Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Friendly staff, affordable , quaint lodge-like

Posted Apr 24, 2018
Pros: The location was easy to get to and the staff was very friendly and responsive. The breakfast offered a good variety of options and it felt homey.
Cons: The toilets from other people's rooms could be heard with lengthy flushing times. The bedding was very wrinkled when we arrived. Need an elevator!
Location: This was close enough to the campus yet far enough not to feel like we were staying amongst college students. Convenient to shopping and dining.
This small hotel has everything you need except an elevator if you are staying on the 2nd floor. The staff is very friendly, responsive and accommodating. The included breakfast offers lots of options and changes daily so you won't get sick of the same meal if you are staying multiple nights. The beds were very comfortable, although the comforter/blankets were not pressed. No pretenses or frills here, just down to earth and a setting more like a lodge than another typical sterile chain hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ames iowa

Great Location

Posted Apr 24, 2018
Excellent Service - everyone was very courteous and processional!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice place, accommodating

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Great place to stay when visiting Ames and ISU. Will stay here again 👍🙂
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I am a repeat customer

Posted Apr 21, 2018
I come to Ames a couple times a year and stay here. Very clean and comfortable - extremely good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Clean and comfortable

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Check in was quick with very friendly personnel. Room was clean, beds comfortable and quiet facility...even though lots of people in hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pleasant stay, just a very hard mattress. Everything else was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Apr 16, 2018
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean, updated and friendly. The only negative is that there isn’t an elevator so you have to lug your suitcases up the stairs if you are located on the second floor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ames

View

Posted Apr 16, 2018
It was a very loud hotel. In addition, when I opened our curtains, it looked out over a trash strewn field. A fence or a row of bushes would be great. The vent in our bathroom was filthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good value and proximity to campus and Ames area

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Pros: Good value
Cons: Maintenance - several of the electrical outlets were non-functioning
Location: Less than 5 minutes from campus
Comfortable room, very accommodating and pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Location: Easy to locate.
Front desk check in warm, friendly and professional. Pin neat, clean room that smelled "fresh." My husband asked for a "blanket," and the staff brought one immediately to the room. (He has a health issue.) Breakfast offered a great selection of healthy options, and if one wanted to indulge, waffles, muffins, other pastries. Finally, the room was extremely quiet...we could hear no neighbors above or next door nor from the hallway. Thank you for a great retreat for the night in Ames!