Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, great beach acess

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Very clean, excellent staff and location.
Cons: it was perfect!
Location: beach front resort, close to local restaurants, diving and boating.
Great place to unwind and enjoy the pool, beach and locals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Little Paradise!!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Best staff ever!! Elliot (office) was helpful with everything! Enrique (bartender) shared friendly advice & made V-coladas for us non-drinkers. Yum!
Cons: Only improvement I can dream of is to add eggs, cheeses and/or meats to make breakfast more substantial and filling. Please don't change more!
Location: Pool right outside our room, the beach just a few steps away and the dock for boat pick up - perfect for a relaxed visit. So easy to find more to do.
This small hotel was perfect! Nestled between big hotels, this quiet beauty felt like staying in a postcard. The hotel paid for our short taxi ride from the Belize Express ferry. From the front office, we walked around the corner to be greeted by a picturesque, Pinterest-worthy scene of a white washed pool deck at the edge of a sandy beach. Each morning, we walked out of our room across the deck and a bit of sand - maybe 20 steps - to eat a breakfast of fresh fruit and breads at the outside, beachside bar. The turquoise ocean was right there so we could enjoy a view or a swim at every moment. Sitting on the sand or by the pool, we waited for our snorkel tours (that the hotel arranged in minutes) to pick us up. There was quick, local, delicious food (Robin's) across the street or a short walk down the beach to many other choices and tour opportunities. We knew all the staff by name before our short stay was over. They always had recommendations that were worth following. We brought our four children (ages16-26) & our son-in-law. It was quiet at night and easy to watch the sunrise in the morning. The rooms were clean, with a fridge and a safe. The wifi worked everywhere on the property. They were always tidying up the beach, bar and pool. Such a pleasant place. Location is perfect! We are definitely going back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Terry, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. Terry General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Feels like your own piece of paradise

Posted May 13, 2017
Mata Rocks has a small friendly resort feel with everything the savy and reasonable traveller should need. The grounds and rooms are meticulous. We had a top floor balcony room where we drank coffee, watched the Pelicans and enjoyed the view during all times of the day and night. We had breakfast at the outdoor bar area every morning. An amazing way to start your day! It was quiet and the staff were very helpful and informative. Walk the beach into San Pedro as it is the fastest route and make sure to rent a golf cart for a day to go to Secret beach. Thank you Irma and Eric for your lovely hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

San Pedro Vacation

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Cons: Seagrass
Overall, great experience at Mata Rocks. The hotel was about 10 min drive to town. Great use of free bikes. Enrique was an absolute pleasure!!! The rooms look exactly as posted online. My only complaint, the seagrass and the smell. The pictures of the beach do not match what is online; HUGE let down. I understand Mata Rocks can't control nature, staff did clean up beach every morning, but I expected to atlas be able to access ocean ... unfortunately I wasn't able too. In all, I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice location, Old but clean facility

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Recommend to book any tours through the office. The rate is better and no hassle. The building was old so there were some issues during our stay but the maintenance guys are very smart and quick to take care of the problems. And those guys were working very hard all day long and very friendly. The hotel location was not too far from town but don't get too many cars and people. If walk along the beach to the town, it takes 35-40min. Small bar by the beach was the joy place to have breakfast and conversation with other guests. Only thing I wasn't pleased were the owners were there but they were totally ignored the guests and I didn't see they were talking to none of us, not even greetings. Also the local woman in the office was kinda like, "please go away~" attitude, whenever I had something to ask or needed. The manager was very nice and the person to get information you need.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on CheapTickets
Water trickles from shower. Makes it almost impossible to take a shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Staff were great. Small friendly resort well

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: ?
Location: Plenty of half day and day trips you can plan and book through the hotel.
Staff were great. Small friendly resort well designed. Room had all the essentials,was simple and clean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little slice of paradise

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location...away from the noise and traffic of San Pedro, but a short ride into town. The staff really make you feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, very quiet hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Great views if you get the ocean front suites which aren't really that much bigger than the regular rooms you just get a kitchenette in the suites. Great view from your bed! Very quiet hotel perfect for rest and sleep. No events at the hotel, you have to leave the hotel grounds to find fun or food. Exceptional staff! Sheriyln (bartender), Nelson' Manuel and Irma were all so very nice and helpful!! I would visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Loved it!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: It was very relaxing and was exactly what we were looking for in a vacation hotel.
Cons: I can't think of anyting.
Location: Boating, jet skis, kayaking, fishing, diving, snorkeling, restaurants...
The hotel, staff, bar and location were wonderful. When I return to Belize I will stay there again.