Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

incredible place to relax and rejuvenate

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Zero complaints. Rooms and grounds were emaculately clean and well kept throughout our weeklong stay. Staff was friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home and welcome. frequent boat rides to and from san pedro were a 10 minute ride. Close to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. There is plenty of resident wildlife in and around the grounds from lazy iguanas and large sting rays, not to mention the blue pelicans and egrets. free stand up paddle boards, kayaks and paddle boats for guests which can be taken out to the coral reef directly in front of the resort with snorkel gear also provided free of charge. very romantic but also some singles around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Thatched huts right on the beach.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Very casual beach hotel. The facilities are great. The staff is constantly sweeping out beach sand tracked in by guests- a never ending job. This is one of the few sandy beaches on the island. The food is at it's best when using fresh, local ingredients. They buy fresh seafood from local fishermen everyday. The best attribute is the wait staff- Alfred, Adam, Archie, Edwin, Jose, and Gilbert. We plan to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa rosa, ca

Perfect beach stay

Posted Aug 20, 2017
If you are coming to ambergris caye and want a perfect beach stay with laid back coolness then this is the place. Staff are all friendly and very helpful, food is very good and location is perfect!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful, relaxing, and great staff.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We wanted a quiet, relaxing get-away, and are very glad we picked Matachica. The grounds are well kept, the staff is polite and brought you whatever you needed at just the right time. The restaurant was good, and we ate all but one of our meals there (had lunch at Elvi's in San Pedro). We did the private snorkeling tour, and had ceviche and champagne while we watched the sunset on the boat; Chris was a great guide and we highly recommend it. We also rented a golf cart and drove into San Pedro; it's a great way to see the island. Spa is nice; I got a 90 min. deep tissue massage, and my wife got a papaya facial, which she said might have been the best one she's ever had. 5 stars on everything but room comfort (I gave 4). I like it cold and dry when I sleep, and the a/c never could quite keep up with the humidity. My wife thought it was very comfortable though (she is always freezing). Overall loved the room though. When we come back to Belize, we will definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

So disappointed with the Matachica beach!

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Unfortunately Matachica resort and spa looked like a dream a far escape from home with idyllic sea and sand, on San Pedro island. To simply put its it's far from idyllic because the water right outside the resort is brown and yellow because of the sea grass that grows in it. We were lost for words when we were jettied to the resort from San Pedro town, a quiet disappointment and shock crept in on us, we were speechless, thinking oh no two weeks of this!?!? In the photos it shows the ocean outside as blue, which it is, but around 40 meters out where the pier ends and sadly you are not allowed to swim there. The hotel staff do a great job in digging out the Seagrass but it's a daily thing for them hard work and just still not pleasing to the eye. Upon arrival we were greeted very kindly with a lovely cocktail but one of the the first things mentioned during checking in was the resorts tipping policy, which we found very annoying after traveling thousands of miles. Another shocker was ia 15% service charge and an additional local tax of 12.5% was charged for every single drink and meal. This all adds up very quickly, and for a two week stay can become quite steep. Seeing that this resort advertises itself as a top resort we were really disappointed that there wasn't a coffee machine and mini fridge in the hut, two basic amenities which come even in the most basic hotels. We always like having a cold in our room and we like having a sleep in on vacations with coffee in bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Many things to do and explore

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The pool
Cons: The menu, more options
Location: Ok
It was a nice experience with natural landscapes, iguanas, birds, trees.
5 out of 5
by Christine

Relaxing & Romantic Stat

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful & relaxing resort! The service was outstanding - making it a point to always remember our personal names & asking us what else they could do for us to help make our stay more enjoyable! Typically it takes me 2 days before I can relax on vacation - here I was relaxed almost immediately. Food was OUTSTANDING. Rooms incredibly comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was amazing and the service was great.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We had a great trip! Would go back to Matachica again. The hotel is right on the beach with great view from the hotel bar and grill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Amazing beautifull resort!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The staff - so friendly and helpful. They all seem happy to work there and treat you as a special guest. Spa and restaurant are wonderful.
Cons: Nothing really other than it would be nice to have AC in the bathroom. AC in the room worked great.
Location: Great location on a quiet part of Ambergris Caye north of San Pedro. Quiet as it is for adults only. You can see the barrier reef from the hotel.
My husband and I stayed for 6 days and had a wonderful time. From the moment we booked until the day we left, the staff took care of everything- transport to and from the resort, cold drinks of our choice upon arrival, arranging our day trips and cooking our freshly caught fish. The staff knew us by name and what we liked. The pool is beautiful and we had a terrific experience with Mark as our tour guide for a day of zip lining and cave tubing and learned about Bellizean history and the flora and fauna along the way. Fishing and snorkeling are close by and you get picked up at the resort dock for that. There are many other outdoor activities you can book. Anything you want they say "no problem!" Take the turn down service every night because they close all your shutters and refresh what you might need. Insect repellant is in the room and was used daily. It is the tropics so you have to expect mosquitoes. We loved that we had our own private villa, like a home away from home. Try the spa services where you can get a great massage and various body treatments. We also loved that you get private guides when you book activities so you can do just what you want and don't have to do things with a group. The restaurant is excellent with plenty of seafood and other choices. Charlie the boat driver and Edwin and Alfrid and Archie in the dining room took good care of us along with many others whose names I cannot remember.
5 out of 5
by Jeff

Great time!

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Location was great! Staff was wonderful and fun! Amenities were top shelf! Got to stay in the ocean front rooms though