view of Almafi harbor. Room was clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but elegant, especially the lovely outdoor deck. One caution, Amalfi is built on the hills. When you arrive at the address it is straight up from the main street. Minimum of 75 steps walking to get to this lovely get-away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne , Australia

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent view from window . However could not sleep with windows open, too much traffic noise from street below. Must have strong legs, it is 77 steps to hotel entrance