Ratings based on 973 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tulsa

Fraudulent advertising

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff which was 1 person in the whole hotel was nice and tried The two the next morning were friendly and helpful
Cons: Start over Wyndham needs to get their name off of it and put motel 4 on it cause motel 6 is a lot better.
This Is rated a 3 star hotel. In their dreams. We were arriving late so had to pay in advance being a Wyndham hotel I am thinking great we were on our way for a funeral and had a little time to relax. Not the case when we arrive there is a nice person who is behind a computer with a portable air conditioner behind her with a exhaust hose coming out of the ceiling. Needless to say we go to our room which was not bad except the air wouldn't work so we had to move that was no better in the next room. 130am by now so we did our best I called Expedia and they did refund my money. But their was no kitchen no anything. This whole hotel is a lie. The pictures must have been photo shopped on expedias website. If I was Wyndham hotels and my name was on this place I would be be getting involved.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pool and hot tub were broken. Restaurant was not open. Air conditioning in lobby was broken, so regular breakfast was not offered. A replacement breakfast (mini donuts, bananas, etc) were offered--even though the staff and breakfast ticket said it breakfast was offered at 6:30, when we showed up at 6:30, we were told it wasn't open until 7:00. Many things were just awkwardly not functional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

SubStandard Wyndham

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: New management, better conditions of property, better information about hotel.
After traveling for 14 hours with a toddler, we decided to stay in Amarillo and chose this particular Wyndham Garden Hotel. The hotel advertises they have a restuarant, pool, etc. Upon arrival at 10:30pm, I approached the front desk where the employee was sitting on a stool, talking on the phone. I stood there for at least 5 minutes before my presence was acknowledged. A box fan was blowing on the highest speed within the uninviting reception area. I received my room keys and the front desk clerk informed me that the hotel was being rennovated and that the phone in my room did not work and I could reach the front desk using my cell phone if needed. I was also informed that the room I had been assigned to was a newly rennovated room. Upon reaching my room, there was a piece of masking tape on the key entry that said, "life handle up" scrawled in handwritten black ink. Very unprofessional. Upon entering the room, I quickly take a look around the room and honestly could not tell what was considered to be "newly rennovated". The curtains were old, tattered and barely hanging on the wall. The window frames were heavily damaged. The sheets on the bed appeared clean but completely worn out and old. No toilet paper holder in bathroom. Hallways were dirty, water stained and appeared molded. Only 2 of 3 elevators worked. No a/c in public areas so the hotel was extremely hot. Pools were closed. All water features had no water. Restuarant permently closed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benbrook, TX

Worst hotel experience of my life

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See above
Location: You can smell cattle feed lots if that's something you desire. Amarillo is a pit.
Hotel was run down. No coffee pots in room. Mold on bathtub. Given vouchers for a free breakfast. Went down @ 830am, was told by clerk there was no breakfast or coffee. And, guess what...was charged by Expedia and also charged by the hotel. So, I'm in the process of disputing having to pay twice for a terrible hotel. I'm furious.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Worst hotel we ever attempted to stay in

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: If it was the setting for a "Twilight Zone" episode it would have fit right in!
Cons: Build a new hotel
Location: The Hilton was great. The Saltgrass Steakhouse was great.
After having multiple problems just getting a reservation, we finally got one confirmed. We entered the hotel through constantly opening and closing doors, an un-air-conditioned lobby, and a very long wait. The first room they put us in was missing chairs, and had no place to put luggage except for the bed. The carpet was filthy. We went to a second "renovated" room that was next to the cloudy-water pool (algae is the next step). The second time we flushed the toilet, it overflowed onto the floor. There was no phone in the room to call the front desk. We used our cell phone to get a reservation at the Hilton. We were able to by-pass the dirty, hot elevator since the second room was on the first floor. The clerk at the front desk promised that my charges were canceled, but the charge is still pending on our credit card. She said, "It will be as if you were never here." That charge seriously better be gone when the pending period is over. The Eagles must have stayed here before the wrote the song, "HOTEL CALIFORNIA."
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Amarillo

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: nothing.
Cons: start with cleaning up.
Save yourself the hassle and book another hotel. This place was absolutely gross!! It stated that its a no smoking hotel but the second the door opened for my room I could instantly smell the lingering of cigarette smoke. Then turned the light switch to find that the light did not work, no biggie, went to another light and turned it on... started to make a loud humming noise.. : / The sheets did not look like they had been changed in days and at one point I literally found myself contemplating repacking my items up and just sleeping for the night in my vehicle. I wouldn't recommend this place even for my worst enemies. Even they deserve better...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amarillo, TX

Very nice hotel, clean, new and great location!

Posted May 17, 2016
Friendly staff and great breakfast. Traveled to Amarillo and this hotel was perfect location. New, clean and very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not recommend this hotel!!!

Posted May 14, 2016
Missing from our room: chair(s), telephone, coat hangers, ironing board. Huge crack in horribly dirty window. No bulb in floor lamp. Standard pillowcase on king size pillow. No clock or clock radio.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice big hotel, but not many guests.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Nice place, I will stay here again, but not many people there....just felt odd. It rained through the night, and when heading tin the free breakfast, there were buckets in many places catching the roof leaks. Not good. The room was renovated, it is nice....but they didn't really replace hardware, so it is a mix of new and old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
The exterior amenities are nice. But the rooms are old and outdated.