Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: The architecture is wonderful!!
Location: We stayed there the night before worshipping with President Jimmy Carter in Plains. Wonderful place to stay before such an event.
Stayed at The Windsor the night before worshipping with President and Mrs Carter in Plains. Wonderful food at Rosemarie and Thyme. Wonderful architecture and a fantastic stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: cozy comfortable room and the bed was the best
Cons: give it a 4 star rating
This hotel is full of history, the room I had was great, I loved everything about this hotel the room and bed were cozy and comfortable. Great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Good room staff helpful on check in and on leaving
Cons: As explained in the comments above. Consideration for everyone staying at the hotel.
Location: Easy to find. We visited Plains to see President Carter
Overall the hotel was ok. However we came to get a good nights sleep which was very difficult due to the noise from what appeared to be a party in the bar which we found out was below us (3rd floor) on the 2nd floor. This went on until 2.30/3 am not sure but we had a very long day. I told the hotel staff the next day and they were right in saying that if we had told them at the time they would have taken care of it. My issue is that there are more than just the people at the party staying and and that the staff must have been aware of the noise but were happy to let it go on as the party goers were buying drinks. Not a very pleasant experience!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Best Place to Stay in Anericus

Posted Jan 2, 2016
The hotel is beautiful, quiet and very comfortable. Not your typical cookie cutter hotel and this is what makes it such a wonderful place to stay! The location is perfect with easy parking and walking distance to all of the local shops and restaurants. The staff is friendly and professional as well as knowledgeable about local places to eat, shop, etc. We truly enjoyed our stay and will be staying here on many more occasions!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Five Star Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2015
This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in! The historical significance of the 123 year old grand hotel is like stepping into the past. It was truly a great stay, I plan to go back and take my family. The fine dinning, bake shop and staff were amazing. It was a grand stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: The dining room and our very accommodating waiter, Floyd.
Cons: I doubt that anything can be done about the noisy traffic on either side of the hotel, unless Americus decides to build a by-pass around the town.
Location: The near-by residential neighborhoods are excellent for walking.
The Windsor Hotel probably has suffered from being owned by a motel chain. It's a shame that it's sandwiched between two very busy and noisy highways. The dining room was pleasant, and the food was very good. I was initially assigned to a dark, dreary room with a view of a brick wall. I asked for a better room and was given one immediately with no questions asked. I wonder why I was given the inferior room to begin with, if there was a better room available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PERFECT

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: There is not one thing you will not like...it is a perfect place to unwind.
Cons: not a thing!
A wonderful experience. It gives you a sense of just how elegant, unhurried and genteel life must have been.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by William from Philadelphia

Terrific landmark in a nice small town

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stunning and unusual Victorian hotel with a grand lobby. The rooms are quirky (at least mine was) but what a pleasure to stay in a landmark. Nice restaurant and bar there as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Trinka from Grand Rapids, MI

Fascinating Restored Building!

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Came to visit Andersonville civil war prison camp site. But this hotel was an amazing highlight. I didn't find out until too late that guests could request a tour. Be sure to do so! You will WANT to see more of this amazing building.