Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to the beach but...

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Overall my stay was ok—could’ve been worse. There was not one day when the hot water was working for the shower. The ocean water was warmer than the shower water. Also I paid to have a king bed but when I went to climb in I discovered that it was two twin beds pushed together. If a hotel is going to do that as opposed to having an actual king sized mattress then there should be a cheaper rate. Other than those two things everything else was great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Centreville, Va

Where’s the hotel described in Expedia

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Our overall impression of Caribbean Villas was more likely 2.5. The hotel is older and does need some modernization. This can be said for every facet of the resort. The lack of service was the real kicker at this resort. Definitely would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Comfortable enough and well cared for. Easy access to beach walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Rooms are basic, grounds are tropical lush and very relaxing. Food at Amber's was uniformly delicious. Staff is pleasant and accommodating. Location is convenient; close enough to walk to downtown and far enough away to be out of the noise. Owners dogs , Jambo and Yeager are friendly; a delightful bonus for pet lovers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Canada

It was okay....for the price

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Cons: The beach wasn't great. It has sand bags along the length of it.
Location: Location was quite good. Close enough to town, when you wanted it, but far enough away that you had a bit of quiet.
I had inquired about the cost of an upgrade and the girl was nice enough to offer me an upgrade for free (this info was relayed via email).I was willing to pay and only asked for a room with a double bed, an ocean view (as we'd never been there before) and not on the ground floor. This was promised to me and I got a ground floor room with a view of the sushi bar. The check in agent wasn't very friendly and he was very short with his replies.Not a great way to start. We found out we couldn't rent bikes after 5 pm, our double bed was actually 2 singles pushed together, and if we wanted to use their water park we would have to pay for it. This was odd as it didn't indicate this when we booked and if we had stayed at Pedro's Inn we would have got the water park for free. Very odd! They were doing construction in the room above us every day. This was a bit annoying, and started daily around 8 am. Once when we ate at the restaurant/bar we charged it to the room and tipped the waiter cash. Upon checking out I inquired about a "service fee" and was told they charge that when no tip is charged to the room. I had them remove this as we did tip in cash. This would have meant that we were double tipping. Very sneaky! The agent that offered the upgrade was very nice in her emails and the restaurant/bar staff were amazing! It was overall.....okay. Alot was over promised and under delivered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Beachfront 3 star hotel, close to town but quiet

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Nice clean hotel. Nice rooms, AC, pretty grounds, typical accommodations for the Caribbean. Great staff, good food, good snorkeling at hotel dock, and great scuba diving just off shore at reef. Lots of available options for tours from hotel, both mainland tours & on island.
5 out of 5
by Grant

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017
Thank you so much for the review and we hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
by richard

I'd go back

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Food & Bars were good. There was an odor from the beach from the algae, but they were cleaning it up the following day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017
Thank you so much for the time you have taken to review us and we also would love to have you visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallss, TX

Pretty good, well priced

Posted Aug 29, 2017
My first night was just okay. That room had lock and toilet issues. I changed rooms and the next 3 nights were better. I was comfortable. AC worked, bed was comfortable, nice little balcony, pleasant lighting. Good lighting in bathroom. Staff was nice and helpful. I had to remind myself I was on an island and had to have different expectations. Internet was very erratic and dropped often. Nice pool and bar. We didn't try the restaurants. My only real gripe is no hot water in shower. It was barely luke warm, though there was hot water in the sink. I felt like I was taking cold showers which I don't enjoy. Overall a nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Quiet nice place away from town

Posted Aug 14, 2017
The overall experience was great. Hotel rooms had A.C. which is a must. Clean rooms with good house keeping. The downfalls were the dirtiness of the two pools and the restaurant on site, the food was terrible and expensive. The wait staff at the bar and restaurant were not friendly. We went several times and their attitude was horrible. Also, check your final bill when checking out. They don't ask for identification when charging tabs to the room, so we got a couple of charges to our rooms that wasn't ours. The front desk was friendly and removed them. Don't have to rent golf carts from hotel, seek else where for better prices!!!