Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel with incredible restaurant.

Posted May 8, 2017
Location: The hotel is steps away from the ancient bridge and the village that both straddle the Tomega River in the Duoro Valley of Portugal.
From the moment we arrived, after our GPS stressed us out by failing to get us to the right place, the staff stepped in and took care of us. The orderly, calm attention was just what we needed. It did not end at our reception, but continued during our short stay. The location is fabulous, overlooking the ancient bridge and picturesque town on the river. The room is spacious and has all the comforts one could want. And the Michelin restaurant was fantastic--what a great dining experience. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East, England

Cannot fault anything about this hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The position in the town overlooking the River Tamega. The cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general. The food. Attentive helpful staff
Location: The hotel overlooks the River Tamega in Amarante. Nearby bridge takes you over to the Sao Goncalo church. Walking distance into town with shops
We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by helpful and friendly staff who spoke perfect English. Yhey assisted with parking the car in the extensive grounds. A delightful stay for 3 nights where on one night we ate in the Micehlin starred restaurant. This was to my taste but not to my husband's as he prefers traditional plain food. I thoroughly enjoyed the amuse bouche that came with our meal and the flavours were awesome, especially the oxtail truffles presented with gold leaf on the top. Our executive room was large and scrupulously clean. All members of staff were attentivewhich enhanced the htoel experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely property and I am sure we were lucky enough to to get the best room with a grand balcony. It rained during most of our stay so we were unable to utilize it and fortunately. The room is large but a little bit shabby. The carpets could be redone and a few things freshened up in the room without compromising the intentional Baroque feel of the entire building. The breakfast was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Paula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carole Anne from Sarasota

Great experiences always call you back.

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Second time here, knew it was going to be an excellent experience. Dinner was a fantastic experience! Can't wait to go back !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in a very nice town

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Room was wonderful and parking is very good and all staff encountered very helpful. Only problem appears to be at management level.
Cons: Hotel guests should have the ability to book dinner in the Hotel Dining room up to at least 3:30PM or should be warned that advance booking is require
Hotel is very difficult to access as we had trouble with the co-ordinates. We went up and down the highway trying to find access. Found only when we asked a local restaurant owner about how to find the hotel and his wife kindly offered to lead us to the hotel in her car. Disappointed that at check-in at 1:00PM to find that it was impossible to make a reservation for dinner that evening. They did recommend a very nice restaurant about 300 feet from the hotel. Also surprised to find that hotel had closed the pool the week before our visit on September 20th, although the 20th was mid 20C, but a maid kindly found us some pads for chairs and some towels and we were able to sit by pool, which is lovely. Would suggest a solar blanket or heater for the pool to extend season to at least end of September.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alikerim

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Top notch. Nothing to say. Öne of the best Hotels i stayed in
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb food and wonderful old building, BUT.

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant hotel in wonderful old building but rather dark and dowdy. Would benefit from lighter colour scheme and lighter furnishings Comfortable bedroom but hot. A/C was very noisy and even when turned off there was a hum from somewhere else. The restaurant food is fantastically good - worth two Michelin stars, but the dining room is disappointing. In such a great old building, you would expect they could find a grand room to compliment the chef. Breakfast was good, and service helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

elegant hotel in a lovely spot

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: decor, quietness, setting and location, colourful, elegant place
Location: Amarante a nice town not too far from Porto and Douro Valley for wine tours
My family of 6 booked this gorgeous historic manor hotel for a great price on Expedia.ca in Amarante, Portugal because we wanted to try the Michelin starred restaurant there, Largo do Paco, which was an interesting experience--they had very creative presentation of innovative food, and best dessert courses ever. A little expensive for Portugal but a fun dinner for a nice treat. Hotel was truly lovely, calm, quiet, historically faithful with gorgeous antiques and colourful spaces and the breakfast was superb. Casa da Calcada is a Relais and Chateau property so has high standards to maintain. It was very nice and we did enjoy our stay, however I did not feel it was miles better than other pousadas or nice hotels I have stayed at in Portugal during this trip.