Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was amazing and the service was great.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We had a great trip! Would go back to Matachica again. The hotel is right on the beach with great view from the hotel bar and grill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Amazing beautifull resort!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The staff - so friendly and helpful. They all seem happy to work there and treat you as a special guest. Spa and restaurant are wonderful.
Cons: Nothing really other than it would be nice to have AC in the bathroom. AC in the room worked great.
Location: Great location on a quiet part of Ambergris Caye north of San Pedro. Quiet as it is for adults only. You can see the barrier reef from the hotel.
My husband and I stayed for 6 days and had a wonderful time. From the moment we booked until the day we left, the staff took care of everything- transport to and from the resort, cold drinks of our choice upon arrival, arranging our day trips and cooking our freshly caught fish. The staff knew us by name and what we liked. The pool is beautiful and we had a terrific experience with Mark as our tour guide for a day of zip lining and cave tubing and learned about Bellizean history and the flora and fauna along the way. Fishing and snorkeling are close by and you get picked up at the resort dock for that. There are many other outdoor activities you can book. Anything you want they say "no problem!" Take the turn down service every night because they close all your shutters and refresh what you might need. Insect repellant is in the room and was used daily. It is the tropics so you have to expect mosquitoes. We loved that we had our own private villa, like a home away from home. Try the spa services where you can get a great massage and various body treatments. We also loved that you get private guides when you book activities so you can do just what you want and don't have to do things with a group. The restaurant is excellent with plenty of seafood and other choices. Charlie the boat driver and Edwin and Alfrid and Archie in the dining room took good care of us along with many others whose names I cannot remember.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, New York

A Week In Heaven!

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Staff, Service, Location, Room Accommodations, Food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: I am a scuba diver and it was some of the best scuba diving I have experienced. The Blue Hole is a must dive! My wife enjoyed the beach.
For a relaxing and romantic escape it does not get better than this. This is one place my wife and I will have great memories of. The place really is a paradise. The grounds are beautiful and the accommodations were incredible. The staff here are more than incredible. They were all extremely friendly and helpful. From the moment that you arrive, the dock beckons you to jump in the turquoise water. Checking in was a breeze with drinks ordered ahead for your arrival. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to know the wonders of Belize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tiburon

Belizian Bliss

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Our 8-day stay at Matachica was perfectly delivered by the hotel and staff all throughout. From the Tropic Air transfer, private water taxi, pristine honeymoon-like room cleanliness, to the all the bar and meal services, the gracious staff nurtured us from the moment we landed to the our sad departure. Matachica truly boasts the most beautiful resort in all of Belize as well as their picture perfect pier and waterfront. We miss Matachica and will forever be grateful for a perfectly blissful vacation...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Top of the line resort in Paradise

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: 5-star service, stunning property
Cons: I got a sore throat from the mosquito coil burning in our room - please let guests know it will be burned ahead of time
Location: Snorkel tour of Hol Chan & Shark Ray Alley, Tropic Air tour of Blue Hole, day trip to Caye Caulker w/ jet skis, San Pedro shopping & dining
If you want impeccable service, stunning views, and high-end accommodations, Matachica is your place! It takes a little planning to get back & forth to San Pedro for adventures and excursions, but climbing into a quiet, comfy cloud of white linens at the end of the day makes it all worthwhile. The staff is literally mancuring the grounds from sun up to sun down, and they are spectacular. This is definitely a spot for grown ups and families, not the party crowd. I'm glad I splurged for my birthday!
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Beautiful but missing some evening entertainment

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely a beautiful place for a relaxing break. Accommodation was excellent just missing some entertainment at nighttime and a reasonably priced bar. It's very quiet so great if you want to get away from it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wichita, United States of America

Perfect secluded get away

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Everything was perfect, from the cold frozen drink waiting at our arrival, to the quiet, secluded, air conditioned hideaway. Very peaceful and quiet. Staff was amazing and attentive. English spoken fluently. Premium linens and bath accessories. If you are looking for a lively night life atmosphere or a family with kids kind of place--this is NOT it! Perfect, quiet, peaceful place for honeymoons and anniversaries. Kayaks, paddle boards, sailboats, life vests, and snorkeling gear provided free of charge and the barrier reef was less and 1/2 mile from the beach. Beautiful coral reefs and tropical fish. We snorkeled for three days and never saw the same thing twice! Water never got over 5 ft deep and the current was mild so I felt very comfortable as a beginner snorkeler. My photos can't do the resort justice. Visit their website--their photos reflect exactly what you will find when you arrive. Exquisite!
Cons: Having to leave (ha ha!). My husband did have trouble with mosquitoes at dusk but each room was provided with bug spray that was very effective. Cruiser bikes were provided but the road behind the resort was unpaved, full of potholes and swampy but that's not the resorts fault. Stick with the provided water taxi to get to San Pedro town.
Location: Secluded location. Scuba, snorkeling, swim with the sharks, cave tubing, zip line, rain forest & ancient ruins excursions available through resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sugar Land, United States of America

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Romantic get-away, secluded from the hustle and bustle with breathtaking views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

This resort was for sure a slice of paradise!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The privacy of the casitas, the comfort of the rooms the restaurant ... the overall island vibe you get from the moment you arrive, you feel welcome!
Cons: no complains
Location: renting a golf cart to visit the island, snorkeling, lots of water activities... shopping
The room is not jus a room is a casita, with a large family room a nice bedroom and an awesome bathroom. The staff offers the most superior service and this place is a true romantic getaway! The restaurant has an excellent menu, the food quality was outstanding and presentation out of a magazine! This place is magnificent!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Best vacation!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Awesome staff, best drinks, great food and wonderful views.
Cons: I wouldn't change anything about this place! It's perfect!
Location: Snorkeling, Diving, Golf Cart rentals etc
My husband and I were here for a week and we loved this place!!(looks better than in pictures) Beautiful views, amazing rooms with alot of character and most importantly great staff. The people there are so nice and welcoming. Amazing drinks at the bar, delicious food and overall perfection. I wouldn't change a thing about this place. Thanks to all the staff members at Matachica Resort&Spa! We will definitely come back here! You guys are rocking it!