Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

One of the finest hotels in the world.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
The Santa Caterina in Amalfi is 5 Star in every respect that starts when you pull up to the hotel. The staff is outstanding. The hotel is outstanding. The views are breath taking. The breakfasts are among the best in the world. The restaurant is also 5 Star. The service is 5 Star. The rooms are 5 Star. The hotel is always renovated in the off season and refreshed for the next season. This is one of the finest hotel experiences you will encounter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

LOVELY HOTEL

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Staff was overall excellent, and attentive.
Cons: The chef needs to have a review of his breakfast staff making the eggs, and the overall food was lackluster.
We just returned from our ALMAFI coast trip, and we stayed at the Santa Caterina for 6 nights. The hotel is set atop of the beautiful Amalfi coast, and a 10-15 minute walk from the town of Amalfi. The walk during the day can be a bit hair raising as the road is barrow and full of cars. The staff at the hotel is excellent and very attentive. The restaurant staff is excellent; however the food gets mixed reviews. The breakfast that was included is average, nothing that you could say was superb, and some items , such as the eggs (whether fried or omelette) are mediocre at best. Our dinner the first night was poor, but our dinner the third night was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional Stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location!!!
Location: Highly recommend the Le Vigne di Raito wine tour. http://www.levignediraito.com. You'll leave feeling like a member of the family.
Hotel staff are welcoming, engaging and totally customer focused. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful location or more amazing views. Time seemed to both stand still and fly by all at the same time because the staff made our stay so effortless. It's not inexpensive to stay here ,but worth every bit. We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for the very kind words that have been highly appreciated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Beautiful setting and nice hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Overall great experience at the Santa Catarina. The location and outdoor setting were perfect. The room was very clean but the sheets were hard. The staff was very attentive but we got the feeling that they were looking for tips. It seemed that each staff member helped with only part of a task and then another staff member would take over. It would be very expensive to tip everyone, so it felt uncomfortable. It may have been helpful if the hotel made a statement about the tipping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for the very kind feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Awesome stay

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Hotel is absolutely fabulous with beautiful views of the sea, manicured grounds and a patio jutting out into the water. The room was well done where we slept well. Food was tasty. Location is near the city center -10-15 min walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for very kind words
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great amalfi experience

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Positive and friendly attitude all around
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walk a kilometer to Amalfi town..take a taxi/bus to Ravello..take a boat to positano or Capri..
Basking in the sun by the sea..beautiful people,food,wine, and a great vibe..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Andrew, Hotel Management
thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the time to describe your experience in such detail. We are so pleased you had a lovely time with us...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely nice hotel with wonderful service.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel is perfectly set on a cliff near town with breathtaking views. The service is impeccable and there are many extras like a shuttle, fruit and cookies in your room, sun deck chairs and snorkeling gear that you don't have to pay extra for. It is very very pricey though and we didn't like the sheets on the bed.
5 out of 5
by Osvaldo

Not so slumming near Rome.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
What a wonderful place and experience. Gorgeous grounds with incredible pools, spas, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel near the center kf everything

Posted May 11, 2017
Breakfast was amazing- smoked salmon, local cheeses, etc. staff was more than accomodating and resourseful regarding local activities/landmarks etc. would stay here again hiven the opportunity cant say enough great things!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017 on Wotif
Wonderful hotel with outstanding location and service