Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Will be really nice once renovations are complete

Posted Dec 11, 2017
They are doing a lot of upgrades to the property. The noise was never an issue in the unit we were in, but I believe it may be if you stayed on the other side of the property. They are building a new resort to the left of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Wonderful Vacation! Great location and beach

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Location. Cleanliness.
Cons: The new sofas were uncomfortable. They are very nice looking though. The cushions would not stay in place. They need to be strapped down.
My family had a great time! The location is great. Close to everything. The Dive Shop is right there too. Wake up and one minute walk to go diving. Everything is close with the golf cart too. Head left out the driveway and within one minute is Robin's Kitchen. The best BBQ chicken ever! The beach is nice there too compared to other hotels. It's a smooth transition instead of being on a concrete platform. easy to snorkel and see stingrays. After viewing a couple other hotels in the area, Banyan Bay has one of the better pools as far as size goes. It has three tiers for babies, toddlers and then adults. My kid's loved it. Unfortunately, I don't believe it is heated though (I can't tolerate cold like I used to). No hot tub either. Rooms are nice and fancy. Very family friendly. The onsite restaurant food is good and reasonably priced. There were going under remodeling when we went but the noise was hardly noticed, probably because they already completed the major work. They anticipated everything would be done by Mid December. We were there Thanksgiving week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by BBay, Hotel Management
As noted some of the suite were renovated so we are are glad to hear your feedback. Thanks for mentioning our different on site amenity so that future visitors can read. We look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Home base for 16 nights

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The people and close to a market , a laundery and an early riser breakfast spot with local fare and beer.
Location: Bakery within walking distance.
Remodeling construction somewhat inconvenient. Staff excellent. Very friendly bartenders and Pier 322 restaurant staff. Food was top notch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by BBay, Hotel Management
Thanks Steve and Wendy for sharing your review. Our restaurant 366 Seafood House has been proving as one the best upcoming eatery on the island. Your home away from home await for your next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga

Posted Nov 11, 2017
When booking we were not told that the resort was under construction if so I would have chose another. The constant hammering, sawing, and construction noise prevented me from enjoying a promised quiet vacation by the Ocean. Therefore, I request a full refund. Expedia should have their license revoked. Thank you in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by BBay, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that the renovations where such an inconvenience to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson AZ

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Every thing you could want is within walking distance of your room Staff was very friendly Food was great View well worth the extra for a ocean view
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by BBay, Hotel Management
Thanks JoDee for this review. We hope to welcome you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Couldn’t have picked a better spot for the week.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
We had never been to San Pedro before. We’re SO happy to have found banyan bay!! The staff and property are fantastic. They handle the taxi fare to the airport or water taxi area which is a nice added bonus. The location is perfect distance to downtown yet secluded and quiet. We would absolutely return to Banyan Bay in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by BBay, Hotel Management
Thanks fro sharing your review with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Aging but comfy

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location is great.
Many renovations happening during our stay. Had to explore to find the temporary front desk. Rooms were aged but comfortable. Excellent housekeeping. Tasty food at the restaurant. Staff very accommodating. Good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by BBay, Hotel Management
The renovations has surely given the aging rooms an uplift. We hope to welcome you back so you can have another great experience at the newly improved atmosphere.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff...Disappointing Secrecy on Remodeling

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The staff were 5 stars
Cons: Be honest with guests when you have remodeling in progress
Upon arriving we realized something was odd in that the main check-in building was closed and the taxi driver drove us down to what appeared like a meeting room. We were informed that the "front office is being remodeled". I also noticed people carrying doors out back to what looked like a sanding and refinishing tent. ...at 10 am the next day the concrete sawing and sanding began!!! I wasn't quite sure where it was coming from until I noticed a worker two doors down on the balcony connecting an extension chord. He was sanding all of the island and door trim in the unit down from ours. Bath tubs and toilets were being carried out of the rooms. Shame on the owners!!! If this is your remodeling season then you owe it to your guests to let them know this when booking. We never would have booked otherwise. Sitting out on our balcony was usually not possible with all the racket. This began around 10am everyday and lasted until 5-6pm (we were in unit H4).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

End of season fun

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay this last week. We enjoyed the comfort and convenience of Banyan Bay. The restaurant was delicious. The staff made us feel right at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by BBay, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your review with us. Your home away from home awaits you on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Just Awesome

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wash cloths, there were no wash cloths only towells
Location: It's a small island the water is beautiful and every where you turn there is something to do
Banyan Bay is beautiful the staff is wonderful and always there for you. Beautiful grounds large two bedroom condos it's just awesome, perfect place for a family getaway. JUST GO SEE FOR YOURSELF