Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Everything was perfect. Service, comfort, people, food and the landscape are among the top qualities of this place. The architecture is fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Juan Andres from Ivory Coast & Spain

U must to know it

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Excelent
4 out of 5
by Altin from Boston

An overall good experience

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
This is not a five star resort, keep in mind, but a converted monastery. Really enjoyed the history attached and walking around the courtyard gave you a sense of the life two hundred years ago. Beautiful grounds. We were there in September so were surrounded by orange, fig, quince and chestnut trees. It appears they were decorative as fruit was allowed to drop on the ground rather than harvested. Mattress could be better, maybe use a mattress topper. Restaurant food was mediocre, I would certainly go for the daily special as that could be something fresh (I had a veal shoulder chop that was actually quite good). It is a very large menu and often for me this means plenty of frozen stuff. Breakfast was decent although nothing special. Overall a good experience.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Melbourne Australia

Relaxing

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
We got here late in the afternoon after a long drive and were made feel very welcome. Room was fantastic with a view to the hills. If you are looking for a place to chillout or use as a base for all the walks in Geres Park I would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Melbourne Australia

Chillout.

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to unwind.
5 out of 5
by Crystal from Lakewood, CA

Medieval Monastery Near Peneda-Geres National Park

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is situated in a remodeled medieval monastery. It is absolutely gorgeous. Plus the food offered in the restaurant is delicious and comprised of local cuisine. In addition, this hotel is a quick drive from the Peneda-Geres National Park.
5 out of 5
by Eduardo from Tokyo, Japan

Magical place!!!

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
Unique experience in the world!!!
5 out of 5
by Bernice Kotze from Cape Town

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful surprize Coming from Cape Town to experience such a piece of ancient well preserved heritage A highlite of all our travels
4 out of 5
by maria from london

Great views and amazing historic building

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice and unusual setting - inside the old monastery. All original features are well preserved, such as old kitchen table in the dining room, huge fireplace, etc. Amazing views of the hills and countyside! Very kind and attentive service. Rooms are a bit small though, which is understandable, giving the location. But they could be better appointed, for example it was quite uncomfortable to use the bathroom, because to open the door you had to close the wardrobe and vice versa...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exquisite hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: Great views, beautiful gardens with pool
Cons: Can be difficult to find
Location: Beautiful
I really enjoyed my stay at this historic monastery hotel. Exquisite setting with mountain views. The hotel restaurant is superb.