Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Quiet nice place away from town

Posted Aug 14, 2017
The overall experience was great. Hotel rooms had A.C. which is a must. Clean rooms with good house keeping. The downfalls were the dirtiness of the two pools and the restaurant on site, the food was terrible and expensive. The wait staff at the bar and restaurant were not friendly. We went several times and their attitude was horrible. Also, check your final bill when checking out. They don't ask for identification when charging tabs to the room, so we got a couple of charges to our rooms that wasn't ours. The front desk was friendly and removed them. Don't have to rent golf carts from hotel, seek else where for better prices!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
The room was great. The hotel was tucked away and private, the blacony was a great spot to start the day and enjoy the sea breeze, and we enjoyed the pools and bar to relax when we weren't in town exploring. We enjoyed it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel gives free-bees for good reviews

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The fact that it was in Belize. Free bicycle use made getting to town easy.
Cons: See above.
Location: Snorkeling, fishing, beach, bicycling.
There is no way this is even a 3-star hotel. Our "king bed" was 2 twins pushed together (no exaggeration), the shower never even got lukewarm, the curtains and the comforter both had holes in them, the staff was the worst I have ever experienced. English is the primary language with Spanish a close second, and few people attempted any communication in either language on this property. This was not the case at any other resort we stopped at to eat. We were told by more than one local person that the US$20 slide/water park fee would be waived if we wrote a good review. This is how the local people know this hotel. We thought we were getting good deal for this place at US$100/night but after leaving, I think we paid too much. The free wifi was only available at the office. Food was average, with fair prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Nice location just outside of San Pedro, helpful staff and great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great little place.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: We were right on the beach. The restaurant was great. The room was clean and comfortable. The spa over the water was a great touch.
Location: Located a mile south of San Pedro, a short walk to town and shops and restaurants. We rented a golf cart and toured the Caye. Tours were available.
From our first view from the water taxi, until we left the grounds, we enjoyed the Caribbean Villas. Our room was excellent, second floor by the ocean, overlooking the resort. We sat on the balcony every night. The live music was great. Loved the hammocks in the water and under the trees! The food was excellent and our bar tender Dave made fantastic cocktails. Our room was clean. We had only to ask, and the staff arranged tours, cabs, gave any needed information and was right there to bring us more towels or other items. The Spa on the dock was wonderful and the pool refreshing. There was even a water slide and water "toys" at the end of the dock and boats available!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off the beach hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Off the beach hotel staff was super friendly made you feel right at home everybody there was very nice everything was really convenient to walk to and from
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

UNFULFILLED PROMISES!!

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The hotel was right on the beach. It was very clean and the restaurant food was good. The lower level employees were pleasant and helpful.
Cons: I don't know if it is possible, but the odors on the beach area were offensive. There was lots of seaweed which they raked daily.
Location: If you wanted to do things on the island, the location was great. If you wanted to spend time on the Belizian mainland, this is not a good spot.
The internet connection was poor at best! When we made the reservation, we were told that we were a short water taxi ride from the mainland. In actuality, it was nearly a two hour, very boring, expensive ride. Since we intended to spend nearly every day on the mainland, this facility would not meet our needs. We attempted to explain our dilemma to the management of this facility, but it fell on deaf ears. We asked for all or at least a portion of our prepaid room fee to be refunded, but they said since we prepaid, that this would be an impossibility. So, because we prepaid, we lost the money that we had paid for six nights at the Caribbean Villas Hotel. We were in communication with this hotel prior to our arrival and they sounded very eager to do everything to make our stay a pleasant one. However, when we arrived, it seemed like we were talking to totally different people. I will NEVER prepay for a room again. Because we did, we lost a considerable sum of money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Califonia

Top notch place to stay

Posted May 21, 2017
We spent 6 nights here and loved everything. Best staff ever. Truly nice and helpful the entire trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You Get What You Pay For in San Pedro

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Caribbean Villas is a basic place that was fine for a short trip. My room had a fan, air conditioning, and a refrigerator that, once turned on, kept things very cold. It also had a small terrace overlooking the pool. WiFi was mostly reliable. Housekeeping was good. It is walking distance to the main part of town, although there are some nearby restaurants and the large Island City supermarket. Walking along the beach is more interesting than the streets which can be clogged with golf carts, the main form of transportation. The place says they have free bike rentals; none were available the one time I asked. The beach is nothing much: no surf and full of seaweed, but they have a fun water slide. You can book scuba diving and snorkeling at the dive shop, a branch of Ambergris Divers downtown; they will even pick you up by boat. I liked diving Hol Chan and then snorkeling with sharks and rays.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Management change

Posted May 1, 2017
The management has changed at this hotel in the last couple years. Used to have a low key, friendly feel and they were happy to provide basic things such as morning coffee, ice for the room, as well as a quick golf cart ride from the nearby airport. All of that is gone now and so is the friendly low key feel that you want in Belize. They have put a pay water park area and bar at the end of the pier so now you can't even go jump off and swim anywhere outside the seaweed along the beach. The front office staff was very professional but it is very obvious that the restaurant folks are very unhappy. Service was awful and if you requested some ice you got scowled at. Prices are too high, and on par with the higher end resorts. I never saw any security either which is common down there. They built a new building with rooms but are not keeping up the maintenence on the older buildings. Each year, this used to be our favorite place to go but we won't be going back.