Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel gives free-bees for good reviews

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The fact that it was in Belize. Free bicycle use made getting to town easy.
Cons: See above.
Location: Snorkeling, fishing, beach, bicycling.
There is no way this is even a 3-star hotel. Our "king bed" was 2 twins pushed together (no exaggeration), the shower never even got lukewarm, the curtains and the comforter both had holes in them, the staff was the worst I have ever experienced. English is the primary language with Spanish a close second, and few people attempted any communication in either language on this property. This was not the case at any other resort we stopped at to eat. We were told by more than one local person that the US$20 slide/water park fee would be waived if we wrote a good review. This is how the local people know this hotel. We thought we were getting good deal for this place at US$100/night but after leaving, I think we paid too much. The free wifi was only available at the office. Food was average, with fair prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Nice location just outside of San Pedro, helpful staff and great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great little place.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: We were right on the beach. The restaurant was great. The room was clean and comfortable. The spa over the water was a great touch.
Location: Located a mile south of San Pedro, a short walk to town and shops and restaurants. We rented a golf cart and toured the Caye. Tours were available.
From our first view from the water taxi, until we left the grounds, we enjoyed the Caribbean Villas. Our room was excellent, second floor by the ocean, overlooking the resort. We sat on the balcony every night. The live music was great. Loved the hammocks in the water and under the trees! The food was excellent and our bar tender Dave made fantastic cocktails. Our room was clean. We had only to ask, and the staff arranged tours, cabs, gave any needed information and was right there to bring us more towels or other items. The Spa on the dock was wonderful and the pool refreshing. There was even a water slide and water "toys" at the end of the dock and boats available!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off the beach hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Off the beach hotel staff was super friendly made you feel right at home everybody there was very nice everything was really convenient to walk to and from
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

UNFULFILLED PROMISES!!

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The hotel was right on the beach. It was very clean and the restaurant food was good. The lower level employees were pleasant and helpful.
Cons: I don't know if it is possible, but the odors on the beach area were offensive. There was lots of seaweed which they raked daily.
Location: If you wanted to do things on the island, the location was great. If you wanted to spend time on the Belizian mainland, this is not a good spot.
The internet connection was poor at best! When we made the reservation, we were told that we were a short water taxi ride from the mainland. In actuality, it was nearly a two hour, very boring, expensive ride. Since we intended to spend nearly every day on the mainland, this facility would not meet our needs. We attempted to explain our dilemma to the management of this facility, but it fell on deaf ears. We asked for all or at least a portion of our prepaid room fee to be refunded, but they said since we prepaid, that this would be an impossibility. So, because we prepaid, we lost the money that we had paid for six nights at the Caribbean Villas Hotel. We were in communication with this hotel prior to our arrival and they sounded very eager to do everything to make our stay a pleasant one. However, when we arrived, it seemed like we were talking to totally different people. I will NEVER prepay for a room again. Because we did, we lost a considerable sum of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Califonia

Top notch place to stay

Posted May 21, 2017
We spent 6 nights here and loved everything. Best staff ever. Truly nice and helpful the entire trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Management change

Posted May 1, 2017
The management has changed at this hotel in the last couple years. Used to have a low key, friendly feel and they were happy to provide basic things such as morning coffee, ice for the room, as well as a quick golf cart ride from the nearby airport. All of that is gone now and so is the friendly low key feel that you want in Belize. They have put a pay water park area and bar at the end of the pier so now you can't even go jump off and swim anywhere outside the seaweed along the beach. The front office staff was very professional but it is very obvious that the restaurant folks are very unhappy. Service was awful and if you requested some ice you got scowled at. Prices are too high, and on par with the higher end resorts. I never saw any security either which is common down there. They built a new building with rooms but are not keeping up the maintenence on the older buildings. Each year, this used to be our favorite place to go but we won't be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem perfect distance from town

Posted Apr 30, 2017
This hotel is far enough from town you don't hear the little hustle and bustle of the airport but close enough you can walk in via the roads or the beach. The staff is very kind and knowledgeable. The rooms are very clean, wish working AC and little porches that look out towards the water. Highly recommend this hotel as an affordable get away where you are well taken care of. Def will be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guatemala

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Is nice cloae to evething you can go walking or rent a golf car, love it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This is a great hotel to visit the island. Good location, price and amenities. Staff is fantastic. It is limited on room luxuries, but serves its pirpose fantastic. Get a good deal by staying here and spending the rest of your money on a fishing/snorkel charter!