Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good place to stay.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Good location- easy walk into town. We enjoyed sitting outside and reading in the evening. Good parking situation.
Location: Short walk to Amboise city center. Chateaus are within easy driving distance.
We stayed two nights and enjoyed it. The staff was great and very helpful. Early in the morning there was a lot of traffic noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accommodating , pleasant hotel w/ a good kitchen.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The French quality to it.
Cons: It was fine.
Location: Besides the main castle, the garden at Clos Luce was wonderful.
Enjoyed the beauty of the Loire river, quaint town and surrounding landscape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Charming Hotel Near Train Station

Posted Sep 19, 2017
La Breche is a charming rustic hotel with lovely helpful staff and wonderful on site restaurant--reservations recommended. Located steps always from Amboise train station and a short walk away from the Amboise Chateau and city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cantrall, ill

Charming, intimate, traditional French hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This hotel has only 14 rooms so you get personal, friendly service. They have a lovely restaurant with amazing, traditional French food. It is minutes from the train station and a pleasant walk to all the tourist sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Great location for everything.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great location for everything. We walked from train station and everywhere else so convienient. Staff were friendly right from the start and rooms were very fresh.
5 out of 5
by Janet

Lovely hotel and charming restaurant.

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
My daughter and I stayed here for one night stopping over from driving from the south back to the UK. The quiet location yet easily walkable to the centre, secure parking and well reviewed restaurant were the factors in choosing this hotel. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very well maintained for its age with 'modern French' decor, it was clean and we were warmly welcomed on arrival. We had a twin room on the second floor (there is no lift). The room and bathroom were comfortable and clean. We ate dinner at the hotel in the courtyard restaurant which is very pretty. Our food was delicious and professionally presented. I would be happy to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent small hotel - food superb

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Excellent choice and standard of food presentation was as good as a four star hotel.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Amboise is lovely and the Chateau is worth a visit
This small hotel is absolutely worth a visit. Comfortable well appointed room but where it really scores is in the standard of customer service - warm friendly staff and in the quality and presentation of its food. It was a very warm night when we visited and we ate outside in the lovely garden - a real feature of this hotel. Ample parking (free) and easy to find. We have now stayed three times and will definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
by David

Pleasant hotel, centrally located

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
This was a pleasant hotel. We had an attic/loft room - largest room we had on our trip. Nice garden available for sitting or dining/drinks. Hotel staff was extremely accommodating and courteous. Hotel location was just a quick walk (I mean only about 100 yards) from the railroad station, yet only a brisk walk across the bridge (about 1/2 mile or so) to get to downtown Amboise. We rented a car online in Amboise and used our stay here as home base for our exploration of several of the regional chateaux. Beautiful area. We walked down to the river and enjoyed a picnic while watching the locals play some pétanque, the local boules game similar to the Italian bocce game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel worth more points than it has.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The garden and the staff
Location: Walk to the chateau (2 of them) Grocery store within 2 blocks for snacks
The staff at this hotel worked hard to make my stay comfortable. They do not advertise their wonderful garden or great free parking. Drinks or dinner in the garden: Just delightful. The food was the BEST in all 3 weeks! Elizabeth and Sophie in particular were helpful and I enjoyed my stay here more than at a few 5 star places on this 3 week trip. Highly recommend it to all. It looks a bit far to the chateau, but eminently wallkable.
5 out of 5
by John

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay.