Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Very nice beachfront hoteliers

Posted Aug 23, 2017
X'Tan Ha is a very nice hotel. If you like quiet place to relax then this hotel is excellent. The facilities are great. One drawback is the distance to the city. Only 7 miles but with bad roads and driving a golf cart everywhere then it can be a challenge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: This is the only resort which has easy water access.
Cons: Restaurants to have vegetarian cooked food, Change the tap water to pure water instead of light salt water
Hotel staffs are so welcoming and friendly. Rooms are very clean and spacious. The staffs get the fresh coconuts from the tree and serves all the guests and open the coconuts. The staffs are activity place are also very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Dir. Guest Serv. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Our restaurant is happy to accommodate additional vegetarian options to compliment the dishes on our permanent menu on advance request. Complimentary 5-gallon filtered drinking water is available in all units and refilled as often as needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Aug 6, 2017
This resort is small and nice. Great food and friendly staff. It is truely a 40 min cart ride to and from town. Despite that I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

X'Tan Ha - First Timer

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Great staff who were very engaging and accommodating. The resort is still rebuilding from hurricane damage last year so the bar is open but not up to par just yet. Some amenities could be added, but overall it's a great place to truly get away and relax secluded. I would definitely return based on my experience. Just be prepared to be 10 minutes or more by boat away from ANYTHING.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Beautiful hotel by the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Took our honeymoon here. I can't rave enough about this place. It was a perfect combination of romantic, quiet and still the availability to have fun! Staff is amazing and very attentive! Beach is awesome and so close. The food is to die for. You won't regret coming here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great beach front resort!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff at this resort. We were picked up promptly from the ferry dock by resort staff, and put on a (free) 20 minute boat ride right to the resort dock. There, we were greeted by Julie and taken to meet the restaurant staff, given delicious (complementary) cocktails, and walked around the grounds and into check-in. Everything was a smooth transaction. We stayed in 4A, which is a 1 bdrm pool/partial ocean view. Great size, inc small kitchenette w/ stove and all the plates/utensils one would need to cook up a snack. The big king bed was VERY comfortable. Pretty sure it was memory foam. Honestly the only negative thing I can say about the room is it does seem dated. Paint chips on furniture and the bathroom smells of paint thinner, which we later realized is the smell of whatever they use to clean the tub. The tap water on Ambergris is so harsh that the tub rusts from the dripping faucet. Not their fault, the room and bathroom are absolutely spotless so this didn't bother us. The grounds are beautifully kept with one kids pool and one adult pool. The beach is excellent, especially in comparison to other resorts. This is the only resort I've seen that cleans up the sea grass, giving you some room to get into the water and enjoy the beautiful Caribbean water. And the water trampoline is a lot of fun to bounce around on or simply lay out on for hours. They also offer complementary kayaks & SUPs. You won't regret staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Dir. Guest Serv. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry to learn that your recent visit to Belize fell short of the mark. Destinations that some traveler's love just aren't the right match for others. We are happy to know that our attentive staff were a highlight for you, along with our pristine barrier reef. Thanks again for your comments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

A good trip but wouldn't repeat

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Cleanliness&Friendliness: staff was very kind and attentive. Everything was well kept from the beach to rooms. Absolutely no complaints. Room: Was well furnished and kept cool. However, if you are looking for a fully stocked kitchen you will find only 3 pans, silverware and dinnerware, a spatula, and a can opener. In addition there is an oven and microwave. There are no knives of any kind. And the pans need oil if you intend to cook. The bed was nicely made but it was a two foot deep memory foam bed. We generally prefer a harder bed and after a while we couldn't stand the squishiness as it felt like a sink hole. Also the beds move easily... if you're doing anything active. Something else of note was that the smell in the room was putrid at times. It was occasional and smelled like sewage. We are told that's the nature of the island, however. As is the low water pressure in the shower. We even lost complete pressure one time for 10 minutes. Wifi: Fairly good! However as our room was on the furthest corner, we only received wifi by the door. The closer to the front/beach, the stronger it was. Activities: Paddle boarding and kayaking here was by far my favorite activities. We were able to kayak out to the reef and snorkel there. Very beautiful turquoise water with lots to see. We even once took the complimentary bikes into San Pedro (15 mile round trip). The ride was tolerable but definitely full of mosquitoes as the road is a lot of swamp water and garbage along the side
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Dir. Guest Serv. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry to learn that your recent stay in Belize fell short of the mark. Destinations that some traveler's love, just aren't the right fit for others. You were able to take advantage of some of the highlights that a Belize vacation offers, including our pristine Barrier Reef. We are happy to know that our attentive staff were a highlight for you. Thanks again for your comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

A comfortable hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: A bigger beach bar with some music added.
Location: The hotel can arrange snorkeling/diving and other excursions.
I enjoyed a relaxing week. Lovely property right on the beach. The place is kept spotless by a hard working staff. It is a bit far from other places, but their restaurant is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Gorgeous beachfront resort

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Wonderful staff at X'tan Ha who take care of everything for you. The beach is beautiful and kept clean daily by the staff who rake the seaweed. Highly recommended if you want a peaceful getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Absolutely loved this place!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The photos truly do it no justice! This resort totally made our Belize trip from California amazing! And it's worth every penny! They've thought of Everything from the complimentary pickup via water taxi to free kayaks, paddle boards, and bikes, also offer jugs of free filtered water in each room. (This is essential because the tap water is not suitable for drinking). My husband also liked that they provided hammocks on each balcony, and free games, books & dvd's for checkout. The restaurant is also pretty good onsite but a little on the pricey side and you need a water taxi or golf cart to go to any other places to eat near by. The front desk staff was also very hospitable and helpful with helping us plan excursions and activities on other islands. The rooms were exactly as pictured and it was nice to have so much room. & With the exception of a little rain (since we visited during rainy season) the entire resort is super quiet and very well maintained by staff!