Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near the beach but showing wear

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: close to the beach
Cons: hotel condition
Location: Surf, snorkeling, diving, nice views
This hotel was close to the bottom of our list (we stayed at 8 locations throughout our trip, ranging from $31 to 262 a night). Reasons was that there walls were cracked and dirty, hot water was spotty, they had screens over some areas that couldn't be closed, so outside noise and hot air came in easily. The towel they provided was washed but stained, and there isn't much light in the room which further extends the somewhat drab look of the place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wonderful view overlooking sea

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: View, cleanliness and room space.
Cons: Easier access for those of us not so young and fit. An escalator of some sort would be good.
Location: Snorkelling and ship wreck diving.
This is a lovely hotel, however, you have to be a mountain goat to stay there. We were in room 1 which together with room 2 are the closest to the beach and I could not fault it as far as space and comfort, however the approx. 60 steep steps to reach it were almost beyond us. Fortunately there is an excellent restaurant there reasonably priced so we did not have to seek an alternative eating place. This hotel is a place for younger legs than ours but a lovely place to stay is you are young and fit.
3 out of 5
by Nathalie from Canada

Very spacious

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Room was very big. Pool is nice. Breakfast was good. A lot of stairs to go to the pool or breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hidden gem in Bunutan

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Beautiful! Felt like my own private resort and the view from my room was a phenomenal picture of the sea
Cons: Being hassled by locals by the pool about getting massages or buying trinkets after saying no
This exquisite little villa is tucked away in Bunutan. I must not have paid close attention to the address, because once the taxi driver passed the main town of Amed we kept going up the hill another 20 minutes. There is a huge open area to greet guests, a swimming pool, and a lovely spacious room with the basics- bed, dresser, air conditioner, bathroom with essential ammenities. With that said, there isn't much to do in Bunutan...you can walk 10 minutes in either direction of the hotel and find a few spas, restaurants, and convenience stores selling drinks, sunblock, and snacks at ridiculous prices. I ended up hiring my front desk receptionist to take me into town. Keep in mind that motorbike drivers will also charge a lot more than other parts of Bali because they can get away with it (ex: I paid 50,000 Rupiah for someone to take me to and from Amed) or you can rent your own motorbike for cheaper. Because Bunutan is also such a small town with nothing to do, employees can come off as a bit lazy. When you come to the front desk, they were always laying down on the couch on their phones or sitting around not doing much of anything...but again, that is the lifestyle of this place and there's nothing to do. Bunutan also has no beach to speak of so you will have to lay by the pool or go to Amed if you want a bit of a suntan. If you are looking for a quiet, scenic retreat with gorgeous scenery, this is the place for you!
3 out of 5
by Henrik from sweden

quiet Lovina stopover

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Calm and quiet location on the beach. Not much to se or do in Lovina, the dolphin trip was not so exciting and we had an arguement with the hotel captain.
4 out of 5
by Robb H from Las Vegas

Nice pool

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here for three nights and had a reasonably good experience. PROS - The room was big, and the bed was comfy enough. - The A/C was great. Had to keep turning it down because it would get too cold. lol - We stayed in the cheap rooms at the top of the hill, and even from there we had a lovely view of the ocean, with a porch and sitting area. - The included breakfast was ample. - The wifi, though of course not perfect because this is Bali, was stronger than some of the other places we have stayed. - The pool is just feet away from the ocean and is quite lovely. CONS - The rooms are rather dark at night, just not enough light fixtures I guess for the size of the room. Not a big deal but noticeable. - The shower was pretty pathetic. It looked great, but the pressure is poor and was very difficult to regulate temperature between scalding and cold. - Not a big deal for anyone reasonably fit, but the stairs from reception down past the rooms to the beach are very big and steep. If you have physical restrictions this probably isn't the place for you. (Though we did see an elderly couple that the staff was helpfully assisting up the stairs to their room.) Anyway, like I said, it was a reasonably good experience. Nothing too fancy, but nice enough for our purposes.
4 out of 5
by James from Toronto, ON

Quiet space in Amed

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
Double One Villas is located in a very quiet section. The rooms are all spacious and cleaned daily by their friendly support staff. There's a pool/lounge area that is great for watching the sunrise/sunset. As well, they provide snorkelling equipment for a low price and there's some great sights right in front of this location. The beach is fairly rocky, so bring your swim shoes or utilize the fins provided. There are many restaurants nearby offering local and western/european cuisine. Plus, if you like to dive, there's numerous dive shops within walking distance too. We did find that the staff could be aggressive in finding out your plans for each day and offered daily many options for stuff to do. If you politely explain that you haven't decided yet, they will leave you be. Finally, we had a few unwanted critters our first night, but the management promptly put us in a new room the next morning without hesitation. If you're looking for a quiet escape in Bali, then I'd definitely recommend this location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amed, Bali

Nice Accomodations, Great views

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay in Amed
3 out of 5
by Ljones from US

Relaxing stay-good snorkeling

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
The villas were very cute and comfortable. I stayed in the garden villa and there was a lovely view of the ocean. The pool was great and there were plenty of lounge chairs. There is an easy entry into the ocean for snorkeling. Nearby to the hotel is a sandy beach which you can easily snorkel or walk to. The staff were nice and accommodating. The only downside is while you are trying to relax down by the pool you may be asked several times by people who work in the area if you want to take any snorkeling trips or if you need a taxi driver. If you are staying more than one night this can become irritating. Also, for single women who would like to lay out in their bathing suit having men (specifically taxi drivers) who are not associated with the hotel hanging out very close/sitting right next to you is very frustrating since you can't feel relaxed and feel the need to put on clothes.
3 out of 5
by Richard L from Toronto

Large on, nice property

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
We spent a 2 nights at the Double One Villa and had a good experience. The rooms are large and clean. The only downside is the room is pretty dark (especially in the bathroom) as the lighting didn't seem adequate, the bathroom smelled a little musty, and it looked a little outdated. The hotel's property is quite charming and well maintained. The hotel is on a cliff, with steps that take you down to the bottom of the cliff where the pool and the beach is -- these same steps lead back up to the rooms, which are scattered around the property on different levels. The pool is nice and refreshing; the beach is rocky but nice -- if you like snorkeling, you'll love the beach because the coral and the variety of fish found there is amazing...and you just have to walk in a few feet to see it. Breakfast good. Service good. Good hotel if you want to just lounge around in the sun as there's not much to do in the immediate area (unless you rent a motorbike and head into Amed Town).