Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great resort

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Large rooms, friendly bartenders & waiters, great front desk, nice salt water pool
Cons: Add covering to the deck. Add grips where the deck stairs get slippery.
Location: San Pedro and Caye Caulker are close. It is easy to get to almost any of the popular tours. They have their own boat to take you places,
The only downside to the place is something beyond Portofino's ability - the seaweed required by the Belize to remain intact to protect the ecosystem. I would also like to see a covered area at the end of the dock with a couple of chairs. THe staff was amazing- assisting with all travel arrangements, changes, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chill Vibe Off The Beaten Path

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was enjoyable overall. The arrival and departure process was made very easy by the very friendly front desk staff and the kind man who runs the boat charter to and from the resort. The beach cabanas are nice and spacious for a couple. We did have quite a bit of trouble with our air conditioning though the staff tried hard to make us comfortable. They even brought us a fan which was great because one night the air went out completely. I think our biggest let down was the food. Sadly, it wasn't that good but I wouldn't let that be a deal breaker on staying here because Mambo is just down the road along with several other options reachable by golf cart. Don't miss out on SCUBA diving with Action Divers! They're a class act operation and run a great business right off the pier of Portofino! The pool was wonderful and clean! I'd certainly stay at this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel!!!

Posted May 7, 2017 on Orbitz
We stayed in the treetop suite and absolutely loved it!! All of the staff members were so friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff was amazing and I wanted to bring her home with me hehe. My boyfriend and I had a blast renting their golf carts and driving to town and exploring! We will definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort & friendly staff!

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location, food, amenities & staff. Wonderful staff & lovely grounds.
Cons: A little less wind would be nice! :)
Location: San Pedro (15 min boat ride) has shopping, restaurants & golf cart rentals available. Be aware that after sunset some local peddlers will solicit.
This was our first time to Belize and we are very glad we picked Portofino. The staff was very friendly, the food was excellent & location was very desirable. They made the chartering to the ruins tours, cave tours and snorkeling very easy and convenient. The grounds are cleaned and maintained daily & we loved the quiet "away from it but not too far away from it" feeling. Make sure to bring along plenty of US $5's & $10's for daily tipping of staff. Pictures are accurate as viewed in the description and Portofino surpassed our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Maine

Nice quiet resort

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: We liked that it was a quiet and non-commercialized.
Cons: More comfortable seating, better water pressure, more knowledgeable fishing guide
Location: We loved renting a golf cart and riding into San Pedro. It was a 30 minute ride but enjoyable and fun!
We just returned from a week's stay at Portofino Beach Resort. My husband and I and another couple stayed in a Beach Cabana. We loved the laid back and quiet atmosphere. The staff was amazing. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Our friend ended up getting sick and the staff made sure she was taken care of. They got her the medicine she needed and inquired constantly as to how she was doing. The staff booked the activities that we wanted to do during our stay and made everything effortless. We booked snorkeling, rental of a golf cart, and Mayan Ruins/Cave Tubing which were both amazing! My husband and friend booked a half day fishing excursion which he was very disappointed in. He is a highly experienced fly fisherman and told the guide he wanted to go flat fishing for Bone fish which was what he had signed up for. The guide took him to deep water even after being repeatedly asked to be taken elsewhere. He registered his complaint with the manager of the dive shop as well as the front desk and was told it was separate from the resort and he would have to take it up with the guide. The only other minor complaints were the lack of comfortable seating. All chairs were wooden without any type of cushion except the lounge chairs on the beach. They became uncomfortable after sitting for any length of time. The other was the lack of water pressure in our cabana. Again, neither of these took away from our vacation and we would highly recommend this resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Beautiful views, beautiful location! far from town

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We loved our room, the view, the snorkeling, the drinks, and the staff! It was far from town and expensive food, especially dinner. We rented a golf cart one day (pricy) and went to town. Other days we took the boat from the resort into town (usually around 5) to get dinner, then hopped on the free one back at 6:30. Without that, we would have been miserable eating only at the resort. A very beautiful place and the staff make you feel so welcome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Apr 4, 2017
This hotel had the most wonderful staff, the rooms were amazing and the resort was more beautiful than you can imagine. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Beautiful quiet spot close to all amenities!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Quaint and comfortable and off the beaten track...with friendly, helpful staff, excellent service and great food! Say hello to Marcelo for us! :D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Perfectly Belize ... laid back & relaxed

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: how easy & close everything is from dining to bar to pool to pool .... dive shop on location!!!
Cons: put a loveseat in the cabanas!!
Location: It is on the north end of the island, so if you want to experience more "in town" dining & shopping, stay closer to San Pedro.
We usually travel to large exquisite all-inclusive resorts in the Riviera Maya. Not this time. We wanted to explore Belize ... and when we read about Portofino Beach Resort, it sounded like the perfect "out of the way, relaxing, with good food, and a dive shop on property" ... and we got exactly what we hoped for!! Our Beach Cabana was simply wonderful and every room is a few short steps to everything you need. Roberto & Richard at the dive shop went above and beyond for us. We rented a golf cart for 24 hours, so glad we did. Its a glimpse into the "real" Belize to travel into San Pedro ... it is a bumpy ride, but its very doable. And there is also the boat from the resort if you plan your activities around their schedule. There is also a water taxi in town. You can do as much or little as you desire. The only improvements we would welcome is a bit more comfortable seating and better coffee service. Our cabana had 2 wooden chairs that sat very low to the ground ... all the chairs from pool chairs (no loungers around pool, just on the beach and those do have cushions on the beach) and the restaurant ... And as for the coffee, it would be heavenly if they would offer a small coffee pot in each room. We are super early risers and it was usually 6:15 or 6:30am before our first cup. The staff really goes above and beyond to make your trip special. The owners are very gracious and take great pride in the property they have built for all to enjoy that come here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Isolated hotel on island

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Food was great at the resort and all over the island
Cons: WIFI is not very fast or reliable
Although the hotel is isolated there are regular water taxis that can transport you around the island, mainland, and other islands.