Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Gorgeous Villa in a Amalfi - a MUST stay!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The view from the terrace is gorgeous, it's a quick walk to the center of Amalfi, the staff is incredibly nice, helpful and accommodating.
Cons: Nothing, this was the best place for us to stay during our time in Amalfi!
Location: A quick 5 minute walk from the Piazza, the villa is set on a hill way high up. On the way, guests can shop, dine and embrace the Italian culture
I couldn't imagine a better place to stay in Amalfi. A gorgeous, authentic villa set on a hill just north of the main Piazza in Amalfi -- offering sweeping views of the town and Sea. The limited number of rooms gives guests a more intimate stay, it doesn't feel like a loud, noisy hotel like most places. Having the complimentary breakfast on the terrace and overlooking the Coast felt like a dream come true. There really aren't words to describe how peaceful it feels to be set back just a little bit from the town and the commotion (not that Amalfi is a loud, rambunctious place - however, you feel completely zen when you're not in the middle of it all but you're a 5 minute walk from everything). The staff is incredibly helpful and will offer assistance when planning your time on the Coast. From arranging a boat tour to Capri, providing maps to organizing a car to take you to the Naples airport -- the staff KNOWS how to treat their guests like royalty. I would highly recommend anyone and everyone traveling to Amalfi to stay at Villa Lara. Staying here made my experience on the Coast ten times better and I couldn't have imagined lodging anywhere else for four nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Excellent quiet hotel near the center of town

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: It was conveniently located for visting the Amalfi coast
The hotel was perfect for a restful vacation - nice room, clean, quiet, great staff, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NOLA

elegant, quiet but near everything, amazing view!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: location, view, staff
Location: it is close to everything but not in the busy tourist area
Our stay in Amalfi couldn't have been better thanks to the helpful staff at Villa Lara. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Our breakfast view of the entire town, the hills and the ocean made a great start for each day. The location is ideal - close enough to everything you need but quiet and past the tourist area. It is also close to the paper museum which is a must see.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Amalfi's little jewell.

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Tucked away just a short walk from the main street in Amalfi over looking the town is this charming, comfortable jewell. From the moment you step through the door, you are made welcome. Our room, the junior suite, beautifully appointed with a sunken jacuzzi bath in the room. The view from the balcony is just amazing as is the view from the breakfast room and terrace. Our stay in Amalfi was made even more special by the helpful and charming staff at Villa Lara.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire UK

Simple yet elegent with friendly helpful staff.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Cons: Beware, if you arive by car, it requires a drive through the zona pedonale, then parking in a nearby garage at 20 euros a day.
Well worth the walk uphill for the view and to escape the madding crowd in town. Don't be worried that the house is high above the road, there is a lift inside the terraced garden. This place is typically Italian. Simple but well appointed rooms, a lovely lounge and breezy terraces. The accomodation is very clean and well cared for with comfortable beds and a good breakfast. The staff are all jolly with a good sense of humour, friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vanouver BC

Posted Oct 23, 2015
It was a pleasant stay and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view on the scenic Amalfi Coast.

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Scenic views and friendly staff.
Cons: Better instructions about parking.
Location: Amalfi is a beautiful quaint town on the scenic Amalfi coast - lots of stores with Italian character, a historic Catholic church, and beach activities
Hotel is clean and located within the beautiful town of Amalfi. Perched high above the street, the views of the town and sea beyond on the outside breakfast porch were superb. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good. Room was equally clean if somewhat basic, but with great views of the area. Parking is a challenge even as the hotel has a good arrangement with a local parking garage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Amazing hospitality, beautiful room

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Hospitality started before we arrived, continued throughout our stay and even after we left. Five Star service with an "at home" feel. This was our first trip to Italy. Before we arrived, the staff gave us precise directions on the best way to get to the hotel from Rome. During our stay, they treated us as family and insured each day was a great experience. After we left, they found an item we left behind. Luca promptly came up with a solution to have it sent to our next hotel in Naples. As far as the room, it was beautiful and included our own private terrace. I recommend the room called Aquamarine (rooms are named, not numbered) Luca, Nello and Luigi, thank you for a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Amalfi treasure

Posted Jul 2, 2015
My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay, great location, staff and clean rooms. Right off the main road of Amalfi, but up the hill a bit and away from the noise of the main square. Views from some of the rooms and the main balcony are beautiful. Luigi and Luca were extremely friendly and helpful. They had good suggestions for local trattorias and other attractions. We needed to checkout early and they actually started the breakfast early just so we could have breakfast before leaving. The breakfast was one of the best we had while in Italy and we looked forward to coming back to the hotel at night for a last glass of wine on the balcony before retiring for the night. There are a lot of steps leading up to the hotel but they have a lift for those who want it. We used the steps as part of our exercise each day. Only downside is that if you drive into town parking is $20 a day, but at least they have a garage option. Overall this was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our trip to Italy and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great little hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2015
We just stayed 6 nights at the Villa Lara hotel. The location was amazing and the terrace had the best view. What makes this place stand out is the staff and the service they provide. I felt like I was staying in someone's home. They always had a smile on their face and no request was ever too big. I've never stayed in a hotel where they welcome you back each evening with a beautiful glass of wine and insist you enjoy the beautiful view on the terrace. I would stay here again and again. Made my trip to the Amalfi Coast.