Ratings based on 1,002 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Disappointing at Best

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: The room was nice enough. The location was great.
Cons: Restaurant was closed and the continental breakfast provided was very limited. Hotel was in much need for repair and a major cleaning.
Location: Near downtown and right off IH 40.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For breakfast I was given a can of coke.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Cons: It needs a remodel. And according to one customer who stays there on business this has been going on for at least 6 months
There is no hot breakfast and no where does it say that when you book I got a can of coke for breakfast. The pool and the hot tub are closed and no where does it say that when you book. The indoor area had about 10 buckets scattered across the floor to allow for the leaks in the roof when it rained. The customer in front of me said there had been several management groups take this over and it had been this way for about 6 months. The motel was almost empty and some of the lights didn"t work on the elevator so you are not sure if it is working or not. Everything was covered and there was dirt in the part that used to be a water area inside. It would be nice to know this before booking and then having no choice when you get there. I would not recommend this motel for the price or at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amarillo

Renovations poorly done

Posted Aug 30, 2016
TV bot working, manager replaced. Room changed at 10 pm, AC not working, also room door not secure, bathroom door gets stuck. Make sure renovated rooms are really ready for guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

find another hotel or don’t stay in Amarillo

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: I’m not the person to ask
Cons: see above!
Location: Macaroni Joes’s
Wyndham should and would be ashamed. The pool is closed, the spa is closed, the restaurant is closed, the staff is new and not up to speed. First,is was raining, no fault of hotel, and I was assigned room 106 and the key didn’t work, so I got new keys, and they didn’t work either so I got another room after my 3RD visit to the front desk. In the meantime my wife and dog were guarding our luggage and not excited about our stay with rain, back and forth to the front desk,etc. We got into the room and I wanted to shower and go out to dinner, and wouldn’t you know it the electricity went off, so without any light my shaving and shower didn’t seem like a smart idea....... The next morning I asked for a rate reduction and was told no, that’s when I decided to provide a primer for other travelers and a let the hotel know that most industry owners think that a satisfied traveler is important, not so here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Hotel under renovation

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the lobby staff friendly.
Cons: Virtually everything - close the hotel until you have made enough repairs to provide accommodations worth the room rate.
Location: Adjacent to an interstate highway and several restaurants.
This hotel is under very needed renovation, but travelers should not stay here, especially at these prices, until the work is completed. The lobby air conditioning was out of order (in July, in Texas!); the restaurant and swimming pool were closed for renovation; the interior of the elevators was appalling: flooring torn, paneling peeling from walls, and dirty; the atrium windows and metal supports had large swaths of black mold; the hotel room was incompletely furnished and poorly lighted. The only positive things to say are that the staff were friendly and the bed was comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tulsa

Fraudulent advertising

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff which was 1 person in the whole hotel was nice and tried The two the next morning were friendly and helpful
Cons: Start over Wyndham needs to get their name off of it and put motel 4 on it cause motel 6 is a lot better.
This Is rated a 3 star hotel. In their dreams. We were arriving late so had to pay in advance being a Wyndham hotel I am thinking great we were on our way for a funeral and had a little time to relax. Not the case when we arrive there is a nice person who is behind a computer with a portable air conditioner behind her with a exhaust hose coming out of the ceiling. Needless to say we go to our room which was not bad except the air wouldn't work so we had to move that was no better in the next room. 130am by now so we did our best I called Expedia and they did refund my money. But their was no kitchen no anything. This whole hotel is a lie. The pictures must have been photo shopped on expedias website. If I was Wyndham hotels and my name was on this place I would be be getting involved.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pool and hot tub were broken. Restaurant was not open. Air conditioning in lobby was broken, so regular breakfast was not offered. A replacement breakfast (mini donuts, bananas, etc) were offered--even though the staff and breakfast ticket said it breakfast was offered at 6:30, when we showed up at 6:30, we were told it wasn't open until 7:00. Many things were just awkwardly not functional.
2 out of 5
by Patty from Waco

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
The stay at this hotel was not good. The AC did not work in any of the common areas or hallways, there was no decor, the water feature in the lobby did not work, we did not have all of the furniture in our room. When we inquired about these issues, the staff seemed surprised. The free breakfast was not served because both of the hotel's freezers were out. There was a "continental breakfast" set up in the gift shop. It consisted of a bowl of bananas, a bowl of oranges, and an assortment of packaged pastries. The worst thing of all is that we have two rooms booked in this hotel on our way home...no refunds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

SubStandard Wyndham

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Cons: New management, better conditions of property, better information about hotel.
After traveling for 14 hours with a toddler, we decided to stay in Amarillo and chose this particular Wyndham Garden Hotel. The hotel advertises they have a restuarant, pool, etc. Upon arrival at 10:30pm, I approached the front desk where the employee was sitting on a stool, talking on the phone. I stood there for at least 5 minutes before my presence was acknowledged. A box fan was blowing on the highest speed within the uninviting reception area. I received my room keys and the front desk clerk informed me that the hotel was being rennovated and that the phone in my room did not work and I could reach the front desk using my cell phone if needed. I was also informed that the room I had been assigned to was a newly rennovated room. Upon reaching my room, there was a piece of masking tape on the key entry that said, "life handle up" scrawled in handwritten black ink. Very unprofessional. Upon entering the room, I quickly take a look around the room and honestly could not tell what was considered to be "newly rennovated". The curtains were old, tattered and barely hanging on the wall. The window frames were heavily damaged. The sheets on the bed appeared clean but completely worn out and old. No toilet paper holder in bathroom. Hallways were dirty, water stained and appeared molded. Only 2 of 3 elevators worked. No a/c in public areas so the hotel was extremely hot. Pools were closed. All water features had no water. Restuarant permently closed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benbrook, TX

Worst hotel experience of my life

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See above
Location: You can smell cattle feed lots if that's something you desire. Amarillo is a pit.
Hotel was run down. No coffee pots in room. Mold on bathtub. Given vouchers for a free breakfast. Went down @ 830am, was told by clerk there was no breakfast or coffee. And, guess what...was charged by Expedia and also charged by the hotel. So, I'm in the process of disputing having to pay twice for a terrible hotel. I'm furious.