Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Nice private beach area

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Our stay at this place was not terrible by any means. The staff was great, and the porter was excellent. There are Only two things that I didn't like about this place. The first is that there are way too many steps that you have to take to get to the resort. I counted 156 from the street to the reception desk. Over 300 additional steps from the reception desk to the water. Also the room wasn't what we expected from the pictures. It was right beside the check in area, and not as private as it seems from the pictures. I wouldn't stay here again personally, but don't let that take away from future business. It was a really nice resort, but just a hassle to get around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Luisa Criscuolo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the complaints about the steps because on the listing and on our website it is specified how many steps there are to arrive at the reception, and also the day you booked the room, we sent email through Expedia where we specified the number of steps and that we did not have parking. Regarding the room, you have booked a deluxe double room and we have assigned you one of the 2 deluxe rooms that we have that is close to the reception with has a small outdoor area just for you with a view of the garden and the sea. Thanks for the compliments about the staff. Best regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by justin

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel with great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experince with other potential guests. We'd love to have you as guests in the future again. Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Secluded hotel to relax

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Secluded, friendly staff.
Location: About a mile from downtown Amalfi, need a bus or cab to get to town.
The hotel was a great place to end our honeymoon. It was about a mile from the center of Amalfi, so away from all the action, but close enough to get to on a short bus/cab trip. It was secluded and quiet, great for relaxing. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The private "beach" was nice to to have our own place to lay in the sun and get in the water away from the general public.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Luisa Criscuolo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your staying with us and that you appreciated our facilities and our staff. Hope to have you as guests in the future again, Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Secluded villa perfect for relaxation

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Wotif
Perfect Perfect Perfect. After 5 days sightseeing in Rome and Pompeii, this place was perfect for relaxing. We started with complimentary drinks by the sun lounge with panoramic views of Amalfi Coast. Then we went to our private beach with towels, showers, lounge chairs all provided. We finished the day with a boat ride to the best restaurant called Da Teresa. The next day we had buffet breakfast on the terrace. A porter helped us with our luggage up the 140 steps to our car. Yes there are 140 steps to the villa and 300 steps to the beach and boat ramp but this information is all provided to you prior to your booking and should not be a surprise to anyone who decides to stay here. The steps are worth the view. Yes it is secluded and not near the city centre but that is why it is a luxury. Our last hotel was full of young drinks so we were so happy to be in a quiet place. Thank you to the exceptional staff for the best place I have ever stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by luisacriscuolo, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Emma, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your staying with us. Thanks again for the compliments about our staff, we try to do our best in order to grant to our guests the best experience ever. Hope to have you as guests again in the future, Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo - Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware the stairs

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel but beware there are a lot of steps. If you're driving to it, parking is only on the road and you are in danger of having your car clipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to receive complaints about stairs and parking since everything is specificated at the moment of the booking. Nonetheless we thank you for your time sharing your experience, Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by jolanda

Amalfi coast gem

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great place for a quiet and secluded stay on the busy Amalfi coast. Difficult to find with lots of steps down and up but once there, it's beautiful. Especially the " beach" direct on the water for great swimming and boat pick ups to go to waterfront restaurants. A great alternative to a larger hotel stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Mrs Jolanda, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your staying with us. We hope to have you as guests again in the future. Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by patricia

Pure peaceful rest

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing. When we got there someone was ready to carry our bags down to the hotel. Then we were greeted with a refreshing drink and snack. After checking in it was now after 3 PM so the local kitchens where closed till 7pm. Luisa made us a fabulous caprese salad and served it with two glasses of wine. It put us right into the vacation mode. The resort is very peaceful and the staff are extremely attentive to your needs. We went there to get away from all of the heavy tourist areas and just rest and this place delivered. If you do not like stairs to the street or water then this place is not for you. All the tourist buses were going into town which is a short walk down the road but we did not bother.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Mrs Patricia, Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Luisa Criscuolo Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Detroit

Amalfi Coast + Santa Maria Villa = Stunning

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
So the Santa Maria was in a great spot. Not too close to Amalfi - to be bothered by traffic and city noise - and the views were fantastic. Cute, quaint little room that was just enough for two people on their Honeymoon. The ONLY major draw back -- the amount of stairs. Not just to get from street level to the lobby, but even to the hot tub / sauna / coast line. Probably just a nature of the location, but definitely took us by surprise. MAKE CERTAIN you can handle walking and alot of stairs. If you can, this place was great. The service / staff were great and informative. Also, two little restaurants were right up the street so didn't have to venture too far to get a good meal. Ah... and forgot to mention, yes, the stairs were intense but there was a "bell hop" who grabbed our bags and brought them down and up when we arrived and when we left (he even parked our rental car in a safe spot too!). TIP THAT MAN. They say don't tip in Italy, but he handled two 50lb+ bags on 75+ steps like they were grocery bags. Awesome.
5 out of 5
by Huw from Caernarfon, Wales, UK

Brilliant

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Had a brilliant time staying at this hotel, about 2 miles outside of the centre of Amalfi. Luisa, the hotel manager, was great and gave us great tips on places to go, where to eat, bus times etc - she really made a difference in our stay. The hotel itself is in a great location, a bus stop right outside and Amalfi well within walking distance. Not suitable for the immobile as there are many stairs to climb. Would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Superb!

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: The breakfast is great, one of the best that I've ever had. Accommodations are fine also. There is a "private beach" and many perks, jaccuzzi.
Cons: The only thing I would warn is to people with locomotion problems that there is a long and steep stair to reach the house.
Location: Amalfi is a paradise with zillions of places and thinks to do. You can take a ferry and visit Capri for a day or drive around to Positano, etc.
The hotel is in fact a country house. You feel like home and the staff is incredible friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a quiet and charming place and very close to Amalfi as well look no more. I think it would be perfect for a honeymoon. Rent a small car better convertible and you are close to incredible locations and other small cities like Positano, Ravello, etc.