Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

NIce hotel on the beach with great snorkeling

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Nice room and restaurant
Location: Great views, snorkeling, diving, hiking.
I enjoyed my stay and the staff was very friendly and responsive. The beach is great and there is great snorkeling there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Sadie's Hotels Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Nice simple hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Lots of space, parking
Cons: Better wifi throughout the hotel was limited to near the bar area when I was there
Location: Lots!
The island is tiny really and so there is not much choice where to stay. The flight in had been delayed by almost 24 hours so the hotel was in a state as when we did arrive guests that expected to leave were still asleep in rooms so was a bit of a mess. But they sorted out a room in quick time. It has a nice enough bar, pool and beach but the island really needs to be explored. The room was clean and I had no issues with anything in the place. It is a bit tired in places and brand new in others. The rooms had a sort of kitchenette in them which meant as I was still on UK time it meant I could prep food when I wanted it and the staff worked with my odd for them sleep pattern. I hired a car as I needed to get to the North East of the island and the place had heaps of parking. The beach, pool and restaurant/bar were invaded when the cruise ships docked.
4 out of 5
by William Oscar from North Carolina

Sadies is a comfortable home away from home

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff and god pool and restaurant, beach access. Rooms are a bit dated and the carpet needs to be replaced with tile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Tired Old Building on the Beach

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The staff of Sadie's by the Sea and the people of American Samoa are wonderful folks.
Cons: Air conditioner did not always work, toilet did not flush. The Dining area was thick with mosquitos. The food at the restaurant was second-rate.
Location: The Jean P. Haydon Museum is a short 5 minute walk from the Hotel.
Pago Pago is in the middle of nowhere, and nearly everything has to be shipped in. The wind, rain, and salt are brutal on buildings. The island is only 17 miles long with a population of 50,000 sitting on mostly untouched rain forest. While I was there in March, the temperature was 90 degrees Fahrenheit, with 100% humidity, and it rained five times a day. On this island one must pay sky high prices for inferior lodging and food, no matter where you go, but at least Sadie's has transit to and from the airport. In view of the conditions on the island, the management and staff of the hotel do a heroic job of trying to overcome the impediments imposed upon them by the elements.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Location on the beach
Cons: Ants issue
Ants in bathroom were on ongoing issue. Construction work right outside was a daily noise factor
3 out of 5
by Thomas R

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Great Location, nice beach, swimming n snorkeling

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Location, restaurant and beach within steps of the room.
Location: Nearby is the main town of Pago Pago, where you can visit the Post Office, shops, restaurants, market, McDonalds, museum and small shops.
I used to live in Am. Samoa years ago. It's been 13 years since I've been back and the 1st time staying at Sadie's by the Sea. I was very pleased. The room had a queen bed and a twin bed, nice size, bath room was large with ample counter space and large mirror. The room included a small fridge, microwave, coffee pot which was very handy. The location is great, situated in the middle of the island, restaurant staff, menu and food was great, beautiful view from the large balcony of the beach and harbor, the beach right outside the hotel was clean, the bay water was great for swimming and viewing the sea turtles. If you snorkel out much further, the bottom drops off in the harbor and the snorkeling was awesome. The outdoor pool area is also nice but I spent all my time in the ocean water. Gift shop has everything if your desperate but items are much cheaper at the local stores. Plus free wifi. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Herbert

ruhige Lage - in Pago Pago

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
Die Anlage ist bereits etwas in die Jahre gekommen, Der hoteleigene Strand sollte sauberer gehalten warden !
5 out of 5
by C J from Asheville

WAY DOWN SOUTH

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
I came to Pago Pago for a weekend getaway while on business in Honolulu. It was my first trip and I was not sure what to expect. The hotel provided free shuttle to and from the airport and was waiting for me upon arrival. The hotel is located just in front of the Lt Governor's home and is an easy walk to town, less than a mile away. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was excellent. All rooms face the bay and mine was on the second floor so I had an unobstructed view over the landscaping. Although there was airconditioning, I sleep with the patio door open and enjoyed the sound of the surf and pleasant ocean breeze. The price is just a bit high for the overall age and condition of the building it was worth it considering the shuttle, restaurant and attitude of the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice View Hotel but unfriendly staff and bad facil

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: view
Cons: everything other than view
you dont have much choice in American Samoa, it is what it is and I try not to be picky but front desk staffs are rude, restaurant and gift shop staffs were very nice though. Key to the room failed to work daily, internet works maybe 2hours per day..cold shower (they did let me switch room though). wont stay here again if I ever go back to Samoa.