Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Secluded hotel to relax

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Secluded, friendly staff.
Location: About a mile from downtown Amalfi, need a bus or cab to get to town.
The hotel was a great place to end our honeymoon. It was about a mile from the center of Amalfi, so away from all the action, but close enough to get to on a short bus/cab trip. It was secluded and quiet, great for relaxing. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The private "beach" was nice to to have our own place to lay in the sun and get in the water away from the general public.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Luisa Criscuolo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your staying with us and that you appreciated our facilities and our staff. Hope to have you as guests in the future again, Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by patricia

Pure peaceful rest

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing. When we got there someone was ready to carry our bags down to the hotel. Then we were greeted with a refreshing drink and snack. After checking in it was now after 3 PM so the local kitchens where closed till 7pm. Luisa made us a fabulous caprese salad and served it with two glasses of wine. It put us right into the vacation mode. The resort is very peaceful and the staff are extremely attentive to your needs. We went there to get away from all of the heavy tourist areas and just rest and this place delivered. If you do not like stairs to the street or water then this place is not for you. All the tourist buses were going into town which is a short walk down the road but we did not bother.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Mrs Patricia, Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Detroit

Amalfi Coast + Santa Maria Villa = Stunning

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
So the Santa Maria was in a great spot. Not too close to Amalfi - to be bothered by traffic and city noise - and the views were fantastic. Cute, quaint little room that was just enough for two people on their Honeymoon. The ONLY major draw back -- the amount of stairs. Not just to get from street level to the lobby, but even to the hot tub / sauna / coast line. Probably just a nature of the location, but definitely took us by surprise. MAKE CERTAIN you can handle walking and alot of stairs. If you can, this place was great. The service / staff were great and informative. Also, two little restaurants were right up the street so didn't have to venture too far to get a good meal. Ah... and forgot to mention, yes, the stairs were intense but there was a "bell hop" who grabbed our bags and brought them down and up when we arrived and when we left (he even parked our rental car in a safe spot too!). TIP THAT MAN. They say don't tip in Italy, but he handled two 50lb+ bags on 75+ steps like they were grocery bags. Awesome.
5 out of 5
by Huw from Caernarfon, Wales, UK

Brilliant

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Had a brilliant time staying at this hotel, about 2 miles outside of the centre of Amalfi. Luisa, the hotel manager, was great and gave us great tips on places to go, where to eat, bus times etc - she really made a difference in our stay. The hotel itself is in a great location, a bus stop right outside and Amalfi well within walking distance. Not suitable for the immobile as there are many stairs to climb. Would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Superb!

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: The breakfast is great, one of the best that I've ever had. Accommodations are fine also. There is a "private beach" and many perks, jaccuzzi.
Cons: The only thing I would warn is to people with locomotion problems that there is a long and steep stair to reach the house.
Location: Amalfi is a paradise with zillions of places and thinks to do. You can take a ferry and visit Capri for a day or drive around to Positano, etc.
The hotel is in fact a country house. You feel like home and the staff is incredible friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a quiet and charming place and very close to Amalfi as well look no more. I think it would be perfect for a honeymoon. Rent a small car better convertible and you are close to incredible locations and other small cities like Positano, Ravello, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel close to Amalfi center.

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Our room has no window:-(
Difficult to find. Too many steps. Less facility if it rains.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but location a little remote

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is far from amalfi. If you stay here I definitely recommend a car. We parked along the side of the road. There are many steps down to the hotel so if you have difficulty with steps I wouldn't advise staying here. There was a porter who brought our bags down when we checked in and carried everything up when we left. We could not have done without him. Our room was extremely small but it was clean. The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful we walked down to the little deck and had a swim. The water is crystal clear. Again many steps down to the water!! The views are breathtaking. Breakfast was ok croissants and coffee, cheese, fruit etc. Hotel staff was nice. I probably wouldn't stay here again because of its location but if you want somewhere quiet and relaxing this is it.
5 out of 5
by Upstater from Binghamton, New York

Very helpful staff, newly renovated, amazing views

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
Amazing views, great staff, clean newly renovated rooms. The location is about a 20 minute walk to Amalfi. There is also easy bus and taxi service available. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. They serve a great breakfast with a large variety of foods. Very happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
by Kash from London

Nice boutique villa

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
This is a secluded guest house with beautiful and scenic surroundings and access to a private beach. Access is via a long staircase great for exercising but not suited for everybody. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The staff are friendly and attentive during the day but non existent after 6pm if you need anything. Breakfast was a delight. Town centre was around 35 mins along the coast or 10 mins by bus from right outside the guest house. Overall a nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Kristina

Fantastiskt hotell och underbar personal!

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastisk service från personalen. Underbart läge med en otrolig utsikt och härliga terasser. Bl.a. fick vi skjuts till byn av ägaren. Längtar tillbaka!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Ms Kristina, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your staying with us. We hope to have you as guests again in the future, Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager