Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel until I came home without my jewelry

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: free rum punch
Cons: breakfast
Location: Krazy Canuks bar next door
Corona Del Mar was a nice hotel, we were upgraded to an ocean front room. Breakfast was the same everyday; scrambled eggs, one sausage link (not tasty) and a few pieces of fruit. They also offered bread. Free rum punch everyday in the afternoon. The only bad part about my trip was all of my missing earrings! I had a small box of about 30 earrings on the dresser all week, when i got home I did not have them! I do not remember packing them at the end of the week but I did not realize they were missing until I got home. I called the hotel about 10 times and they say nothing was found and the cleaning woman was questioned but they did nothing for me. I have no other explanation than someone had to of taken them on Friday when the room was cleaned. LOCK UP YOUR EXPENSIVE BELONGINGS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive and close to downtown
Cons: It could use some paint to clean up the bar/restaurant area.
Location: Krazy Kanucks bar/restaurant is practically next door-great fun Tuesday nights for crab races!
Very clean rooms and grounds are kept very nice. Margie and Kenny in the bar/restaurant area make everyone feel welcome. Great free rum punch every afternoon. Water was very low while we were there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude front desk Staff

Posted Dec 10, 2017
We arrived slightly after 9pm. The main office was closed and someone had to be called. The front desk personnel that arrived was very rude and unprofessional. The rooms had a very bad odor. It was also very poorly decorated and had very old furniture. I dont recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice, quiet hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Quiet, friendly atmosphere and it's right on the beach.
Cons: The rooms could be updated.
Location: It's a fifteen minute walk from the center of town where you can find restaurants and shops. Not much else within a five minute walk.
Staff was very accommodating to my requests and answered all my questions. They were helpful in finding tours for me as well. The snorkeling/diving tours can use the hotel's pier for pick up. Room was clean and comfortable. Bar has friendly bartenders and a view of the ocean. The hotel is a fifteen minute walk from the center of town, but you can rent a golf cart and it's about five minutes. I would stay here again for its quiet, friendly atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Great place, great food, free rum punch, Great staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for those on a budget

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: It was a great value for the money. The beach out front is combed daily and there are plenty of loungers.
Cons: Just generally cleaning the place up would make it seem much nicer. Get rid of the piles of broken things, etc.
Location: The hotel is a bit out of San Pedro town, but close enough to walk in.
The hotel on the outside appears a little run down, but the room we got seemed clean and comfortable enough. We had a private balcony which could only be accessed from inside the room, which was a great place to dry our things. The room had a fridge and microwave but no hair dryer. Basic toiletries are provided but you may want to bring your own. It took a while to get warm water in the shower, we never really did get hot water, but we're not hot shower people so it was fine. Our room leaked when it rained, and a lot of the stairs and walkways at this hotel are not covered. The internet connection worked once in a while at our room, but you could always go to the bar to get internet. The satellite TV went out when it rained really hard. The included breakfast was really good: eggs, sausage, fruit, toast, good strong coffee and sometimes they had beans. We ate at Maria's kitchen a few times and found it surprisingly good. High quality fresh fish on the fish sandwich, thick chewy tortillas on the quesadillas, the pico de gallo was fantastic too. We got cheese nachos once and they were really good as well. The food here is one of the best values on the island in my opinion. I probably wouldn't book this hotel for a romantic vacation, but we were just here to dive and it was a great affordable option with everything we needed. We did our diving at Ramon's, and also enjoyed the italian restaurant across the street. Avoid Tropicana restaurant, expensive and awful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

New family

Posted Sep 23, 2017
This is our second time staying at Corona Del Mar. Obviously the first time was good. The second time we became family and more. The restaurant is great the customer service is great. From the moment I got there they were making me comfortable. I have medical issues and needed a softer bed and they brought me up enough cushion until I was satisfied because I can't lay on a hard surface. I recommend them to anybody but beware of Frank and if you play horseshoes he's the one that needs to be beat. Margie and Kenny are your bartenders and they're very friendly and Margie makes the best dirty banana out there try it when you go. That's good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find a better place!

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Like the people of the area. The office staff was nice. Just super old, dirty, no hot water, and no way to lock door or cover windows.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just as good in the off season

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
This was our second stay at this hotel. It was the off season but still just as good this time around. The price was great for everything that was included. The room was clean and offered great AC. We enjoyed several meals at the on site bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice

Posted Aug 31, 2017
If you are looking for a luxury resort, this is not your place. If you are looking for an adorable basic beachfront hotel, this place is perfect!