Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Tremendous views

Posted Sep 17, 2017
They take great care of you at this hotel. Very high quality everywhere you turn. And close to town as well. Combined with the great views, you can't beat it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fab hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Beautiful location and views. Fab staff. Just needs a few details taken care - e.g. Shower needs more power, watch for parking charges but we had a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Salvatore Trani, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and letting us have your feedback. It is great to know that you loved our Hotel and Staff and your stay has been overall satisfactory. I also would like to thank you for your suggestions that are truly important to us in order to improve our service and grant unforgettable stays where each detail is taken care of. I look forwards to welcoming you back, Arrivederci!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Fabulous views

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very friendly staff in an incredible hotel! Small but perfect! Best view....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Salvatore Trani, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and for your beautiful words. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the stunning view that makes our NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi a unique place, truly hard to find anywhere else. Hopefully you will visit us again! Best Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Lovely but overpriced

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Lovely property in a stunning setting, but it was a very small room, with no amenities such as water at bedside or high-end bedding and mattress, not to mention the walls didn't eliminate hallway and other nighttime guest noises (ick). At $1,300 a night I expected more. Staff members were very nice, even during a very busy holiday weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Salvatore Trani, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all thank you for sharing your feedback and letting us know about your stay with us. I am sorry that you were not convinced by your stay here at the NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi as it is not our custom to let down our Guests. I truly hope that you will visit us again so we can recover for this first impression and grant you an Extraordinary Experience as in the NH Collection style! Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Amazing hotel and views

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel and staff are fantastic. We initially had an issue with our check in, but the staff quickly engaged and upgraded our stay. Manger Antonio and Gaetano were fabulous. The staff at the hotel is first rate across the aboard, and were incredibly helpful during our stay. They had great suggestions for day trips, dinner reservations and more. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are impressive with well groomed gardens and terraces. The views of Amalfi from this historical convent (now hotel) are post card perfect and the infinity pool is amazing. A special place for a vacation and we look forward to staying there again on our next visit. It was hard to leave this special place. Thank you NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Salvatore Trani, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for this beautiful review. I am really pleased to know we were able to deliver a satisfactory stay and that you have loved so meny things about our Hotel! For sure it has been a pleasure for us to make sure you felt welcome and to help you discover and experience all the best of Amalfi. Looking forwards to welcoming you back. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury at its best

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Walk to the pool, dinning area, old monk grounds and temple.
We spent two night of our honeymoon at Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi. The location is somewhat weird. You enter at the entrance of a very busy street tunnel. Once you take the lift to the reception area it all makes sense and wow is this a cool venue to stay at. We did not dine at the restaurant for dinner but the breakfast is one of the best spreads I have ever seen. The pool area is small and quiet. The suite had a low bed which we are not fans of but it was very comfortable. I was hoping for a terrace but the large panoramic window was nice enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Salvatore Trani, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all thank you for your feedback which essential for us to keep improving our service. I am extremely happy to know that you have had a lovely stay with us, in particular considering that you were here on your honeymoon! The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi is indeed a unique place for a vacation on the Amalfi Coast, offering a perfect mix of beauty and history. I hope that you will be back soon! Best Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Customer service.
Location: Great location. Nearby, Furore beach, Positano, and few grottos.
Hotel restaurant, consider by them restaurant, because was breakfast for all the guest in the morning, and transform restaurant at night, with about 20 tables more or less on the patio, I stop one night after a dinner on the village, and I said, let me stop with my wife, to my hotel on the patio with nice view to the sea and the village, to have a cappuccino and a soft drink, or dessert, and maybe more. After we got seat it at the table by a stuff member, same guy ask us to move to the bar tables witch were several tables down on the same patio, because we don't serve dinner, all patio its transform in restaurant and bar called, we just few people on the tables, maybe 5 tables with people, in few minutes he came back with a reservation list, and I saw not many people booked for this restaurant, anyway. After I said I stay in this hotel and I don't serve and dinner, he finally served us, but the service was bad, not come to pour the drinks into the glasses anymore, not expect for me, but for my wife, they have a lady at the table. Service very disappointed for a 5 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Salvatore Trani, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback and letting us know about your stay at the NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi. I am sorry to hear that you were left disappointed by our service as we are usually very attentive about making our Guests feel welcome and taking care of all needs. Since you loved the location, I hope you decide to come back so we can recover from this first impression by delivering you a fully satisfactory stay. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
by Heather

Lovely

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, beautiful location. Service was impeccable and the room gorgeous. We enjoyed a view of the water.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

amazing and full of history

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is an amazing hotel built into the cliff in an old covent. It's an unimaginatively beautiful setting. The service staff in the dining area was very awesome. The shuttle to town (not a far walk at all, but not on a street I'd want to walk for safety reasons) was not so reliable. Our room also smelled like dead fish, and none of the rest of the hotel smelled that way, so I had to think we got something gross left in the room that wasn't found. Despite this, I would stay again. It was lovely. One of our favorite things was the infinity pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with magnificent views

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here in 91 and 99 when it was a very special place but very very faded. It's lovely to see that such a very lovely place has been restored to its former glory so that it can be enjoyed for many years to come.