Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful resort and beach...

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Well maintained resort.. great pools and beach
Cons: would have appreciated being informed about the sand fleas..
Location: it is a pretty secluded location, which is what I wanted. A quick water taxi can take you into San Pedro or any of the other resorts
Spent a week at the Sapphire Resort. The staff was very helpful and the resort is one of the cleanest and most beautiful places I've ever had the opportunity to stay at. The water is crystal clear and the beach and pools are very nice. Be sure to use coconut oil or baby oil if it's been raining. Sand fleas are brutal. Overall would recommend this place and will be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by HAP, Hotel Management
Dear Scotty Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your vacation at Belize. We are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our staff helped make this happen, also that our location was ideal during your travel plans, we love to call it a hidden gem, where our clients can sit back, relax and enjoy of the beautiful weather of Belize. We'd love to have you again as one of our guests. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Honeymoon Getaway from NYC

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, food was amazing, beautiful resort, water close by was clear but too much sea moss to swim in, A+ chef and bartenders are accommodating
Cons: The resort itself honestly is great. Ppl are complaining about things out of their control like roads and pot holes. Mosquitoes suck... literally
Location: Some what secluded
Stayed for 9 days 8 nights. Beautiful island and resort. Felt very secluded.. honestly my wife and I wish we were back there than being home in nyc. Beaches, animals, great food, friendly locals, plenty of pools, amazing views and scenery. Whats not stated on this website is that you need to take either a cab to a ferry ( additional costs ) to get to the island and take another cab or rent a golf cart (rented the cart and it was delivered to resort for us same day) or take another plane or boat to the island since its not the mainland. Cab to the ferry is 25 US. Ferry roundtrip to San Pedro is 70 US for 2 ppl and the cart i rented for 300 US for the time there (10 US for gas fills a cart) The excursions and tours you pay for as you go. Cheaper if you plan them yourself rather than on the resort because you're paying for their transportation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by HAP, Hotel Management
Dear Joshua Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our services and facilities were up to your expectation. We work very hard to bake the visits of our clients special, we listen close to all you have to say and work on them to improve. We thank you for such a detailed review of our services and facilities. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decently maintained resort with terrible service

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Extremely far north of San Pedro town. 40 minute golf cart ride on mainly unmaintained dirt roads. The resort was relatively well maintained, probably the only plus. The service was not the greatest, aside from the general manager who was extremely accommodating. We made reservations for a scuba tour and was supposed to meet at 8:45 am. We decided to try breakfast at the resort and was told that they opened at 7:30 am. When we went to the restaurant at 7:45 am, they were closed, with nobody in sight. We had to take a trip to another resort nearby for breakfast, which was a 15 minute golf cart ride. The next day, we decided on making reservations for dinner at another resort. We told the front desk to request a water taxi for us at 7:15. We waited at the dock till about 7:30 pm, no taxi. Tried to contact someone at the front desk and they were closed! With the help of the general manager who kindly gave us a ride to our reservation, about an hour late. Lastly, mosquitos galore. We were getting bit up and down in our room, far less than walking outdoors in town. Aside from the general manager, the service at the resort is less than mediocre. The location is well too far from town, unless you don't plan on going into town, then I guess this is the place for you. I would not stay here again and unfortunately could not recommend it to anyone else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Humberto, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We use every review to better the resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are sorry you experienced some problems. And are glad our amazing Manager could help you out when your scheduled Taxi did not show up. We are well known for our great service and sorry it did not live up to your expectations. As advertised we are 9 miles north from town, which I would say is the best part of the island. Our location is a positive for many of our guests, with great Snorkeling just offshore, fishing and a sandy beach. We have an onsite tour and dive shop that can take you anywhere in Belize straight from our dock. If you decide you want to go into town you can rent a golf cart and explore the island or take the local water taxi that runs into town throughout the day. We appreciate your thoughts on your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed Family vacation

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
This resort is clean and the staff is extremely friendly and attentive to your needs. Unfortunately the shower and water from faucets are salty. There are no telephones in rooms. Not even for emergencies. Overall I enjoyed my stay spending quality time with my family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
Hi, Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear of how wonderful our staff made you enjoyed your stay at Sapphire and that you had a wonderful Family time. We are sorry to hear of the salty water from the faucets. However due to the fact we are a little distance away from town we strive our best in mending all these tiny unfortunate incidents and with your comments we are able to achieve results in mending our amenities. Telephones indeed are not in the room but the FrontDesk staff would be more than happy in assisting you with any calls you might need to make. We hope you can look past this one problem you experienced and remember the rest of the amazing vacation that you did enjoy, and come back and visit us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Excellent proximity to the beach.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Staff was fantastic and knowledgeable with area along providing ideas that fit our expectations and budget. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Sapphire Beach Belize, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sapphire Beach. Please, come again! Regards, Sapphire Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Wonderfully remote and beautiful location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
showers could've been warmer, but we love this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Sapphire Beach Belize, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sharing your appreciation with us and with the Expedia community, we really appreciate it. Please come and visit us again! The Sapphire Beach team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice Resort with an excellent staff

Posted May 28, 2017
The resort was located right on the beach. The entire staff was always courteous and very helpful. If you are looking for a nice secluded get away... This is the place. The only drawback would be if you wanted close to the main town. Traveling to remote areas outside of town can be brutal due to the roads. There are a lot of activities offered. I really enjoyed the stay and would travel back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Humberto, Hotel Management
Dear Tracy Thank you for rating us and sharing details of your stay at our hotel. We are happy to see that everything went well during your stay and that you loved our hotel and services. We send you the warmest greetings and hope to serve you again. Best regards
4 out of 5
by JAVOULAU

Pretty Good

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
The resort was really nice. The staff is awesome. Too far from town and the mosquitos is horriable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Humberto, Hotel Management
Dear Javoulau Thank you for rating us and sharing details of your stay at our hotel. We are happy to see that everything went well during your stay and that you loved our hotel and services. We send you the warmest greetings and hope to serve you again. Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room but not nice location

Posted May 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The room, and housekeeping.
Location: not a good location, you have to rent a golf cart everyday for +-US$ 60 to get to restaurants and entertainment.
The room at Sapphire was great although the resort is so far from everything. The costs of getting to places adds up to a lot of money everyday. Facilities of the resort can't be used and enjoyed because of all the mosquitos and bugs. The resort is located at the beach but the beach is not like the photos on the advert. Not a nice beach to swim, sunbath or be 'beachy' on. The manager of the resort gives excellent service. The atmosphere at the resort is rather dead and there is not much to do, and the activity centre they have is SO overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Humberto, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you for selecting us during your visit to Belize and for rating your experience at our hotel. We are glad to see that you had a good stay and that our staff and services we up to your expectations. All our clients suggestions are welcome, we work on them to be able to offer a better service every day. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice but Dated

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The resort itself is setup well however, it felt more like a condo complex for Expats rather than a resort. The condo had most of what we needed and was comfortable however, it felt like it was used regularly and needs some updating/refreshing. There is care and attention to clean the beach daily however, we never really experienced the pristine beaches displayed on the resorts photos. Similar to other reviews, we found that the distance from town was both a plus and minus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Humberto, Hotel Management
Dear Kimberley Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you while visiting Belize. We pay attention to all our clients´ suggestions to be able to offer a better service every day. Our location is ideal for those travelers who want to experience a relaxing stay and forget about the busy life of the city, while staying at a paradise location. We thank you for reviewing us and we hope to be able to serve you again.