Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Nice hotel on an ok beach

Posted Oct 25, 2017
So, before arriving and thru my research, I should have done a better job at expectation management. I was a little distracted when I arrived, but I’ll boil it down here for others. Some of the pros are also cons, but hopefully my explanation will provide some clarity. Pros: 1. Every room is a suite, so you’re not forced to eat out every meal. 2. Resort is located outside San Pedro, so the rooms are bigger, and the locale is quieter (a pro if that’s what you’re looking for) 3. All of the hotel staff were great. Fortunately, the only people I’d say had a possible contrary attitude was the front desk (most interactions were with maintenance and service workers). 4. Concierge services were simple and very flexible. Anything on the island, mainland or offshore, were available. 5. Local food vendors - there are a few ladies on the island that run “food trucks”. Really, they carry food on utility golf carts. Options are limited, but the food is authentic local food, and tastes awesome. It’s also cheap $4-5 USD per meal compared to $14-18 USD at the restaurant. Cons: 1. Not close to town. Only transport is bicycle or golf cart. Bicycles were $5 USD/day. Golf carts were ~$22 USD for the first hour with a reduced hourly rate for successive hours. 1 hour will get you to one of 2 grocery stores and back, provided you know what your shopping for, and don’t get sucked into any other shops. I ran out of space, but in-room water pressure was a problem too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Dir. Guest Serv. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with other travellers that may be reading here. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to get out and explore the island. We are 3 miles north of San Pedro Town. In addition to bicycle and golf cart rentals, there is a public water taxi option for transportation as well. The Island Xpress makes scheduled daily runs up and down the shoreline of Ambergris Caye- think of it like a city bus, with a better view!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
No good . Too far from town . No beach at all Only one resturant Drinks expensive and no good
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Dir. Guest Serv. , Hotel Management
We are sorry that our resort was not a good fit for your vacation goals. We are 3 miles north of San Pedro Town and while we think the location is ideal to enjoy peace and quiet and escape the bustle of town, if you are looking for nightlife you may be happier staying in town. The entire island of Ambergris Caye is not known for its beaches. Due to our close proximity to the barrier reef, just offshore, the geology present does not allow for sand to collect on our shoreline, like in other beach destinations. By far and large, the main attraction here is the largest barrier reef in this hemisphere, a world heritage site. We hope that you were able to enjoy this national treasure!
4 out of 5
by Radescka

The pool was my favorite part.

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Nice pool, the front desk people was nice, the pool was amazing! Are room was large.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas texas

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Everyone was so kind. Very quiet and relaxing and we loved having a little home to make breakfast in everyday
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Easy access to beach and dock

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Excellent location, not too far from town and right next to dock for water taxi to town. 2 suggestions, mosquitos are bad, they could fumigate the premises to make it more enjoyable for guests, we literally could not enjoy our outdoor seating area because it was unbearable with all the mosquitoes. Second suggestion, I would've really liked to have the option of an all inclusive package. Although the hotel has a nice restaurant, having the option for all inclusive package would be more appealing to some travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Dir. Guest Serv. , Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your review with us! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your suggestions for improvement and regularly review the feedback we receive from guests in order to improve our service. We do take measures to control mosquitos, and unfortunately, during your stay, the conditions were such that they were worse than usual.
5 out of 5
by jon

Beaches over rated

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Belizean Shores is wonderful, great stay, great pool, rooms spacious, well kept. Even provided fresh water and coffee in room. Food was fine. $11 US for a full breakfast, but you can get just eggs, toast, simple items for less. There are 12 bldgs. with 4 units each, 2 up and 2 down, spacious front porches facing water or pool. Very quiet in mornings, even to 8-9 am, like you are only one there. Now, the beach. We've all heard BZE has best beaches. Not so much anymore. Over come by sea grass. Beach has no surf, it is out at the reef, 1/4 to 1/2 mile out. There's no washing of the waves, the waves are visible but not there on the beach. Only that sea grass, everywhere. Getting to Ambergris Caye, 20 mins & $150 plane hop [rt] from BZE airport or 90 mins $35 water taxi [ferry] rt, plus $25 taxi from BZE to ferry. It is difficult to get to. Be careful when you book a resort, with the 20% GSA tax, a $150 room becomes $180; $200 room becomes $240. Make sure you know if the room includes the tax. Most do not, it is added at checkout. Don't forget the $40/prsn departure tax. Southwest included it in the fare. That GSA tax is in everything, either paid later at checkout or include in price, meals, excursions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by DirGuestServ, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Belize is widely known for it's Barrier Reef, the largest in this hemisphere. Due to our close proximity to the reef, just offshore of Ambegris Caye, the island does not have traditional sandy walk-in beaches. The geology surrounding the reef prevents large beaches from forming. The water is quite calm and shallow and there is turtle grass growing- a harmless plant that provides refuge and important habitat for many juvenile marine species. We do hope that you were able to take advantage of the world-class diving and snorkeling that the reef provides. It;s un-Belizeable!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Beautiful Property, Needs improvement

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The outside areas of the hotel were beautiful, and the room was comfortable and decorated pleasingly. The staff was friendly.
Cons: The housekeeping could definitely be improved. Even though we didn't ask for full service each day, it didn't start out being as clean as it should ah
Location: Snorkeling, eating at local restaurants and exploring the Caye.
Arrived in San Pedro on time and was greeted by hotel staff. There seemed to be some confusion about getting us to the property. We finally made it. The room wasn't as clean as we are used to, but it was tolerable. The property is beautiful, and there was constant maintenance and upkeep/improvements being done. The hot water is supplied by an instant water heater, which means there is only a couple minutes of hot water before it is completely COLD, every time. House Man was prompt to bring drinking water daily, which is VITAL because you can't drink the tap water. Office staff was very friendly and courteous. Restaurant was less than wonderful. Food was mediocre and service was acceptable. The "Blue Hole" bartenders were fun and entertaining. I was very disappointed that the dock was missing and I wasn't told prior to booking or to arriving. That made it difficult to swim or play in the sea, since we can't just walk out to the water from eh shore because of sea grass & Rays. I wasn't told that, either. Overall, a good stay. Beautiful as it was, I'd consider another property before going back here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Dir. Guest Serv. , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and helpful. As you mention, our dock did not survive a recent hurricane. The entire shoreline of Ambergris Caye has quiet, calm waters due to the proximity of the Belize Barrier Reef, just offshore. There is harmless turtle grass growing, which provides an important habitat for many juvenile marine species.
4 out of 5
by Louis

Good price very clean ,they need to fix they dock

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great Location , very clean , friendly staff, large rooms , will recommend , they dock need rebuilding and the seaweed on the beach need picking up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Beautiful resort close to the beach and tours.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Rooms, tours, convenience, friendliness.
Cons: The pool bartender.
Location: Tuff E Nuff tours is right there on a nearby dock and they do it all, and do it well!!! Rent a golf cart and explore restaurants and bars nearby.
Hotel staff is extremely helpful. Rooms have everything you need and are beautiful. Tours are close by and golf carts available. Beware the pool bar. Always ask if prices are in Belize or US. Bartender in my experiences will take advantage of you but I don't think he works for the hotel directly. All in all I would highly recommend this resort and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice hotel best staff

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Great vacation. The hotel is very nice and close to the coral reef. The staff is amazing