Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by John

Great inn in a nice country location

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Landlord provided a meal out of hours which was brilliant. Beer excellent!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Initially had trouble finding the place in the pitch dark. but once found the place was full of life the staff were very friendly, food was good. All together a good couple of nights spent there. There were somethings that really needed attention in the room. The standard lamp had a dead bulb. The bedside lamp shades needed a vacuum! The toilet needed a good scrub under the rim (I could see it from lying in bed) not good! No room in the shower room to put anything. No pole to open the louvre window above the shower. Tiny teacups!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely pub with great accommodation

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Sadly we were in the area to attend a funeral in the nearby Chilterns rematorium. Thanks to our satnav playing up, getting to the Potters Arms was very stressful but as soon as we walked in we were made very welcome. The place has a lovely ambiance and because we were there in the run up to Christmas is looked even more cosy and welcoming and the decorations were done extremely tastefully. The sandwiches we ordered before setting off to the service were delicious and we felt very much as if we were home from home. Arriving back after the service we went to our room which was charming. A lovely view out over the common. In the summer this must be fabulous. We had booked a table for dinner and fell into a great conversation with a fellow guest when we had a pre dinner glass of wine in front of the blazing fire. The dining room was a lovely space and the meal was very good. Very comfortable bed dressed with pretty white linen. It must be said that the ensuite was tiny but it did work very well. Down to breakfast, meeting up with the friend we had made the evening before. I asked for scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - the lovely lady serving was unsure. I needn't have worried, it arrived about seven minutes later and was absolutely scrummy. The whole experience was great. I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely traditional English Pub with rooms. We travelled from out of town to attend a birthday party nearby. The pub had a lovely ambience, the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, our basic needs were met. Breakfast was excellent. Richard the owner/manager exceptionally friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by John from Kendal

A Good Weekend

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Attended a family wedding in Amersham.Stayed two nights at Potters Arms.Great location.Friendly people.Very good food.
4 out of 5
by Amanda from London

Convenient location with a great breakfast

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great location for PENNFEST which was just across a field. Great host, very welcoming and a fab breakfast!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in quiet village well located

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was very friendly and even the regulars will chat with you. Food was good and great value. Would stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location & people...shame about the rooms

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely location and great staff let down by a very VERY tired room. Needs some money spent on it to justify the £95 per night cost (current décor would put it around the £50 mark)
4 out of 5
by Allun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jill from Worcestershire

Business stay

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Welcoming staff. Good pub food